Quantcast

Omega Quintet Review- Kicking Ass and Singing Songs

omega quintet 04-30-15-6

Omega Quintet is a game featuring 5 young girls with the power to quell the evil Blare that brought ruin upon the world with their voices in this idol-simulator RPG. Players take on the role of Otoha, a young girl who dreams of becoming a verse maiden, someone capable of fighting the Blare, and become famous with the help of her childhood best friend, Takt. As the game opens, the two watch one of the most famous verse maidens taking down the Blare single-handedly on TV.

The story is a cute, and filled with pretty likeable characters. It is overall a pretty feel good story as the girls work together to accomplish their ultimate goal of saving lives and ridding the world of the Blare. If there was a problem I did have with the story, it lies within the number of plot-holes and flaws – unfortunately, these primarily focus on Takt. Ultimately, the player will be in control of Takt, managing the ladies. His presence is there solely to get a closer look and gain attachment to the girls from a male/female relationship perspective, but the game has a hard time really giving any real meaning to Takt since the true main characters are the Maidens.

It becomes quite apparent that there’s a clash of a main character role between Otoha and Takt very early on. As much as I generally like playing as a guy in games, I feel that it should have focused more on the girls. It did try its best to not cross the boundaries of importance since Otoha’s actions are generally influenced by how important Takt is to her. Thankfully at least, Takt progressively gets a little more important and influences the power of the verse Maidens, which functions with the battle system. I also noticed sentence structure errors a few times in the title, which I hope can be a simple fix in a patch.

The battle system gets quite deep, and rather quickly as well. At its base, the game is a turn-based RPG that adheres to positioning on characters and enemies. New features are constantly added as you progress. Based upon a Maiden’s weapon of choice, range is something to consider during battles. Most weapons have a sort of sweet spot for their range and will showcase any bonus either hit percentage or damage increase or decrease due to the range before attacking.

Maidens are refreshed each turn with a stock action count, showing how many actions they can perform in a given turn, depending on their proficiency with the weapon used. They can gain more actions for one particular turn by breaking the enemy’s guard (Magnetic Field) and defeating an enemy. As the girls attack and defend the player will gain Voltage. The Voltage Meter can be raised up to 5 and can then be used for ultimate attacks used by the maidens and/or utilized to gain extra buffs for a limited time by performing a live concert.

Takt is able to be involved a bit during battles. He can pair with any verse maiden which will give bonus stats to the Maiden, and also provide follow up attacks after that specific maiden attacks or provide extra defense and resistances when that maiden is attacked. Takt can only be used a number of times per battle, which in the beginning gives strategic value to his use. But after getting to know the system of how to recover his action counts, leveling him up, and gaining more action counts he has, it becomes extremely simple to maintain his battle appearances.

It may provide a much needed harder challenge in a harder difficulty, but I feel like at the medium difficulty the number of times he can be used should be reduced to provide a more strategic reason to use him properly and switch him to different maidens. As a suggestion, perhaps Takt could unlock specific abilities that are exclusive to pairing with a given Maiden with different values required from Takt’s action count to utilize that ability. Such an addition would make it more necessary to plan switching more often and support using him smartly since it gets extremely easy to leave him with one maiden and spam his defense and last hits.

Harmonics are the easily exploitable but fun ability that does require a chunk of Takt’s action gauge. These attacks require the verse maidens to be consecutive in the turn order before the enemies turn to get full effect – that is, only maidens together in the turn order take part in the attack.  Harmonics allow all the maidens to attack at once. But by doing specific abilities, they can unlock combo techniques that are incredibly powerful, especially if you break the enemies guard, adding additional follow up attacks to combo skills and ultimate techniques which become extremely deadly.

The problem with this is not its usefulness but rather the amount of power it gives to players. It is basically downright game breaking. You can easily end a boss battle in the first turn if you exploit harmonics with the proper combo techniques and a good voltage meter built up for ultimate techniques. The biggest obstacle is normally having enough SP to utilize the heavy hitting techniques. While I do believe that harmonics are far more powerful than they should be, the ease of using this is certainly fun. One of my favorite things to do in battle is just making ridiculous high damaging combos – but I find it’s just a little too easy to do so.

