Quantcast

Ray Gigant Review – Dungeon Crawling For Dummies

ray gigant 11-10-15-1

One of the things I love about working for Niche Gamer is having the opportunity to play and review games from series and genres I’ve previously never had to ability to play. Ray Gigant is exactly that. Now, while I’ve dabbled in games like The Legend of Grimrock, it couldn’t have been for more than a few minutes at most.

However, that’s what made playing Ray Gigant so great – it’s an easy to digest, beginner’s guide to the dungeon crawling genre. Developed by Experience (Demon Gaze, Stranger of Sword City), Ray Gigant felt easy to learn without ever insulting the player’s intelligence.

The game takes place in Japan after humanity was nearly wiped out by a massive “extraterrestrial lifeform” called a Gigant. Before the giant Dragon-looking monster could finish off humanity, it was defeated by a young boy named Ichiya Amakaze, who summons a powerful being called a “Yorogami” to help defeat the creature.

Unfortunately for humanity, the first Gigant that showed up was just the first of many – and soon the world laid in near complete ruin, save for a few small pockets of humans around the world. Society was left to depend on a gang of young heroes equipped with nearly magical weapons to go and take down the Gigants before they completely overrun the last of humanity.

ray gigant 04-09-16-(61)

The story centers around three protagonists; Ichiya, a young man from Japan who was the first of what would be later called “originals”, people who could naturally bond with the Yorogami. Kyle Griffin, an Englishman with a somewhat twisted personality, and Nil Phineas, a sweet young girl who lives on a tanker ship that’s stranded in the middle of the coral reef.

Each protagonist has their own chapter and cast of unique characters, which allowed for the game truly to show the scale of the Gigant crisis.

The gameplay is your standard first person dungeon crawler, where you must make your way through a maze-like environment on your way to the big boss at the end.

As you move through the dungeon, you’ll come across floating skulls. These come in three colors – yellow, blue, and red, and a Big skull, which is a boss or mini-boss. Yellow Skulls are your normal encounters, Blue are called light encounters, and red are Heavy encounters.

ray gigant 04-09-16-(51)

Once in combat, the game runs as your standard turn-based combat system, where you can select several moves at a time for each of your three party members to use. Each move will cost you “AP” or action points, At the beginning of a dungeon you will start at 100, and they will go up and down as you fight monsters.

Yellow encounters will take a normal amount of AP per action, while red will take twice as much, and blue will take half. If you reach 0 AP, you won’t be able to perform any actions. However if you take damage, you will receive AP as well. Coupling this with the fact that your party will heal back to full after every encounter ensures that the players are always moving forward.

Leveling in Ray Gigant is also incredibly simple, which is perfect for someone like myself who could spend a better part of an afternoon worrying if those stats I just put points into were a complete waste or not.

The leveling system is broken down into three parts, which are also color coded; Yellow is your actual level and stats, blue are your spells and abilities, and red is your equipment.

ray gigant 04-09-16-(99)

As you defeat enemies and open chests, you’ll be gathering materials which share these colors. The player can level their characters on the fly, unlock new abilities or gain better equipment. This, of course, is the substitute for experience points, so you actually have the potential just to bury all your materials into one character if you’re like me and have tunnel vision.

The only major drawback to this system comes from the items. What you get from them is completely random, and while they may never be worse than what you are currently wielding, they could perhaps be only a slight upgrade, which makes the expending all those materials a waste.

Each character has their own weapon type and specializations. This, of course, means their development paths (while similar) are unique to them and them alone.

Another feature that Ray Gigant has is the ability for the protagonists to enter a demon-like mode called “Slash Beat Mode”. When entering this mode, the player must play a rhythm game, and the higher their score at the end, the more damage you will put out with the Slash Beat. Slash Beat is similar to a Limit Break that you must build up points to use, and can be used to turn the tide of battle against a Boss.

ray gigant 04-09-16-(77)

The final combat feature I want to mention are the Boss fights, which while pretty standard affairs, have one unique style to them. In the world of Ray Gigant, the monsters are broken down into two categories, Gigant-I and Gigant-II. Gigant-II’s are your standard grunt and miniboss monsters, which can be anywhere from the size of a dog to the size of a small house.

