The Elder Scrolls Online “Dark Heart of Skyrim” Year-Long Adventure Detailed, Harrowstorm and Greymoor DLC

The Elder Scrolls Online Greymoor

Bethesda Softworks have detailed the “year-long adventure” of their Dark Heart of Skyrim event, as well as the first two parts of it- the Harrowstorm, and Greymoor DLC.

The expansion will be part of the “Dark Heart of Skyrim” event revealed back in December 2019. While the event will begin with the Harrowstorm DLC Dungeon pack, it will then proceed to Greymoor, an unannounced DLC dungeon pack (in Q3, 2020), and finally an unannounced DLC story zone (in Q4, 2020) as the event will run as a “year-long adventure.”

In short, terrible monsters from Blackreachare poised to ravage all of Tamriel. Harrowstorm will see you tackle two dungeons (Icereach, and Unhallowed Grave) leading into Greymoor.

Greymoor tasks you with defeating a Vampire Lord that commands other dark creatures, and is likely the source behind the harrowstorms battering Western Skyrim.

The new antiquities system will also see players engaged in a bit of treasure hunting, finding lost relics via “a series of new minigames” across old and new areas.

The pre-order bonuses were also detailed, including “the Jarl Finery costume, Jarl Crown adornment, Sacrificial Pocket Mammoth pet, Treasure Maps, a Nightfall Preview Crown Crate, and Experience Scrolls.” Those who digitally pre-purchase will gain the Holdbreaker Warhore mount immediately.

The Harrowstorm DLC will be available March 2020. The Elder Scrolls Online: Greymoor DLC will launch on May 18th for Windows PC and Mac, and June 2nd for PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. The two unnamed pieces of DLC shall be available August 2020, and November 2020 respectively.

The Elder Scrolls Online is currently available across Windows PC, Mac (both via Steam), PlayStation 4, and Xbox One.

You can find the full run-down on Harrowstorm, Greymoor, and the plans for The Dark Heart of Skyrim (via the official website) below:


The Dark Heart of Skyrim storyline begins with the Harrowstorm dungeon DLC, kicking off as soon as this February. Featuring two new dungeons, Harrowstorm has you contend with a supernatural storm in Icereach and explore the depths of Unhallowed Grave. As you discover the dark forces that threaten Skryim, the events of this DLC will lead directly into the Greymoor Chapter.


Supernatural harrowstorms plague Western Skyrim, and dark beasts, led by a powerful Vampire Lord, devour souls to further their mysterious plans. In The Elder Scrolls Online: GreymoorESO’s newest Chapter, you must defend the besieged Nords and uncover the evil behind this monstrous resurgence.

This Chapter brings all-new adventures to ESO players, including:

  •  A new zone to explore: Western Skyrim
  • A gothic main story quest line that ties into the Dark Heart of Skyrim adventure
  • An intriguing new system: Antiquities
  • A massive new 12-player Trial: Kyne’s Aegis
  • New world events: Harrowstorms
  • New delves, public dungeons, and stand-alone quests
  • Updates and quality-of-life improvements including a rework of the Vampire Skill Line (free for all ESO players)

The Elder Scrolls Online: Greymoor is coming to PC/Mac on May 18 and Xbox One and PlayStation®4 on June 2.  You can pre-purchase Greymoor right now for PC/Mac and Xbox One. Greymoor is coming soon to the PlayStation®Store—check this help article for more information.

In addition to this, we are thrilled to announce that Greymoor will be coming to Stadia. Stay tuned for more information about how you can play ESO on Stadia in the coming months!

Explore Skyrim Above and Below

In Greymoor, you can return to the snow-swept home of the Nords and explore the region of Western Skyrim. Currently in ESO, you adventure along Skyrim’s eastern zones of Eastmarch, Bleakrock, and the Rift, but in this new Chapter, you can explore the other side of the province, including the city of Solitude and the deepest depths of Blackreach, a subterranean world beneath!

The Elder Scrolls Online Greymoor

Explore Solitude 1000 years before The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

As you venture across this new zone, you’ll encounter the hardy Nords who call it home and discover a host of interesting side quests, delves, public dungeons, world bosses, a trial, and the new harrowstorm world events. Enough to keep any intrepid adventurer busy!

A Gothic Tale

As part of the Dark Heart of Skyrim year-long adventure, Greymoor’s main story continues the ominous narrative that begins in the Harrowstorm DLC dungeon pack. In this latest Chapter, you must investigate the evil behind the supernatural storms that have swept across the region.

While Greymoor’s main story is part of the year-long tale, you don’t need to have completed the Harrowstorm DLC to follow and enjoy the adventure. How you choose to experience Tamriel and the Dark Heart of Skyrim is up to you!

Antiquities System

The new Chapter also features the all-new antiquities system. This in-game activity allows you to uncover lost artifacts scattered across Tamriel. As an up-and-coming archaeologist, you can scry the location of ancient relics and excavate them via a series of new minigames.

The Elder Scrolls Online Greymoor

Discover and unearth lost relics

The relics you can uncover include unique collectibles such as furnishings and mementos, and they are not limited to the new zone, but instead see you travel to every corner of the continent. Tamriel’s hidden history is yours to discover!


You can pre-purchase The Elder Scrolls Online: Greymoor now to receive unique rewards at launch, including the Jarl Finery costume, Jarl Crown adornment, Sacrificial Pocket Mammoth pet (actual sacrifice optional), Treasure Maps, a Nightfall Preview Crown Crate, and Experience Scrolls. In addition to this, for digital pre-purchases only, you receive immediate access to the Holdbreaker Warhorse mount!

The Elder Scrolls Online Greymoor

The stout Holdbreaker Warhorse mount

Greymoor will be available in the following editions:

  • The Elder Scrolls Online: Greymoor Standard Edition
  • The Elder Scrolls Online: Greymoor Digital Upgrade
  • The Elder Scrolls Online: Greymoor Digital Collector’s Edition
  • The Elder Scrolls Online: Greymoor Digital Collector’s Edition Upgrade
  • The Elder Scrolls Online: Greymoor Physical Collector’s Edition

The Greymoor Collector’s Edition comes with all the pre-purchase bonuses in addition to a host of unique digital goodies. For more information on each version of Greymoor and to find out which one is right for you, review our editions article. Finally, you can pre-purchase Greymoor on our Buy Now page right now!


Monsters emerge from the deeps of Western Skyrim, threatening all of Tamriel in the year-long Dark Heart of Skyrim adventure. The new Greymoor Chapter is at the center of this amazing new tale, so keep an eye out for more information regarding the new Chapter and epic storyline in the coming months. Skyrim needs heroes!

Image: The Elder Scrolls Online official website.

, ,


Taking his first steps onto Route 1 and never stopping, Ryan has had a love of RPGs since a young age. Now he's learning to appreciate a wider pallet of genres and challenges.