Streets of Rage 4 Mr. X Nightmare DLC Adds Shiva

Streets of Rage 4 Mr X. Nightmare Shiva

Dotemu have announced Shiva will be the third and final playable character in the Mr X. Nightmare DLC for Streets of Rage 4.

As previously reported, the DLC adds three new playable characters, and a new “Survival” game mode. A free update will launch alongside the new downloadable content, as well as other free content. The new DLC characters include Estel Aguirre, Max Thunder; and now Shiva.

A former bodyguard to Mr. X, Shiva turned his back on the Syndicate to seek redemption. As a master of Kenpō, he turned to opening a dojo, and (after a boss battle) helped point the player in the right direction during the Streets of Rage 4 base game.

“We cannot thank you enough for your feedback and unconditional support for this upcoming DLC,” Dotemu states. “We hope you enjoyed these latest announcements as much as we do. Keep in mind that we’ll have more surprises in store for you in the near future. Until then, stay tuned!”

The new reveal trailer not only shows off Shiva’s blink-and-you’ll-miss-it moves, but also some of the stages that will be in the DLC. You can find the Shiva reveal trailer below.

The Mr X. Nightmare DLC launches 2021.

You can find the full rundown on the base game (via Steam) below:

The all-time classic Streets of Rage, known as Bare Knuckle (ベア・ナックル Bea Nakkuru) in Japan, is a trilogy of beat ‘em up known for this timeless gameplay and electronic dance influenced music. Streets of Rage 4 builds upon the classic trilogy’s gameplay with new mechanics, beautiful hand drawn visuals and a God tier soundtrack.


An iconic series like Streets of Rage got its iconic characters: Axel, Blaze, Adam and other veterans reunited to clean up the streets. With some brand-new moves and kickass tracks to take a listen, our heroes are ready to dish out beatdowns to a fledgling group of ill-advised criminals in full force.


Streets of Rage 4 will be the first entry to the core series in 25 years, standing as Axel, Adam and Blaze’s glorious return to serving up side-scrolling beatdowns. With lush hand-drawn animations, new combat abilities, and fresh tracks from an amazing team of composers, Streets of Rage 4 will be a masterful tribute to and revitalization of the classic action fans adore

The series is known for its electronic dance influenced music around the world. The soundtrack of Streets of Rage 4 is handled by an all-star line-up of musicians like Yuzō Koshiro, Motohiro Kawashima, Yoko Shimomura, Harumi Fujita, Keiji Yamagishi and many more whom will create new amazing tracks for this new episode of the Streets of Rage series.


  • The comeback of the legendary Streets of Rage series.
  • Beautiful graphics fully hand-drawn animated by the studio behind Wonder Boy: The Dragon’s Trap.
  • Clean up Wood Oak City by yourself or with another friend online!
  • For the very first time, team up to 4 people offline to take the city back!
  • Classic gameplay enhanced with brand-new mechanics.
  • Soundtrack by a wide all-star line up of world-class musicians.
  • Braised chicken everywhere.
  • A dozen former Streets of Rage characters unlockable and playable in their original pixel versions.
  • Play with the music of the previous Streets of Rage games.
  • 12 unique stages.

Streets of Rage 4 has been available for Windows PC (via Steam), Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One. You can find our review here (we recommend it!)

, ,


Ryan was a former Niche Gamer contributor.