But Gigant-I’s are massive, nearly skyscraper size beasts that only appear once in a great while. These are your bosses – and to fight them, the party must find a position that’s most advantageous for their weapons. Meaning they must fight the enemy from multiple positions.

While one party member may be on the third floor of a destroyed building attacking the creature’s face, another can be on the ground floor down the street from the confrontation attacking from afar.

Although this doesn’t really affect how the battles play out, it does a fantastic job at showing just how massive the monsters can become, and make you feel all the more powerful and accomplished after you take them down.

ray gigant 04-09-16-(27)

Ray Gigant may not necessarily be a perfect game, and it may be too easy for those who are already familiar with the genre, but it is definitely a perfect entry point for players new to the genre. The combat is engaging and easy to grasp, and the leveling system may be simple, but it also has the benefit of being nearly stress-free.

The monsters all look fantastic, and the artwork by Fuji Mogeo is probably the best I’ve seen in a game outside of Vanillaware. I’ve already ordered copies of Demon Gaze and Stranger of Sword City thanks to Ray Gigant giving me an itch, which I’ve yet to scratch.

Ray Gigant was reviewed on PS Vita using a digital copy provided by Acttil. You can find additional information about Niche Gamer’s review/ethics policy here. (Editor’s Note: We missed the window for the original release, so we made sure to have a review for the PC release)

The Verdict: 10

The Good:

  • The artwork by Fuji Mogeo is fantastic and really does a great job at setting Ray Gigant apart from other dungeon crawlers by Experience
  • The game is easy to learn and easy to master, a perfect game for someone new to dungeon crawlers
  • The rhythm sections during the power up phase were a pleasant surprise; I enjoy actually having to put in a little work to deal a massive amount of damage to my opponent
  • The characters and universe are great, and I can only hope that we will get some kind of sequel in the future
  • The leveling system is easy, but allows for you to play without sweating the details too much
  • The Gigant designs are amazing; I loved seeing all the new kinds of monsters I’d run into in each dungeon

The Bad

  • May be too easy for veterans of the genre
  • The soundtrack isn’t bad, but isn’t very memorable either
, ,
Tyler Valle

About

A video maker, history buff, and college student. Lover of JRPG's and musou games. He's currently enrolled in university and working on becoming an English teacher.




Comment Policy: Read our comment policy and guidelines before commenting.
101 comments
  1. Taedirk
    Taedirk
    August 11, 2016 at 1:23 am

    “Ray Gigant may not necessarily be a perfect game”
    “The Verdict: 10”

    Wait wat.

  2. GrimFate
    GrimFate
    August 11, 2016 at 1:27 am

    Another good game for the Vita? Might have to consider getting one. (Too bad my usual gameshop doesn’t sell them, which discourages me a little.)

  3. Ultim8_Alchemist
    Ultim8_Alchemist
    August 11, 2016 at 1:30 am

    Why not import or buy online?

  4. deadeye
    deadeye
    August 11, 2016 at 1:38 am

    Well, this is the PC port.

  5. GrimFate
    GrimFate
    August 11, 2016 at 2:09 am

    True, but I keep noticing good games for the Vita, so I’m starting to wonder if it’s actually a platform worth considering. I’m sure some of its good games will be exclusives, although I can’t remember any of these games off the top of my head.

  6. GrimFate
    GrimFate
    August 11, 2016 at 2:12 am

    Yeah, I guess I should stop being lazy and actually look elsewhere lol Although part of the discouragement is wondering if the fact they don’t carry it means the platform might be on the way out.

  7. Ultim8_Alchemist
    Ultim8_Alchemist
    August 11, 2016 at 2:18 am

    Not on its way out. Just doesn’t get the AAA support from Sony or devs. Has its place among its fanbase. As you stated above, there are plenty of good games available on it, and plenty scheduled for release. Definitely worth the investment, especially if you are a JRPG fan.

