Official Castlevania: Symphony of the Night Orchestral Arrange Album Coming for Halloween

This is Niche Culture. In this column, we regularly cover anime, geek culture, and things related to video games. Please leave feedback and let us know if there’s something you want us to cover!

Just in time for this year’s Halloween and the game’s 20th anniversary, composers at Materia Collective are primed to launch an orchestral arrange album dedicated to Castlevania: Symphony of the Night (Editor’s note: one of my all-time favorite games).

The officially licensed album features a host of fan-favorite tracks that have been orchestrated and arranged to respect the source music composed by Michiru Yamane, while also expanding on them and adding some freshness to the classic tracks.

“The music from Richter’s castle will be laid before you with Resurrection of the Night,” notes arranger and producer Wayne Strange. “We intend to delve deeper into the anguish that Alucard must endure with Alucard’s Elegy. Because we would be moving into more story-driven material we would like to make this experience a truly authentic one. That means hiring a professional choir, and, if our dreams are fully realized, a symphony orchestra. But enough talk, have at you!”

Composers Wayne Strange (Video Games Live, Zelda Reorchestrated) and Tim Stoney (Zelda Reorchestrated) handled the thirteen tracks for the album. Following the release of this album, a Kickstarter for a follow-up album titled Resurrection of the Night: Alucard’s Elegy is planned. The goal is to fund all-new live orchestra and choir recordings for a CD and vinyl release.

Here’s a list of the album’s tracks:

  1. The Illusionary Dance (feat. Michaela Nachtigall)
  2. Nocturne in the Moonlight
  3. Dracula’s Castle
  4. Dance of Gold (feat. Laura Intravia, Kristin Naigus)
  5. Festival of Servants (feat. Ro Panuganti)
  6. Marble Gallery
  7. Wood Carving Partitia
  8. Requiem for the Gods (feat. Chad Schwartz)
  9. Dance of Pales
  10. The Tragic Prince (feat. Ro Panuganti)
  11. Blood Relations (feat. Ro Panuganti)
  12. I am the Wind (feat. Katelyn Isaacson, Wayne Strange)
  13. Enchanted Bwakquet

You can actually listen to a few tracks from the album here, via Bandcamp:

If you’re looking to support this new album and its creators, head over to its Bandcamp page to pre-order it. Resurrection of the Night is launching this Halloween.

, ,


Owner and Publisher at Niche Gamer and Nicchiban. Outlaw fighting for a better game industry. Pronouns: Patriarch, Guido, Olive, Catholic

  1. Grampy_Bone
    October 25, 2017 at 7:34 pm

    No Vampire Killer or Bloody Tears? Pass.

  2. Psichaos
    October 25, 2017 at 9:09 pm

    Those tracks weren’t in Symphony of the Night, at least in the final release. I think Bloody Tears was on the game disc of the Saturn version, but the area it was used for was cut.

  3. Justin Williams
    Justin Williams
    November 5, 2017 at 6:24 pm

    Still rocking this soundtrack.