Quantcast

Really? Really! Review – Really? Really! is Really Worth Your Time. Really.

really really 08-11-14-7

Really? Really! has earned a place in my top 10 visual novels, no doubt. I’ll tell you right from the start, I am giving this game a 10 – there’s no reason for you to skip to the end of the article to see the score here.

Despite this, I am giving this score with a sort of disclaimer; you really really need to have played Shuffle! first. Not only that, but as this game follows the conclusion of Kaede’s route, I would also strongly recommend that you play through her route before coming here.

With that out of the way, let’s talk game. Really? Really! from here on, will just be RR for sake of ease. The game picks up after the conclusion of Kaede’s route in the original game, and expands vastly upon Rin and Kaede’s relationship prior to the original novel. I don’t want to spoil too much, but suffice to say, their past together is rather traumatic, and Kaede is not nearly as together as she always seemed. In fact, she’s rather insecure.

Be that as it may, the game opens with Rin, Kaede and Primula all living together, and there is a small issue with Primula. She is supposed to be taken back to the world of the demons to continue testing, as she developed some magical control while living with Rin and Kaede.

However, the two kings are rather sure that this control comes from her new emotions, which were directly linked to Rin and Kaede. And with the two kings in support of Rin especially, they would prefer Primula to stay with him and Kaede. Therefore, they devise a test to prove that her control exists only because of the now happy couple.

really really 08-11-14-1

However, during the test, Primula takes in too much power and loses control. Unfortunately, despite the kings protecting everyone, when the dust settles it turns out that Kaede won’t wake up. It turns out that the blast of magic altered her memories, and really messed with her head. But even further, because she doesn’t want Rin to see her with her memories screwed up, she refuses to wake up. This prompts the whole crew (Primula, Sia, Nerine, Itsuki, Mayumi, and Asa) to be sent into Kaede’s head to try and fix her memories.

Now, the game plays in a very different way from most visual novels. First off, there is only one path through the game, with very few actual changes possible in the route, but none change the story at all. Secondly, the story isn’t linear. After the introduction, the player is given two or three memories that they can go through at the same time and they must complete and fix the two in tandem.

You see, fixing memories is actually rather interesting. There are points during a messed up memory in which Rin must ‘attack’ incorrect lines of dialogue with keywords to fix the memories. For example, the introduction involves Itsuki as a girl. During the section where you perform the ‘Really Attack’, one of the lines that Kaede says mentions that Itsuki is a girl – so you attack the line with the keyword ‘Midoriba Itsuki’ to reaffirm that he is male.

It’s a simple process that actually gets rather difficult down the line as you collect a number of keywords. In addition, if you mess up five times in a day, you are kicked out of Kaede’s memories. So, this is where the gameplay is.

really really 08-11-14-2

To collect the keywords, you need to play through memories. So, when you reach a Really Attack point, you may actually not have the required keyword. In this case, you need to leave the memory and head into another to progress and find the right keyword. This was very well implemented in some parts, especially toward the end of the game when they had the two biggest reveals going at the same time. It was really well done.

The CGs and character portraits were of great quality, matching the art style in the first game spot on. There was a good amount of movement and fun sound effects throughout the game that added a lot to the funny scenes. And the voice acting, especially for Kaede, Asa, and Mayumi was spot on.

I loved their voices, and the actresses really read their lines well. One of the biggest problems that a lot of VAs have with visual novel lines is that they read like single lines, all acted separately. RR didn’t have that issue – the lines flowed very well, which is great. Plus, all of the VAs from the anime reprise their roles here, so you know they will know what they are doing at this point.

The writing in RR was also superb. Again, though, with several Shuffle! related games under their belt, Navel has a strong background of well-written stories. The comedy and serious parts were well balanced – a perk of making the player play several storylines at once. By it’s very nature, they are able to inject some fun parts in the middle of seriousness for a well-deserved break at some parts. And the funny parts are indeed funny.

really really 08-11-14-3 really really 08-11-14-4

The last thing I’d like to touch on before talking story (with spoilers) are the hentai scenes. They are well spread throughout the story. And despite the first assumption that I made (Well, this is Kaede’s route, so the H-scenes must all be with Kaede), I was sorely mistaken. In fact, more scenes were dedicated to Asa. With a total of 16 H-scenes, there’s a fair amount of them scattered about the 12 hour or so game.

Now, from here on, there will be some potentially major spoilers, so continue at your own risk.

This games story was incredibly well crafted. In the last could hours of the game, I was absolutely hooked, if only to finally see the scenes that cause Rin and Kaede so much trauma – and I was disappointed. In fact, the scenes from when they were kids, in my opinion, were so much more interesting than the high school scenes.