The art is absolutely beautiful. The active 2D visual novel animations are in effect here, but in addition there are added animation movements rather than just the typical breathing, eye blinking, and mouth movements that are common nowadays. The creators utilized simple tricks to add more life into the dialogue and conversations by squashing and stretching characters and environments, adjusting character placements in the space, and moving the camera.

It added a ton more energy to the simple 2D dialogue that made the visual novel style reading experience very enjoyable. The menu layout and tutorial guides are also clean and concise designs that are easy to use and enjoy, like most Idea Factory / Compile Heart games. The game also presents itself in chapter segments, acting out the story in Anime episode style – which is cool, but some people may skip it since it repeats the intro animation each chapter and also does a credit sequence at the end of a chapter.

I am happy to say that for the main portions of the game, there virtually no lag or frame rate issues in the game. The only time I witnessed frame rate problems was during a 3D cutscene showcasing the dungeon and some 3d cutscene snippets, but it was very small and really nothing extremely awful at all. In fact, it runs very smoothly throughout the game play which was very exciting. Admittedly, graphically it may not have pushed the power of the PS4 for the 3D models and environment, but for the first JRPG on the system it did well hitting the other marks. It does a great job overall.

omega quintet 04-30-15-9 omega quintet 04-30-15-8

Players have the ability to switch costumes, hair styles, eye contacts, and more to give more customization and unlockables to enjoy by playing. The outfit destruction honestly wasn’t anything ridiculous, unlike Senran Kagura where they push the boundaries of sex appeal. In Omega Quintet, it’s much more tame, which I think was necessary in this title since the designs generally geared more towards cuteness then sex appeal. It’s extremely funny, very much like Lollipop Chainsaw that if you angle the camera upward; the verse maiden will cover up and ask what you are doing.

In conjunction with art, my favorite improvement this title has made in comparison to the others is its level design. I was so pleased to see more complicated layouts, and the first real dungeon the player jumps into is a huge level with various checkpoints, parts that are only accessible later, branching paths and even has better set dressing for environment models, helping the world look more believable.

It nearly brought me to tears from playing many other Idea Factory / Compile Heart titles that were just drab in layout and flat in design, like Mugen Souls, some of the Neptunia titles, Fairy Fencer F, etc. This was a large improvement from their other titles in my opinion. It still has small simpler dungeons as well, so not everything is large which makes for good variation. Adding some fun platforming elements nest would be absolutely wonderful to expand maps further up and out. Leave room to let the player have fun exploring. So far, though, the it is certainly on the right track.

Music and sound is great, fun, and pop-y – especially all of the verse maiden songs. What really adds to the effect of the music is that the player can even make music videos with the maidens. Between controlling camera angles, giving props to the maidens, access to tons of dance certain moves, and a bunch of other stuff, the music video software feels like a standalone game, almost. I’ll try to see if I can, at some point, shoot the recording of a music video I made and upload it onto here.

The English voice actors, in my opinion, really weren’t that bad-in fact, I liked it and kept it on. There’s a very heavy stigma for voice actors with Japanese anime-stylized games so that will always be a tough point for anyone. However, for what it’s worth, in comparison to Chaos Wars and the ilk, It did a much better job of representation and for that, kudos. I will say, though, that the verse maidens have repeated lines throughout dungeons, and those get grating very quick. If the verse maidens were conversing amongst themselves based on the chapter and timed the chatter a little better, this issue would be far less annoying. It could even help to provide a visceral experience like Dragon Age or a better similarity would be Rogue Galaxy.

I won’t lie; whenever I see the logo of Idea Factory / Compile Heart intermixing, there’s a following stigma to the type of game that will be produced. However, with my personal experience on some of their titles, the problems were frequent and the same for their games. Big frame rate drops, poor level design, decent possibility of a big glitch making it into the game, and mere decent combat mechanics are issues that I, personally, have felt plague their games.

omega quintet 04-30-15-7

I was surprised by Omega Quintet, and extremely happy to say that this game has fixed a lot of those particular issues in my experience. Omega Quintet still has its flaws – mainly involving story and battle balancing – but it’s one of the better titles that I’ve played from them and enjoyed. This game is a very welcoming addition to the Playstation 4’s library and I really hope any avid JRPG player will enjoy this title.

