Quantcast

Star Ocean 5 Hands-On Preview – RPG Parties Have Never Felt So Full

star ocean 5 03-21-16-10

Square Enix’s section of the E3 2016 floor was lit up with a huge variety of games for everyone to try. I took the chance to play Star Ocean 5: Integrity and Faithlessness while I was there, and as a Star Ocean fan, I was really happy with the section of the game I played.

The set up had a few different stations that were all at various points in the game. For example, one was placed at what I can only guess was the beginning of the game as Fidel was the only party member.

The station I took over was presumably quite a bit later in the game, as I was given all 7 party members to play with. The map I was running through was some form of cave area.

star ocean 5 03-21-16-8

The demo appeared to not be timed, and I picked up where the player before me left off, so it’s hard to say what exactly was going on. However, I played through the entirety of the area, and it culminated in a difficult fight – whether it was an actual boss I’m not sure, though.

The game as a whole felt more like Star Ocean 3: Til The End Of Time to me as opposed to The Last Hope. For me personally, that was a big plus. The battle gameplay felt great – the characters were all fun to play around with, and it was fun to see a bunch of classic skills come back.

Taking enemies out with Flying Guillotine or Hammer of Might felt great. Characters were pretty well varied, with everything from standard swordplay available from Fidel to quicker swordplay or even a crossbow with Viktor and Emmerson respectively.

I did have the option to set battle skills through the menu, though there weren’t a particularly large number to choose from. To that end, most of what was available were all older skills, which was worrying.

It’s ultimately hard to judge what should be a long RPG on a few minutes worth of gameplay. However, the battle system was certainly Star Ocean, and it was certainly fun.

star ocean 5 03-21-16-5

The best part of the whole experience was the party members though. Even when you’ve got the full party, every single party member takes part in battles as well as walks around the map with you.

While we all knew this already, experiencing it is something else. It’s a very small thing, but it made the largest impact on me during the demo, I think. Having the full party visible at all times, compounded by the live battles without any sort of transition was really awesome.

So, while it’s really hard to judge a game like Star Ocean on a small demo, I’m at least still excited for the release. Furthermore, the battle system, if nothing else, still feels like Star Ocean and it was a great experience to play it again.

It really just tempted me to go play Til The End Of Time again more so than wanting Integrity and Faithlessness. But we’ll see.

star ocean 5 03-21-16-9

Star Ocean 5: Integrity and Faithlessness release in North America on June 28th and Europe on July 1st on PS4.

, , ,

About

I'm a pretty chill guy. Huge video game fan, but a bigger anime fan. I also love to write - obviously.



51 comments
  1. Jack
    Jack
    June 21, 2016 at 10:19 am

    that little girl has some series Anime Eye syndrome

  2. djluke_1993
    djluke_1993
    June 21, 2016 at 10:21 am

    Wow this is the first positive thing I’ve seen about Star Ocean 5. I’ve been hearing from a few mates that the game has some serious problems with one of the problems being that there are alot of level locked zones I think it’s called. If that I’d true when I pick it up on release that would definitely be a negative for me.

  3. STARSBarry
    STARSBarry
    June 21, 2016 at 10:32 am

    honestly the full party thing is the biggest + iv seen for me as games got bigger it always snagged me about party sizes staying mostly the same, I guess with turn based combat it means that turns take forever and with action RFG’s it would mean damage would have to be lowered across the board meaning that your attacks would do little damage overall to make up a challenge when fighting an enemy, or just let you steam roll which begs whats the point of doing it that way?

    So now im wondering which side of the coin Star Ocean 5 falls into, it is Challenging or very easy with so many members?

  4. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    June 21, 2016 at 10:41 am

    If it wasn’t for the lame censorship it would’ve been a day 1 game for me. For now I’m adopting the wait and see approach.

  5. Kain Yusanagi
    Kain Yusanagi
    June 21, 2016 at 10:44 am

    Better to level lock a zone than to story-lock it, IMO.

  6. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    June 21, 2016 at 10:49 am

    Why not just not have it locked at all?

  7. RinSatori
    RinSatori
    June 21, 2016 at 10:55 am

    Its called Moe :p

  8. landlock
    landlock
    June 21, 2016 at 11:09 am

    Tri-Ace hasn’t done a good game in years so my expectations are pretty low going into this game.