  8. GrimFate
    GrimFate
    August 11, 2016 at 2:23 am

    Cool. Thanks for the info.

  9. Tristan (Chili1)
    Tristan (Chili1)
    August 11, 2016 at 3:28 am

    There’s no such thing as a perfect game. 10 should not be unattainable.

  10. Tristan (Chili1)
    Tristan (Chili1)
    August 11, 2016 at 3:29 am

    Persona 4 Golden and Freedom Wars would be a good start.

  11. GrimFate
    GrimFate
    August 11, 2016 at 3:37 am

    Awesome. Thanks.

  12. SunsetHaste
    SunsetHaste
    August 11, 2016 at 4:38 am

    I’m gonna have to disagree about the ‘characters and the universe’ being great.

    At least in the Vita version the localisation is so piss poor that the characters lose any and all depth they had, there are typos and badly constructed sentences /everywhere/…

    The two things this game really has going for it are the gorgeous battle character sprites and the newbie-friendliness.

  13. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 4:46 am

    Taiko no Tatsujin V, Puyo Puyo Tetris and IA/VT Colorful are import-friendly enough
    I could name a good amount of other good games I own, but they’re also all in japanese however

  14. Nad Nod
    Nad Nod
    August 11, 2016 at 4:50 am

    if you like jrpg type then yes.even better if you actually live when games was cheap.

  15. GrimFate
    GrimFate
    August 11, 2016 at 4:51 am

    ooo Puyo :D Haven’t played a Puyo game in years. Thanks too for the recommendations.

  16. Tubsiwub
    Tubsiwub
    August 11, 2016 at 4:57 am

    How can it be perfect if I can’t own it physically?

  17. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 5:16 am

    Do you really expect the average weebfag to learn japanese tho?

  18. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    August 11, 2016 at 5:16 am

    The disclosure shares that this is a late review based on a digital Vita code which was deliberately timed close to the PC release: “Ray Gigant was reviewed on PS Vita using a digital copy provided by Acttil. You can find additional information about Niche Gamer’s review/ethics policy here. (Editor’s Note: We missed the window for the original release, so we made sure to have a review for the PC release)”

    No reviews on Steam said Ray Gigant runs poorly, but it might be a good idea to wait and just add this review as another feather in the cap for the Vita original.

  19. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    August 11, 2016 at 5:19 am

    I was that way with Code of Princess, Zero Time Dilemma, Conception 2 and others especially since I play on 3DS (even if I have a Japanese one).

    At least, Steam is pretty much 99% digital so I don’t feel too miffed about a digital release there.

  20. SunsetHaste
    SunsetHaste
    August 11, 2016 at 5:19 am

    No, I just expect the localisation team to do a decent job.

  21. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 5:20 am

    Which is basically like gambling and you will lose more often than not

  22. SunsetHaste
    SunsetHaste
    August 11, 2016 at 5:21 am

    I guess I’m spoiled by XSEED

  23. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 5:21 am

    It especially boils down to
    >buying digital

  24. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    August 11, 2016 at 6:11 am

    Does it really get worse than “Super Expensive Storage (TM)” as Sony seems to like for their portables?

  25. Kakaku
    Kakaku
    August 11, 2016 at 6:12 am

    Its awful that’s been the case for so many games recently especially with the Vita. Hell with PC its even worse with how popular Steam has been getting. Even if a game does get a physical release you might just end up with a box and a digital code or a CD that needs to be activated online that becomes worthless after one use.

    Even if you decide to give up and go digital you still don’t really own the game. If you’ve read PSN Europe’s terms of service you’ll notice that Sony is allowed to delete your account after 24 months of inactivity. Purchases are of course tied to the PSN account so you would lose any game licenses, DLC, or PSN funds tied to the account with no reimbursement unless required by law. This isn’t even new. Its something that’s been in Europe’s terms of service since 2009 (before it was 18 months). So far no accounts seem to have been deleted in this fashion, but they can still legally close your account. Considering how even I didn’t know about this its possible for Sony to bring this to other regions without catching the eyes of the general population. Its just awful.