Omega Quintet was reviewed on Playstation 4 using a review code provided by NIS America. You can find additional information about Niche Gamer’s review/ethics policy here.

The Verdict: 8.5

Pros:

  • Big Improvement of level design
  • Fun battle system that leaves room for huge combos
  • Great art and highly fun 2D visual reading experience
  • Great unlockables, customization options
  • Music videos!

Cons:

  • Story has a constant battle of importance in characters and degrades the big point of the title somewhat.
  • Difficulty (medium) was pretty simple with the ease of abusable battle mechanics.
  • Please stop putting unnecessary invisible colliders to enjoy navigation, player agency, and jumping more.
  • Verse Maiden Monologues in dungeons are constant, highly repeated, and can get annoying quickly.
, , ,
Chris Gollmer

About

I have been an avid gamer since I was a child, playing Legend of Zelda on the NES and began true niche gaming during the SNES/Genesis battles.




Comment Policy: Read our comment policy and guidelines before commenting.
36 comments
  1. sanic
    sanic
    April 30, 2015 at 10:09 pm

    “Please stop putting unnecessary invisible colliders to enjoy navigation, player agency, and jumping more.”

    This is a reviewer with vision, put a brick walk or boulder there jerks.

  2. No Excuses VTW
    No Excuses VTW
    April 30, 2015 at 10:12 pm

    I’m interested in trying this game, since I’m quite fond of JRPGs with a hefty multiplier for musically themed ones. I’ve never been too worried about gamebreaking combat mechanics in them either; I’m usually in it for the story and music, and I have to admit that I probably relished needlessly firing METHOD_REPLEKIA/. at small creatures more than I should have in Ar Tonelico 2.

  3. djluke_1993
    djluke_1993
    April 30, 2015 at 10:25 pm

    I really want to get this since I got my PS4 a couple of days ago but Australia has to wait until the 11th to get our copies.

  4. MusouTensei
    MusouTensei
    April 30, 2015 at 10:31 pm

    Looking forward to my copy, “unfortunately” the EU release date falls on a holiday in my country and amazon tells me I will get it probably tuesday :/ Sadly amazon is the only german online store that has the game, I tried every other I know but no one else has it, oh well I’m still on my 2nd Type 0 run anyway.

    Anyone knows if anything is missing from the JP version?

  5. Chris Gollmer
    Chris Gollmer
    April 30, 2015 at 11:03 pm

    It’s always a little grievance to me when a game adds a jump mechanic that you can’t really enjoy the jumping feature to it. In this title its only on select checkpoints that just require the additional height when you level it up. So it’s used more in like a key function then an exploration tool which is always bothersome but I know it isn’t game shattering so it didn’t really lower the score of the game. Just my personal angst of not giving full freedom of jumping and exploration.

  6. OverlordZetta
    OverlordZetta
    April 30, 2015 at 11:29 pm

    Well this certainly is a big contrast to some of the other reviews I’ve read. Personally, I didn’t have huge expectations for this one, but I might get it when I finally get a PS4 if it’s cheap enough by then after reading this.

    Also, I don’t know which titles you’re referring to regarding glitches, but if it’s the NISA localized ones, the accepted explanation is that was actually NISA’s doing considering how many of their first party localizations suffer bugs as well. If not, disregard this, just wanted to add that since I can’t remember ever seeing a major glitch in a CH game.

  7. TheCynicalReaper
    TheCynicalReaper
    May 1, 2015 at 12:23 am

    This makes me really want to check out the game. Nice work.

  8. Dammage
    Dammage
    May 1, 2015 at 2:53 am

    Glad to hear this game actually turned out pretty well, I was prolly gonna write off this game, but I guess I’ll get it when it’s closer to $40. Did you try remote play on the Vita?