  9. Audie Bakerson
    Audie Bakerson
    June 21, 2016 at 11:21 am

    Never forgive! Never forget!

  10. Chocolate ISISCream
    Chocolate ISISCream
    June 21, 2016 at 11:27 am

    MIKI…. Where’s her panties!

    Her panties…. Her panties are my angel….

  11. Shiroken
    Shiroken
    June 21, 2016 at 11:33 am

    I read “RPG Panties Have Never Felt So Full”
    Not my fault…

  12. Longtooth
    Longtooth
    June 21, 2016 at 11:34 am

    That would make the game to a lot like Skyrim and I don’t want that.

  13. Smug
    Smug
    June 21, 2016 at 11:35 am

    diaperfags pls

  14. EinMugenTenshin
    EinMugenTenshin
    June 21, 2016 at 12:12 pm

    Don’t like the censorship, but will probably still buy it because it feels decent enough… Such a dilemma.

  15. Nagato
    Nagato
    June 21, 2016 at 12:35 pm

    While this seems like a worthy enough game to reboot the franchise with, I do hope Square + Tri-Ace will take the hint from those Japanese sales and user reviews; no one wants or needs censorship, nor will it help sell their game in any region.

  16. Joel Leonheart
    Joel Leonheart
    June 21, 2016 at 12:59 pm

    Hnmmm..I’l wait awhile before getting this…For reason’s…Meanwhile going to play an uncensored RPG called witcher 3

  17. RPG
    RPG
    June 21, 2016 at 1:00 pm

    This is nice to hear. I am personally really excited for Star Ocean V, having been a fan since I was a kid. (I have not played Last Hope. I will perhaps get to it someday, but from what I have generally heard, it does not sound like I am missing too much).
    The panty change was a sour note for me, and I usually stick to my guns and not buy a game, or at least get it used much later if it is censored, or developers cave to nonsense. However, I eventually decided to order the collector’s edition of the game, since I love the series. I really hope that it turns out to be great.

  18. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    June 21, 2016 at 1:13 pm

    You don’t want one of the best aspects of Skyrim to feature in another game?

  19. jack mcdaniels
    jack mcdaniels
    June 21, 2016 at 1:38 pm

    Was the Japanese version censored as well or is the censorship exclusive to the western version? (this decides my purchase, please help and no spoilers)

  20. Longtooth
    Longtooth
    June 21, 2016 at 2:47 pm

    Best? I am pretty sure that you mean worst.

  21. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    June 21, 2016 at 3:09 pm

    What’s so bad about it? You hate freedom?

  22. Marc Duarte
    Marc Duarte
    June 21, 2016 at 3:29 pm

    Overseas can fuck off (and this coming from someone who lives in the States). Japanese devs need to stop listening to these SJW cunts and just make their games the way they want, and then bring them over uncensored so those of us who aren’t narrow-minded can have the chance to play and enjoy them. Those who’re offended by anime girls wearing panties can avert their eyes and go cry in the corner with the other pussies.

  23. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    June 21, 2016 at 3:56 pm

    This change was made everywhere and Japanese were legitimately pissed.

  24. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    June 21, 2016 at 3:57 pm

    Used Buy it hmmmm. LOL

  25. Longtooth
    Longtooth
    June 21, 2016 at 5:18 pm

    I hate the fact that there is no reason to level up at all, you might as well stay level 1 and keep using your starting equipment.

  26. Guin
    Guin
    June 21, 2016 at 6:37 pm

    Too bad no one is praising the narrative. It’s what put the Star Ocean series on the map after all.

  27. dsadsada
    dsadsada
    June 21, 2016 at 9:20 pm

    Putting panties aside for a moment, I am at least glad to hear that it feels more like Til the End of Time. I really enjoyed its gameplay after all and hated Last Hope’s combat system.

  28. Kenta_Ikegami
    Kenta_Ikegami
    June 21, 2016 at 10:03 pm

    NO!
    What the Japanese developers NEED to do is HIDE all of the sexy stuff from the public previews and then just release the REAL uncut game. If they did that, the games would be on store shelves and it would be too late for feminist/sjw’s to complain about it. They would be POWERLESS if you hide details about the game from journalist and release it before they even HAVE the chance to bitch about it.>:^)

  29. Unit01
    Unit01
    June 21, 2016 at 10:29 pm

    I f that happened it would not only be too late, but sjw’s would never see it because they don’t play the games in the first place.