  26. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 6:48 am

    That’s another obvious issue, but back then, the PSP wasnt built like a security prison for even the simpliest stuff (personal files, archiving data, etc.)

    PSP’s biggest flaw were the umds however

  27. Chocolate ISISCream
    Chocolate ISISCream
    August 11, 2016 at 7:29 am

    Always thought it was odd how Namco released Asterisk War in asia physically and not this.

  28. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    August 11, 2016 at 7:35 am

    A great Vita exclusive if you like hack and slash games is Muramasa Rebirth and it’s DLC. Same goes for Dragon’s Crown if you don’t own a PS3. Tearaway is another unique Vita game.

  29. Brownninja97 .
    Brownninja97 .
    August 11, 2016 at 7:35 am

    im not sure why so many people prefer physical to digital. it just seems like a large liability

  30. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    August 11, 2016 at 7:37 am

    Physical releases give you true ownership and have more value in terms of trading or lending games.

  31. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    August 11, 2016 at 7:39 am

    I’ve been hearing good things about this game. The digital only release put me off and there wasn’t an English Asia version to import. I may still check it out when it comes down in price.

  32. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    August 11, 2016 at 7:59 am

    On the note of games on PS3, I just got Malicious and have been really enjoying it so far. The Vita has a better version called Malicious Rebirth.

    I think it is worth noting that the best version of Tearaway (I think) is on PS4 under another name though the primary platform was the Vita.

  33. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    August 11, 2016 at 8:05 am

    Yeah, I’ve played Malicious – it’s quite good.

    While it’s true that there is the Tearaway Unfolded version on PS4, but the two versions are quite different in terms of gameplay and it was designed for the Vita utilising all of it’s features. To fully experience the game on PS4 you have to have the camera, which not many people own.

  34. Uncle Ocelot
    Uncle Ocelot
    August 11, 2016 at 8:18 am

    Hopefully not for long after recent developments.

  35. Uncle Ocelot
    Uncle Ocelot
    August 11, 2016 at 8:19 am

    It’s also nice to look at a nice long shelf full of games.

  36. GrimFate
    GrimFate
    August 11, 2016 at 8:20 am

    I have Dragon’s Crown on PS3, but I’ll keep Muramasa Rebirth in mind. Thanks :D

  37. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    August 11, 2016 at 8:25 am

    Or multiple shelves in some cases. It’s the modern day equivalent of a library vs a kindle. It has a unique charm.

  38. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    August 11, 2016 at 8:26 am

    You’re welcome.

  39. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    August 11, 2016 at 8:28 am

    If i’m guessing right he’s only 19 years old so ofcourse he will not understand the difference,forgive his ignorance.

  40. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 8:33 am

    I wish though the people behind the homebrew scene werent such ‘anti-piracy’ moralfags

    At least it looks like henkaku is a kernel exploit

  41. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    August 11, 2016 at 8:34 am

    If you like jrpgs you should also get Trails of Cold Steel,great game.There’s also Trails 2 coming out this year.

  42. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    August 11, 2016 at 8:35 am

    Age has nothing to do with it – it could be an honest question. Plus there is a growing trend of buying games digitally even on consoles – I’d imagine for convenience.

    Personally when physical games stop being a thing I’ll become a retro gamer.

  43. GrimFate
    GrimFate
    August 11, 2016 at 8:37 am

    thanks. i guess i should make an official list to keep track of all these suggestions lol

  44. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    August 11, 2016 at 8:37 am

    Age plays certainly a big part in it because he grew up with digital unlike us.If it goes all digital then i quit too.

  45. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    August 11, 2016 at 8:40 am

    Yeah you really should.The Vita is really an underrated console with many gems.