This is especially considering the last two major memories – Lie and Truth. Seeing the lie that you hear about throughout the game finally come into view was a very well written scene. Especially when you consider that everything about the scenes when they were kids actually felt realistic. It wasn’t high schoolers acting in child bodies – their lines and actions felt childish too.

Furthermore, the interplay between Rin, Kaede and Sakura was very well done. Their mess of a relationship really showed in every scene involving them. Considering how minor a character Sakura really was up until now, she was brilliantly inserted into the story here, and she was explored enough that I felt attached, despite her considerable lack of screentime in comparison to the other characters.

really really 08-11-14-5

Also, with Kaede’s memories created from her insecurities about Rin leaving her for the other girls, getting small tastes of route that would be with Asa and Mayumi were great. There was a good amount of fun romance scenes spread throughout, which led to the various H-scenes. A lot of the part of the game were simple and fun, like Rin and Mayumi enjoying a date out at a family restaurant, or Rin getting dragged into sleeping at Asa’s house, which ended with a scene in the bath with Asa and her mother Ama.

And the interplay of having the people involved being required to act out their false-memory selves, it ended with some silly scenes after the memories ended with the girls approaching Rin about the H-scenes, and how they weren’t really real.

And then there was the ending. After all was said and done, the game ends superbly, and that is one thing I don’t want to spoil. After seeing this story, it’s hard to think of anyone else as suitable for Rin. Except that I kind of liked Asa and Mayumi better as girls when compared Kaede, although that was less about wanting them to end up with Rin, and more just liking them myself. I liked Mayumi a hell of a lot more during her sections than I ever thought I would. And Asa has always been my favorite – and she looks fantastic in the game with the long hair.

really really 08-11-14-6

Okay, end of spoilers here! Let’s finish this off with the verdict.

Really? Really! was reviewed on PC using a code provided by Manga Gamer. You can find additional information about Niche Gamer’s reviews/ethics policy here.

, ,

About

I'm a pretty chill guy. Huge video game fan, but a bigger anime fan. I also love to write - obviously.



30 comments
  1. salazar547
    salazar547
    August 12, 2014 at 12:33 am

    really good review , i really need to play the 1st shuffle then in order to enjoy this really interesting VN

  2. nonscpo
    nonscpo
    August 12, 2014 at 12:40 am

    So If memory serves me correctly I watched the first episode of Shuffle but unfortunately havent returned to it since. How much does this game really depend on knowledge from the previous game to be playable? or could I get away with no knowledge of Shuffle while playing this game?

  3. Chris Gregoria
    Chris Gregoria
    August 12, 2014 at 2:41 am

    You basically just need to know who the characters are for the most part. Of course, you will get a lot more out of the game knowing the entirety of Kaede’s route in the original game. I would recommend at least getting a feel for the characters first.

    But, you can definitely get through it without having played or much exposure to the original – you may need a walkthrough though, just to help you pick out the right Really! attacks.

  4. Brandon Orselli
    Brandon Orselli
    August 12, 2014 at 9:49 pm

    So I just got word from Manga Gamer, we’re able to give away three free copies of the game.

    All you have to do is comment on the review here with some feedback. We’ll pick the winners in a week, on August 19th.

    Good luck guys!

  5. bf313
    bf313
    August 12, 2014 at 10:07 pm

    Shuffle! has been on my play list for a while now, have heard a lot of good things about it.

  6. ShadeX303
    ShadeX303
    August 12, 2014 at 10:19 pm

    I never played Shuffle but saw the anime a while ago and remember enjoying it. It’s one of the first anime I saw that was based on an adaptation of a visual novel and contributed to my interest in VNs as a medium for story telling. I’ll definitely consider giving this a read if it’s coming this highly reviewed.

  7. Scizor_g45
    Scizor_g45
    August 13, 2014 at 2:07 am

    Love the review.. The gameplay looks rather interesting as well. Keep up the good work!

  8. artemisthemp
    artemisthemp
    August 13, 2014 at 5:25 am

    First time I have seen a game score 10/10 (100% or what ever rating system people use).
    I guess this games Really is worth money but, can you really trust the review :P

  9. JJ
    JJ
    August 13, 2014 at 11:00 am

    I liked Shuffle, but couldn’t stand Kaede. I liked all the other characters, though. Are the other girls in this one enough to make it worth playing? I enjoyed the review and I’m glad you guys are covering eroges.

  10. nonscpo
    nonscpo
    August 13, 2014 at 12:07 pm

    The only feedback I can offer for this review would be on the rating, just the fact that another game contributes to the full experience of this one seems like a bigger minus even if you can play the game without it.