  30. Kenta_Ikegami
    Kenta_Ikegami
    June 21, 2016 at 10:36 pm

    They need to hide the sexy stuff from filthy gaijin gaming journalist, because THEY are the sjw’s whistle blowers. If they don’t know that there’s sexy stuff in the game before it’s released, neither will sjws. Not letting them KNOW sexy stuff exist until it is too late is the best way I can think of to beat them. They still have to tell the ESRB what’s in the game, but as long as journalist/sjws are kept in the dark until after release, they have no power to tamper with it.

  31. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    June 22, 2016 at 7:05 am

    And get tenderized by higher level stuff?

  32. Galbador
    Galbador
    June 22, 2016 at 8:17 am

    Square, you had one job… ONE JOB!!! And yet you failed. We both could have something good from this, but you refuse to listen and so, I will do what I tried to avoid… I will not support this game. Hope you’re happy.

  33. Longtooth
    Longtooth
    June 22, 2016 at 9:01 am

    What higher level stuff? Everything is your level if you stay level one then everything is level 1.

  34. Koriar
    Koriar
    June 22, 2016 at 9:24 am

    So, I am the most anti-censorship person I know. I generally refuse to buy a game if any part of it has been censored when it was brought over to the US.

    I have no idea what’s been censored between those two images. The woman in the checkerboard outfit appears to have the exact same amount of cloth in both pictures, and I assume if they were going to censor something it’d be her.

  35. Koriar
    Koriar
    June 22, 2016 at 9:26 am

    I think in this case “Level-locked” means “You can’t access it until you are X level” not “this area’s difficulty is locked to your level” which I believe is known as level scaling.

  36. Longtooth
    Longtooth
    June 22, 2016 at 9:57 am

    I know, I was talking about how Skyrim had a terrible system.

  37. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    June 22, 2016 at 10:16 am

    This shows that you have no idea that a lot of enemies do not scale but have static levels.

  38. Kain Yusanagi
    Kain Yusanagi
    June 22, 2016 at 10:29 am

    Different design philosophies.

  39. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    June 22, 2016 at 10:58 am

    I don’t see anything in SO5 that would make an open world/no level lock a bad idea from a design point of view.

  40. Kain Yusanagi
    Kain Yusanagi
    June 22, 2016 at 11:22 am

    I’m talking about the concept of locking content at all being a different design philosophy.

  41. Longtooth
    Longtooth
    June 22, 2016 at 11:23 am

    I will admit that I did not play Skyrim very long, but if the only good thing about the game is that some enemies are not level scaled then that says a lot about how crappy level scaling is and how good it is to have to be able to beat some enemies.

  42. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    June 22, 2016 at 11:40 am

    I’m not sure I get you anymore.

  43. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    June 22, 2016 at 11:40 am

    So why don’t you want SO5 to have an open world again? You know, without locked areas?

  44. Longtooth
    Longtooth
    June 22, 2016 at 12:37 pm

    You are suggesting level scaling, I hate level scaling and Skyrim had an exceptionally bad version of level scaling.

  45. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    June 22, 2016 at 1:04 pm

    I am not suggesting level scaling, I am suggesting unlocked areas.

  46. Longtooth
    Longtooth
    June 22, 2016 at 1:18 pm

    How are you going to do unlocked areas without level scaling? Doesn’t level locked areas mean that the area is too high level for you?

  47. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    June 22, 2016 at 2:03 pm

    “How are you going to do unlocked areas without level scaling?”

    Don’t have them be locked? Is it a hard concept for you?

    “Doesn’t level locked areas mean that the area is too high level for you?”

    Yes, and they can take out that limitation.

  48. Audie Bakerson
    Audie Bakerson
    June 22, 2016 at 2:09 pm

    They changed the panties. It’s pretty clear from the text.

  49. Longtooth
    Longtooth
    June 22, 2016 at 2:47 pm

    I think we are misunderstanding each other. I was thinking level locked as in “the enemies will kill your low level ass” not level locked as in “you are literally not allowed to go there”.

  50. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    June 22, 2016 at 3:57 pm

    You can always beat a higher level enemy, unless the game is shit…

  51. Fear Me I Am Free
    Fear Me I Am Free
    June 22, 2016 at 3:58 pm

    My question is: Was anything else censored aside from the panties being changed to awful diaper panties?