  46. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    August 11, 2016 at 8:42 am

    Ah I see. Assuming that there isn’t a notable increase in game content for PS4 then, the Vita Tearaway is the definitive version on the basis of that.

    I might buy one at some point, but the only external camera I have as far as video games go is the Game Boy Camera and that was over a decade late. I just about tolerate the sensor bar and that’s packed in for Wii/U and necessary in many cases.

  47. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    August 11, 2016 at 8:44 am

    Yeah, you’re right. I just don’t like judging people based on their age, doubly so if it’s just an assumption.

  48. Captain Vidya
    Captain Vidya
    August 11, 2016 at 9:15 am

    Let me put it this way. Just a couple days ago, I went to download Yakuza 5. Problem number 1 is that I didn’t have enough space on my PS3’s hard drive to download it. Granted, it was because I had a couple demos from years past, but I had to delete another game or two off of my hard drive to make space for all 22GB that Yakuza 5 takes up. Problem number 2 is that, as it was 22GB, it took a rediculously long time to download (about 4-5 hours).

    These two problems I had while trying to get Yakuza 5 on my PS3 add up to one of the biggest issues I have with digital which is library management. I can only hold so many games on my console/handheld’s hard drive at once before I have to delete stuff to make room for something else.

    For physical, you’re restricted to wherever you can put stuff, which, for me at least, is much less restrictive. I’d be able to own (actually own as opposed to whatever abstract definition of “own” digital uses) many more games without having to remove them to make room for more. On top of that, I won’t have to wait hours for the game to download from Sony’s ever-shitty servers. I’d just take the disc out that’s in the console and pop the game I want to play in and Bob’s your uncle.

    To me, the only advantage digital has over physical is the fact that digital doesn’t take up space in your room. All the inconveniences that digital brings to the table (including games being removed from digital stores (I’m looking at you, After Burner Climax and OutRun)) simply outweigh the positives.

  49. Captain Vidya
    Captain Vidya
    August 11, 2016 at 9:16 am

    From their review policy: “The game is not necessarily the best game ever made, but it is decidedly one of the best in its genre. Usually, whatever the game does, it does better than most of its peers.”

  50. Mid 90's Shinigami
    Mid 90's Shinigami
    August 11, 2016 at 9:33 am

    Easy? Then how the fuck do you beat that dungeon in Chapter 4? That parasitism bullshit made it impossible for me.

  51. deadeye
    deadeye
    August 11, 2016 at 10:17 am

    Maybe they’re anti-piracy because they don’t want the Vita to immediately die? It’s hanging by a thread as it is, and Sony barely supports it.

  52. Juan Manuel M. Suárez
    Juan Manuel M. Suárez
    August 11, 2016 at 10:22 am

    Piracy is what ravaged the PSP. If people weren’t such pirate trash then they wouldn’t have been so anal with the PSV’s propietary memcards. So grats to all the cheap fuckers who couldn’t bother to buy the games, they fucked up what came afterwards~.

  53. Juan Manuel M. Suárez
    Juan Manuel M. Suárez
    August 11, 2016 at 10:23 am

    And as a result then they’d sell the system flashed and with a 8GB stick full of pirated games. Piracy did a ton of damage to both system and the future of Sony handhelds with how paranoid Sony got afterwards~.

  54. Meroune Lorelei Du Neptune
    Meroune Lorelei Du Neptune
    August 11, 2016 at 10:31 am

    Steam is also a way better (if draconian only) service that lets me download what I paid for without a hassle. 2016 and Nintendo hasn’t gotten their account shit together.

  55. Nad Nod
    Nad Nod
    August 11, 2016 at 11:01 am

    Sure piracy can damage but not that loss profit make them out of business some example was witcher 3 great game but had many flaws but still sold alot and profitable.