  9. Akuma
    Akuma
    May 1, 2015 at 4:13 am

    Damn, the dilemma now… i’ve read bad reviews everywhere, even my japanese friends on Twitter found the game really “meh”, so i expected to buy it after a price drop. Now that i’ve read this review, i want it day on (which is today for me) What can i do? My money! ;)

  10. Longtooth
    Longtooth
    May 1, 2015 at 6:43 am

    Did you try the higher difficulty levels? Is the game still easy on the higher difficulty levels?

  11. Chris Gollmer
    Chris Gollmer
    May 1, 2015 at 10:05 am

    I have not since I was trying to get through the game as quick as I could. I wouldn’t imagine the difficulty skyrocketing drastically especially since the battle system, once fully unlocked is pretty simple to abuse. So for anyone with pretty good-moderate rpg experience should probably go with hard. I can try for a bit when I get the chance to play it to let you know if you’d like.

  12. Tromboner
    Tromboner
    May 1, 2015 at 11:51 am

    This is now definitely on the “for when I crack and get a PS4” list. Thanks for the review!

  13. Chris Gollmer
    Chris Gollmer
    May 1, 2015 at 11:56 am

    I have been reading some too which made me worry a bit of peoples reactions to my review, which I enjoyed the game in particular, especially with this being the first JRPG on the system it did a pretty good job. Value-wise, I would probably go for this on the $30-$40 range to be fully satisfied. Also if you like the formula of Idea Factory/Compile Heart games then this would be right up on your alley.

    If you are expecting entirely new and game breaking in the medium Then maybe not so much. From other IF/CH games, this was an improvement in design from their other titles for me, which I enjoyed more so then other reviews focusing on the negative aspects or being bored by the tropes the game follows. I won’t lie, my reviews are more lax since I work on games so I can understand the process a bit more of what they do to build them. If you do pick it up, I hope you like it ^_^ if you want to wait, I think $30-$40 is a good price for the title if you wait.

  14. Chris Gollmer
    Chris Gollmer
    May 1, 2015 at 12:19 pm

    The one that comes to my mind immediately is Mugen Souls Z, which Compile heart worked on but NISA produced it so I suppose that is the issue but in the game, you can go to the Mugen field to level characters crazily but also was needed to get the best ending in the game. The game would freeze randomly from 10-100 levels in losing the time and progression of the run.

    The issue was rushed to NISA but took a long time for them to verify and fix which was about 3-4 months after release. Outside of that, for other titles normally its just lag issues with too many enemies on field, adjusting the camera while moving. I was able to get stuck between two colliders in Fairy Fencer. I just remember Mugen Souls being highly infuriating haha.

  15. Chris Gollmer
    Chris Gollmer
    May 1, 2015 at 12:33 pm

    Not yet, it’s a bit sad. I bought a vita for my love of jrpgs and I was super excited about remote play but I just haven’t really taken advantage of it which I wish I did haha.

  16. Chris Gollmer
    Chris Gollmer
    May 1, 2015 at 12:34 pm

    Thank you. I hope you like it.

  17. ThePringus
    ThePringus
    May 1, 2015 at 1:42 pm

    Why, looking for a reason to whine about censorship

  18. Longtooth
    Longtooth
    May 1, 2015 at 2:36 pm

    That would be great. I heard that there where two higher difficulty levels, hard and very hard. Are they unlocked from the start?

  19. MusouTensei
    MusouTensei
    May 1, 2015 at 3:48 pm

    Because censorship is garbage and should never be accepted.

  20. ThePringus
    ThePringus
    May 1, 2015 at 4:20 pm

    You’re right it shouldn’t, but we get it.

  21. MusouTensei
    MusouTensei
    May 1, 2015 at 4:50 pm

    That’s why it’s important to know which games are censored and which aren’t.

  22. Dammage
    Dammage
    May 1, 2015 at 6:44 pm

    Yeah, I’m hoping to play most JRPGs via remote play so I don’t have my roommates questioning the moe on my big screen TV

  23. Audie Bakerson
    Audie Bakerson
    May 1, 2015 at 6:53 pm

    Male protagonist in female focused games always ruin everything don’t they?

