Sea of Thieves: Pirates of the Caribbean Free Update Announced, Launches June 22

Microsoft have announced free Pirates of the Caribbean based content for Sea of Thieves, titles A Pirate’s Life.

Taking place across a five chapter campaign (solo or with friends), players will find Captain Jack Sparrow within the Sea of Thieves- and Davy Jones in hot pursuit. The developers are working with Disney to “craft a compelling original narrative that doesn’t just bring two worlds together, but explores what makes each of them special.”

Players will explore both worlds and “he famous park attractions that have been thrilling people for decades,” fighting off Phantoms, Sirens, and Ocean Crawlers. These new enemies will also be present for more than your adventures with Captain Jack Sparrow.

A Pirate’s Life launches for free on June 22nd.

You can find the full rundown on the game (via Steam) below.

About the Game
Sea of Thieves offers the essential pirate experience, from sailing and fighting to exploring and looting – everything you need to live the pirate life and become a legend in your own right. With no set roles, you have complete freedom to approach the world, and other players, however you choose.
Whether you’re voyaging as a group or sailing solo, you’re bound to encounter other crews in this shared world adventure – but will they be friends or foes, and how will you respond?

A Vast Open World
Explore a vast open world filled with unspoiled islands, sunken ships and mysterious artefacts. Take on quests to hunt for lost treasure, seek out cursed Skeleton Captains or gather valuable cargo for the Trading Companies. Go hunting and fishing or choose from hundreds of optional goals and side-quests.

Unforgettable stories
Play through the Tall Tales to experience Sea of Thieves’ unique take on a story-driven campaign. With 11 tales to play through across two epic storylines, these immersive and cinematic quests provide around 30 hours of the ultimate pirate fantasy.

Become Legend
On your journey to become a Pirate Legend you’ll amass loot, build a reputation and define a unique personal style with your hard-earned rewards. Adventurer. Explorer. Conqueror. What will your legend be?

A Game That’s Always Growing
With five major expansions and almost a year’s worth of monthly updates, Sea of Thieves is a service-based game that is continually growing and evolving. Check back each month to see what new content has been added.

Sea of Thieves is available for Windows PC (via the Microsoft Store, and Steam), Xbox One, and Xbox Series X. If you missed it, you can find our review here (we can’t recommend it enough!!)

, , ,


Ryan was a former Niche Gamer contributor.

Where'd our comments go? Subscribe to become a member to get commenting access and true free speech!