    Psp like you said being ravaged by piracy still sold great.

    i don’t have 3DS yet but i see the piracy was rampant there but still sell a lot.

    but what damage the most is by them self(Sony)
    they don’t invest much enough resource to what important that make vita be sought by buyer like many first party game ,cheap ,longevity which pretty sad being named Vita.
    you know why Sony launch Vita tv? first sure props for them it’s great for cheap option, second because they too greedy doesn’t want include tv out for Vita.

    sure they maybe paranoid because PSP before(That I’m sure sold pretty well nonetheless)i know it’s their property to protect but when they act from being paranoid affecting their fans/buyer that when they lose for sell and future costumers.

  56. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 11:05 am

    “Piracy is what ravaged the PSP”
    lol no it was what made the PSP boost in sales
    umds were also trash physicals

    “they fucked up what came afterwards”
    Sony is the sole one to blame for being a retard towards piracy and hurt legal consumers in the process
    pirates always win in the end tho

  57. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 11:07 am

    It’s already dead, Jim

    But seriously, piracy on PSP didnt stop japanese games to be released, and this will be the same case for the Vita

  58. Juan Manuel M. Suárez
    Juan Manuel M. Suárez
    August 11, 2016 at 11:09 am

    PSP may have sold units, but it doesn’t mean much if it doesn’t sell games. If games don’t sell, companies don’t make them. So if you think piracy doesn’t hurt a system maybe you didn’t look at it the right way~.

  59. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 11:09 am

    “Piracy did a ton of damage to both systems”

    pffffft

  60. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 11:10 am

    Japanese games were still released even after the CFW on PSP.

  61. BaronKrause
    BaronKrause
    August 11, 2016 at 11:12 am

    That’s been Sony’s thing since Betamax. I’d only be half surprised if their console market was actually based around the idea of making their own format of memory card that they have exclusive control over.

  62. Brimfyre
    Brimfyre
    August 11, 2016 at 11:27 am

    Dude, I’m 34 and I’m sick of owning physical media. They get lost when you need to make space for other shit. Being able just to download on the fly is so much more convenient. Hard Drive too full, then delete some shit you aren’t playing. It isn’t hard.

    I don’t want one to go away for the other, but if a game is digital only and that was the only way they could justify a release, then that is fine. You talk about people’s age, but you are the one throwing a hissy fit like a child over “no physical media” option. Time to put on your big boy pants and suck it up.

  63. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    August 11, 2016 at 11:28 am

    For that reason, I mostly buy PS1 and small PSN games for my PS3. It isn’t a question of whether I can afford it but the trouble of having to get a bigger hard drive and manage a bunch of downloads.

    Another digital advantage is not needing to change discs, but that’s a benefit I think is really big for the portable platforms since it avoids needing to switch through cartridges (important when you just want to join Smash Bros or Mario Kart) at a convention. Console-wise, it isn’t that much of an advantage.

  64. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    August 11, 2016 at 11:33 am

    I suppose, but we had almost three generations of Sony home consoles with good storage devices before the Betamax 2 arrived in the form of UMDs and the PSP’s memory sticks.

    They were on a roll. >_>

  65. BaronKrause
    BaronKrause
    August 11, 2016 at 11:37 am

    Were Playstation 1/2 memory cards not a patent owned by Sony? Always assumed that other companies making them were required to pay a royalty to use the format just like with Blu-Ray.

  66. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    August 11, 2016 at 11:39 am

    Hopefully, it’ll be sooner than 2060. Steam are actually improving even if they are far from the DRM free haven with uncensored games of all kinds that I’d like.

    Losing this generation should be humbling and make them act faster, even with the 3DS doing well (after a very rocky start) and the Wii U having Splatoon, they should really be thinking about how to make their services better, not just a new hardware thing.

    I liked the focus on “channels” and “folders” from the Wii, the latter which the PS4 doesn’t have yet. I’d probably rather have region free gaming and proper accounts though.

  67. BaronKrause
    BaronKrause
    August 11, 2016 at 11:40 am

    Piracy is the excuse companies use to explain why their bad game didn’t sell enough.

  68. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    August 11, 2016 at 11:41 am

    I haven’t checked, but they probably were.