  11. ConnorORT
    ConnorORT
    August 13, 2014 at 11:33 pm

    Yeah, this looks good enough that I’ll go back and go through Shuffle so I can play this :p

  12. Andrew Arndt
    Andrew Arndt
    August 14, 2014 at 1:11 am

    keep up with theses awsome reviews1

  13. SnowHalation
    SnowHalation
    August 14, 2014 at 1:16 am

    It sound like R!R? is the gem of the Shuffle franchise. I’ll need to pick it up soon, since I enjoyed the previous two games.

  14. Steve Baltimore
    Steve Baltimore
    August 14, 2014 at 3:32 pm

    Looks interesting may have to check this one out.

  15. Chris Gregoria
    Chris Gregoria
    August 14, 2014 at 3:47 pm

    Well, Kaede certainly gets the spotlight, and the story revolves around her primarily. However, you get plenty of scenes with the other girls, so even if you don’t like her, it’s worth playing. Plus, even if you don’t like her, the background she has together with Rin is very interesting.

  16. Chris Gregoria
    Chris Gregoria
    August 14, 2014 at 3:49 pm

    Keep in mind when we give games a 10, this is what the criteria is – “The game is not necessarily the best game ever made, but decidedly one of the best in its genre. Generally, whatever the game does it does better than most of its peers.” R?R! definitely fits that criteria, so I felt it deserved the 10. Either way, you should always take reviews with a grain of salt, so I understand your weariness, but if you’ve played Shuffle!, or are interested in it at least, R?R! is definitely a fantastic game.

  17. Chris Gregoria
    Chris Gregoria
    August 14, 2014 at 6:17 pm

    I honestly thought about that pretty hard when I was writing it. I was flip-flopping between 9 and 10 for a good two days or so. I ended up going with the 10 because, while you may be required to have a general grasp of the characters for this, the game does give you a sort of introduction for each character and enough to get by on for sure. Of course, like with anything that has a precursor game, playing the first will make the experience much more enjoyable.

    However, I think that R?R! stands on it’s own well enough and does enough right to merit the 10. If someone asked me, for example, if they could play it without the original, I would have to say yes. However, I would definitely recommend Shuffle! on it’s own merits alone, too.

  18. nonscpo
    nonscpo
    August 14, 2014 at 7:07 pm

    Wow that’s impresive, and ill definetly have to check it somewhere down the road. With you giving it a 10/10 and capsulecomputer giving it a 9/10, Im sure this title will live up to the ratings.

  19. Cqef
    Cqef
    August 15, 2014 at 8:39 am

    I played and finished Shuffle and Tick Tack a while back, enjoyed them for what they were. I should give Really Really a try some day. Might be fun to check if Doddler worked fine on the Unity port :3

  20. Sera
    Sera
    August 15, 2014 at 3:10 pm

    Kaede always has been my favorite Shuffle girl. I’ve waited a long time for this one.

  21. Hydroninja9
    Hydroninja9
    August 15, 2014 at 5:11 pm

    Interesting , also liked the “Objection” picture there. 10/10 huh , you got balls giving any game a 10/10 xD.

  22. Chris Gregoria
    Chris Gregoria
    August 15, 2014 at 5:45 pm

    …Hold up. Just realized your name and your profile pic. Nice choice. XD

  23. Firion Hope
    Firion Hope
    August 16, 2014 at 1:08 pm

    I love that image of MC with two girls clinging to him, what a pimp.

  24. Tags
    Tags
    August 16, 2014 at 11:20 pm

    Recently finished the anime a few weeks back. How much better are the visual novels on par with the anime or a lot better?

  25. Chris Gregoria
    Chris Gregoria
    August 18, 2014 at 9:04 pm

    Visual Novels tend to be better, only because they don’t route hop nearly as much. A lot of what happens in the anime ends up out of place or just wrong.

  26. Brandon Orselli
    Brandon Orselli
    August 20, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    Congrats! You won! I sent the information to get your free copy to your email.

  27. Brandon Orselli
    Brandon Orselli
    August 20, 2014 at 7:41 pm

    Congrats, you won! I sent the information on how to redeem your free copy to your email :)

  28. Brandon Orselli
    Brandon Orselli
    August 20, 2014 at 7:44 pm

    Congrats! You won dude! I sent the information on how to redeem your copy to your email.

  29. Scizor_g45
    Scizor_g45
    August 21, 2014 at 3:05 am

    Yay! Thanks!

  30. artemisthemp
    artemisthemp
    October 7, 2014 at 3:36 pm

    @schobeleth:disqus I can’t seem to find this game anywhere