Quantcast

Koei Tecmo’s Attack on Titan Hands-on Preview – Like Spider-Man with Swords

AoT 6-19-2016 - 3

I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t like Attack on Titan. In fact, I’d even go as far as to say I think it’s one of the most overrated manga and anime series of all time. But that said, I can’t ignore that Hajime Isayama’s twisted epic would be a perfect fit for a video game adaptation, and there is nobody more capable of creating that game than Omega Force.

During our meeting with Koei Tecmo at E3 2016, I got to get my hands on the current build of Attack on Titan, currently in development for the Playstation 4, Playstation Vita, Xbox One, and PC.

The game was fast and fluid – but above all else, it was fun. The build came with three different game modes, though I only played two, opting to simply skip the tutorial mode so I wouldn’t waste any time.

The first mode I played was Cadet mode – a game mode that allowed me to play the cadets tasked with killing the Titans that threaten their home. Armed with the typical duel blades and the now iconic 3 dimensional movement gear, you zip around the environments at lightning speeds cutting down all who stand in your way.

This was the game mode where the gameplay really shined. From what I saw during my demo, there are at least three different types of Titan for you to go up against, each with their own size and abilities. In addition, none of the more unique Titans showed up in the demo.

AoT 6-19-2016 - 2

To kill a titan, you will need to cut it’s neck, just like in the actual series. There is a layer of strategy to the game that makes every Titan kill enjoyable, as the player can select which body part to target, and must propel themselves towards the Titan with enough speed from the gear to deal massive damage.

Admittedly, the controls take a little while to get the hang of. I probably could have avoided that adjustment period had I actually taken the time to go into the tutorial mode beforehand – but the moment you get the hang of the controls you will be swinging around the city like your Spider-man.

In fact, after my time with the demo, I talked with a Koei Tecmo PR representative, and we came to the conclusion that Attack on Titan is the best Spider-Man game since Spider-Man 2.

The second game mode in the demo was Titan mode. In this mode you play as Eren in his Titan mode and you fight other Titans. To be honest, based on what I saw, I’d prefer to call this “Eren is a Bully Mode”, because as a titan, you are practically a God and none of the other titans can even compare to you. You will be kicking and punching your way through a sea of inferior titans, as you play Godzilla and knock down all the buildings in the village.

It was extremely entertaining to punt smaller titans into buildings like a football player, but I was unable to do much else. However, it felt like Titan Mode could have a lot of depth given the chance, but I only scratched it’s surface during my time with it.

AoT 6-19-2016 - 1

I went into Attack on Titan with no expectations and very little interest in the game – but after I was done, I have to say it’s my personal game of the show.

I can’t wait to get my hands on it at the end of August, when the game launches on August 26th in Europe and on August 30th in North America for PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, Xbox One, PC, and PS Vita. Who knows. Maybe I’ll even give the manga another try. (…I won’t.)

, , ,

About

A video maker, history buff, and college student. Lover of JRPG's and musou games. He's currently enrolled in university and working on becoming an English teacher.



18 comments
  1. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    June 20, 2016 at 1:12 pm

    Omega Force produce great games, so I have high hopes for this. I was a bit worried about the movement using the 3D gear, but the Spider-Man 2 comparison is reassuring.

  2. Grayson
    Grayson
    June 20, 2016 at 1:26 pm

    First couple of sentences had me worried. Thought this would be another AOT hating hipster article.

  3. STARSBarry
    STARSBarry
    June 20, 2016 at 1:28 pm

    I thought it was the hipsters that liked AoT or has that changed while iv not been giving it any attention?

  4. Master Bating
    Master Bating
    June 20, 2016 at 1:51 pm

    Hopefully its alright

  5. 2501
    2501
    June 20, 2016 at 1:56 pm

    i still don’t understand why AoT is so popular, it should’ve been called “Flashback: the anime”.

  6. 日塔 奈美
    日塔 奈美
    June 20, 2016 at 2:00 pm

    On the contrary AoT is pretty mainstream (as far as anime/manga is concerned) amongst adults and older teens. It appeals to a wide swath of people because it’s somewhat genre bending on the borderline between shounen and seinen, full of violence and political intrigue. Following it’s publication in America, AoT has single handedly pulled the manga market out of it’s grave setting record sales and staying on the NYTimes best-selling list for over 100+ weeks, a feat rarely accomplished by any other printed media. This in turn led that same audience to become more exploratory with manga and sales have risen across the board.

    On the other hand, a small but vocal minority of people, aka “hipsters” in their typical fashion of decrying anything that’s popular (except apple products for whatever reason) have stood firmly against it. Then again we’re all on NicheGamer because we’re bucking one trend or another, so in a way, we’re all a little hipster about something lol.

  7. Guin
    Guin
    June 20, 2016 at 2:13 pm

    It’s the Japanese Game of Thrones, for better or worse.

  8. Guin
    Guin
    June 20, 2016 at 2:13 pm

    No, that’s Terraformars.

  9. TRUndercover
    TRUndercover
    June 20, 2016 at 2:36 pm

    AoT is the best “Spiderman” game since “Spiderman 2” (paraphrased)

    Now… I’m well and truly sold.

  10. Uncle Slick
    Uncle Slick
    June 20, 2016 at 3:19 pm

    You mean Naruto?

  11. Uncle Slick
    Uncle Slick
    June 20, 2016 at 3:20 pm

    Can’t wait to play this on PC.

  12. Master Bating
    Master Bating
    June 20, 2016 at 5:32 pm

    The mangaka is purposely dragging the manga along due to its popularity and has changed the ending he thought out in the beginning due to its popularity including filler.

    Its not about its popularity, its how the consequences of that affect the piece of media.

    And it has right taken its toll in the manga, its very apparent, much likr Berserk.

  13. Mystogan
    Mystogan
    June 21, 2016 at 1:40 am

    Sorry but that’s Naruto

  14. ProxyDoug
    ProxyDoug
    June 21, 2016 at 11:21 am

    More like Tenjoh Tenge.

  15. lucben999
    lucben999
    June 21, 2016 at 11:55 am

    The beginning of the series was great before it turned out that everything is titans.

  16. InfectedAI
    InfectedAI
    June 22, 2016 at 2:01 pm

    I didn’t even realize it had a PC release. Hopefully it’s a good port. Have serious doubts considering the developer though.

  17. InfectedAI
    InfectedAI
    June 22, 2016 at 2:03 pm

    Yeah, I really wish he hadn’t changed the ending and added all the filler. Kills my enthusiasm for the series quite a bit.

  18. Uncle Slick
    Uncle Slick
    June 22, 2016 at 2:46 pm

    Yeah, Koei was iffy a lot. But recently have been doing good with their PC ports.