  24. Chris Gollmer
    Chris Gollmer
    May 1, 2015 at 10:59 pm

    Yeahhhhh, It’s a shame, I really do enjoy playing a male character normally but when the story really should have focused on the ladies and then kept inching more to make Takt important was displeasing but if they were trying real hard to get him involved in the story and be integral towards the maiden’s progression, it would be hard to not give him more and more limelight. If they didn’t make him playable and really made him weaker, I think that would’ve solved a few issues.

    It was definitely put in there for the male/female relationship mechanic and made it feel like a traditional VN with some fun and awkward moments for sure but I think it cost the chance of a more powerful story.

  25. Chris Gollmer
    Chris Gollmer
    May 1, 2015 at 11:02 pm

    Thank you, I appreciate it! If you like IF/CH games, this will be good in a familiar alley.

  26. Landale
    Landale
    May 2, 2015 at 3:18 pm

    Advanced Difficulty is quite insane. They’re not lying when they advise against it for the first playthrough.
    You’re not likely to get to use Harmonics against bosses, especially not to the scale where you can just destroy them, lining anything up takes a miracle.
    Bosses, and to a lesser extent rare monsters, will spam Order Break against you at points to utterly demolish you. It becomes a very real concern about Takt’s limits. Do you use his attack to, almost futilely, push their turn back? Do you use his solo guard? Do you save it all for group guards? That rare shot at Harmonics, will it be worth it?
    Buffs and debuffs become a very important thing to keep track of. In this video here I’d just gotten to the point where they were a thing to keep in mind so I was fumbling around a bit trying to keep track of what I needed to do. Not helped at all by some of the odd name choices for the stats, hard to keep in mind what’s what because of that.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LDkkYq3pfQw

  27. Landale
    Landale
    May 2, 2015 at 3:36 pm

    Honestly he’s protagonist in label only. He’s no more the protagonist than Ayumi is. They’re both there in relatively minor capacity for gameplay, though you can block her out, and they hold about as much relevance outside of combat.
    Basically the perspective is from his point, but the role of protagonist would be better stated to be Otoha. He doesn’t even register as the deuteragonist, that’s Aria.

  28. Fenrir007
    Fenrir007
    May 2, 2015 at 4:01 pm

    Looks neat, but 2 things prevent me from playing it: lack of japanese voices and, more importantly, lack of a PS4.

  29. Landale
    Landale
    May 2, 2015 at 4:05 pm

    One thing prevents you from playing it.

  30. Fenrir007
    Fenrir007
    May 2, 2015 at 5:53 pm

    I know, the lack of japanese voices is really egregious.

  31. Chris Gollmer
    Chris Gollmer
    May 2, 2015 at 9:34 pm

    I translated it a bit different, because it kept going into takts perspective with manager work filling in ayumi’s position, raising affection between the maidens, having secret powers over the maidens While switching back to otoha’s rise into being a popular and successful maiden. I would’ve wished they treated Takt like ayumi where he was more so in the background through feeds and mainly controlled otoha throughout the title.

    By the way, thank you landale for answering all of those questions others have asked, I wouldn’t have been able to touch the game till very late in the night to give a good answer

  32. Tromboner
    Tromboner
    May 3, 2015 at 3:03 am

    I like their games quite a bit generally, and a co-worker/friend of mine has recommended the game thus far. A used PS4 comes out at work for $350 ($320 after employee discount) so I might think about picking one up soon.

  33. landlock
    landlock
    May 4, 2015 at 4:54 am

    I believe Shopto.com in the UK ship to Germany and NISA/IF games always ship on Tuesday before the Friday release since they use the same distributor Not much good now but maybe in the future. ;)

  34. Mr. Despair
    Mr. Despair
    May 4, 2015 at 8:44 pm

    Wait, he just showed you it HAS japanese voice-overs. I’m confused :S

  35. Fenrir007
    Fenrir007
    May 4, 2015 at 10:01 pm

    Well, shit, I answered it in the Disqus tab, and that has no pictures showing.

    I also just noticed I missed the “I liked it and kept it on” on the article.