    I’m more bugged by the PSP and Vita which had the chance to use SD cards, though I did mention UMDs since it was such an odd concept and had some home video attached to it (not that the GBA or DS didn’t but the scale was different).

  69. Juan Manuel M. Suárez
    Juan Manuel M. Suárez
    August 11, 2016 at 11:55 am

    Minor niche games, sure. Here’s an article covering figures for games back on the DS / PSP era: http://www.siliconera.com/2010/06/13/psp-and-ds-piracy-explained-in-pictures/ ~.

    And this is a Western dev chiming about how they felt about piracy on PSP: http://www.playstationlifestyle.net/2010/10/27/god-of-war-dev-claims-piracy-almost-makes-psp-development-pointless/ ~.

    You aren’t the first nor the last piracy apologist I encounter online; only people who “pffft” are the people who don’t pay for games, whether because they are cheap or poor. Nonetheless, there’s no excuse for piracy and to deny the damage on the industry is fucking retarded~.

  70. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 12:05 pm

    “Minor niche games, sure.”
    >minor

    “And this is a Western dev chiming about how they felt about piracy on PSP”
    >Ghost of Sparta had sold almost 1.2 million copies worldwide
    >b-b-but muh piracy

    “Nonetheless, there’s no excuse for piracy”
    Keep being a good goy

    “to deny the damage on the industry”
    Industry wasnt damaged by piracy, but by jews and consumers lowering their standards

  71. BaronKrause
    BaronKrause
    August 11, 2016 at 12:06 pm

    PSP and Vita really should of used SD cards, but controlling/profiting off what should normally be commodity storage is too ingrained into Sony’s business model. I really can’t see it ever changing.

  72. Juan Manuel M. Suárez
    Juan Manuel M. Suárez
    August 11, 2016 at 12:10 pm

    Seems like it’s also the excuse cheap people use to pirate a game in the first place. “Oh, the game is bad so I’m not going to pay for it. But I’ll still play it.”~.

  73. Juan Manuel M. Suárez
    Juan Manuel M. Suárez
    August 11, 2016 at 12:11 pm

    The Dreamcast says “Hi”. But then again, piracy apologist trash will never really accept that they are filth hurting the industry~.

  74. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 12:13 pm

    Nah, you cant argument to save your life because you’re too busy to suck companies jew cocks

  75. BaronKrause
    BaronKrause
    August 11, 2016 at 12:13 pm

    Oh I fully agree that its no justification, but that doesn’t change the fact that those games that claimed piracy as an excuse for bad sales were giant piles of crap that wouldn’t of sold well anyway.

  76. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 12:18 pm

    >blaming piracy for anything
    Buyfags love to use this as a scapegoat

  77. Juan Manuel M. Suárez
    Juan Manuel M. Suárez
    August 11, 2016 at 12:24 pm

    Says the trash who thinks it’s cute to use the word “jew” in a derogatory way~.

  78. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 12:27 pm

    yes good goy thats the spirit

  79. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    August 11, 2016 at 12:38 pm

    Seems like you are very organized when you lose games and the fact that you don’t have space is not my problem,i don’t care about your personal life.I don’t suck up things i don’t like but whatever floats your boat man.

  80. Brimfyre
    Brimfyre
    August 11, 2016 at 12:42 pm

    Way to miss the point. Accusing people who don’t live your way of life as being 19 is a dick thing to say.

  81. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 12:47 pm

    >pointing out your lack of organization is “being a dick”
    pls

  82. Brimfyre
    Brimfyre
    August 11, 2016 at 12:49 pm

    No him calling people who like only digital only games children makes him a dick.

    I’m not organized. He’s right.

    Seriously, is everyone in this forum fucked in the head?

  83. Brimfyre
    Brimfyre
    August 11, 2016 at 12:51 pm

    you… you don’t know how to read do you?

  84. totenglocke
    totenglocke
    August 11, 2016 at 12:52 pm

    He went full IGN on us!

  85. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 12:52 pm

    neither you can apparently

  86. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 12:52 pm

    It’s time to grow some thicker skin, I believe

  87. Brimfyre
    Brimfyre
    August 11, 2016 at 12:56 pm

    Take your own advice. You seriously completely misread my comment, and reacted. Why don’t you admit your mistake and move on.

  88. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 12:58 pm

    Why don’t you admit your mistake and move on.

  89. chaoguy
    chaoguy
    August 11, 2016 at 12:58 pm

    Any major changes in the PC version?
    Do the graphics scale up with bigger resolution?
    Can you rebind keys?
    Does it run at 60 or 30FPS?

  90. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    August 11, 2016 at 2:47 pm

    Am I half asleep or are you responding on the behalf of Brownninja97?

    Whatever the reason, I don’t think it is out there for people to notice a number like 97 (it isn’t 360 or something like that) and assume that was a sign of when the user was born. People will also make assumptions based on avatars and usernames.

    I honestly think you shouldn’t care about exchanges like this, but whatever. 19 years old isn’t a child (you were the only one who said so but whatever), though I’d look down on one if I met them in person. Digital only preference isn’t a bad thing, even if I’d willingly double how much I pay to get a physical copy in many cases.

  91. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    August 11, 2016 at 2:54 pm

    I don’t side with piracy outside of a game being out of distribution (not being localised isn’t enough), not earning any money for the original creators or far too expensive for people to reasonably buy legitimately.

    However, I do think that cheap people pirating games can have a benefit if they end up treating it like a demo or just end up supporting the franchises later on.

    Good service can negate the effects of piracy and honestly, Sony may be making good steps with cross buy but aren’t good as they can be.

    I know plenty of games got messed up by piracy, I remember World of Goo doing poorly for the Wii and it was legitimately good I hear. I wouldn’t say every case ends up like that sort of horror story just because DRM is loose or completely absent.

  92. Smug
    Smug
    August 11, 2016 at 3:31 pm

    Its a known fact that supporting devs didnt stop the industry as whole going to shit.

    Also buyfags cant deal with the fact something they paid can actually be obtained for free, but are also totally fine with the used/second-handed market (which is technically worse than piracy if we follow the buyfag logic) as money is still involved (but none to the publisher/devs)

    That will never cease to amuse me

  93. Shinoji
    Shinoji
    August 11, 2016 at 6:11 pm

    Well, for Xbox One and PS4, the game is still downloaded to your hard drive, you’d just need to insert the disc whenever you want to play it instead.

    Also you can just simply switch the hard drive out with one with a large storage. Doesn’t solve the problem, I know, but it reduces the chance of it happening.

    Though I do agree on your point about digital vs physical.

  94. Elkhazel
    Elkhazel
    August 11, 2016 at 9:24 pm

    gezz, a whooping 10… I’ll be sat waiting for the pc version then

  95. Tyrannikos
    Tyrannikos
    August 12, 2016 at 12:49 am

    I should really buy a PS TV.

  96. Jigsy
    Jigsy
    August 12, 2016 at 1:03 pm

    I don’t believe they make them anymore.

  97. Tyrannikos
    Tyrannikos
    August 12, 2016 at 8:48 pm

    Even so, I’m sure I can get one on the cheap through Amazon or ebay.

  98. Schrodinger's Clit
    Schrodinger's Clit
    August 16, 2016 at 10:00 am

    >umds were also trash physicals

    What a refreshing site it is to see someone else with my opinion. There are a lot of UMDfags that would think that remark is controversial.

  99. Smug
    Smug
    August 16, 2016 at 10:11 am

    >noise
    >frequent long loading times
    >battery hog
    The sole advantages UMDs had, were the much higher allowed space (1.8GB) compared to the DS cartridges back then, and giving the possibility for devs to release their 18+ VNs as UMD Videos.

  100. Kainevil Rc
    Kainevil Rc
    September 9, 2016 at 7:33 am

    All those sexy enemy animations and yet they couldn’t do the attack animations of the mc party. Rather shitty if you ask me. Waste of potential.