Quantcast

I Am Setsuna Review – Bittersweet Nostalgia

i am setsuna 06-28-16-(1)

From a small corner of the vast Square Enix empire comes a little team named Tokyo RPG Factory, with a mission to harness all the nostalgia for golden-age isometric JRPGs.

I Am Setsuna is a melancholy blast from the past set in an oppressive world semi-resigned to its own demise – and it’s the kind of console game the niche community has been crying out for.

i am setsuna 08-14-16-4

The time is definitely ripe for a modern update of the classics, but I Am Setsuna still needs to stands on its own snowy feet in order to feel truly relevant.

Speaking of the classics, Chrono Trigger and the 16-bit era Final Fantasies are unmistakable influences, worn rather brazenly on Setsuna’s sleeve.

The battle system especially is straight out of the former. It relies on ATB gauges that, while full, start to fill a separate ‘momentum’ gauge, adding a nice risk-reward mechanic.

Attacking with a momentum point and hitting an easily-timed button press (a la Lost Odyssey) will add additional effects, from applying a debuff to all enemies instead of the one, to simply piling on another element of damage.

Battles also start immediately with no transition from visible monsters on the world map. In general it’s got pace, some enticing combo strategies, but it often feels fairly shallow.

i am setsuna 08-14-16-3

However, there’s another system that adds some much needed, menu-based depth to the combat. Each character can equip an item with a variety of slots to fit ‘Spritnite’ into.

These are essentially Final Fantasy-esque espers, but experimenting and choosing between attack, support and passive Spritnites for each character is key.

And more, each has a variety of permanent effects they can add to a Spritnite, when that skill is used enough in battle, so there’s always an incentive to try out new skills, combos and gear load outs to generate a balanced set of buffs.

It never quite reaches the tactical highs of something like Final Fantasy VIII and it’s not quite as fast paced or stylish as Persona (4 especially) but it does occupy a nice middle ground with plenty of room for min-maxing.

Especially welcome is the difficulty curve – grinding is possible (for rarer materials used for crafting Spritnite) but not essential to progress, which keeps the game feeling fluid and accessible.

i am setsuna 08-14-16-1

So, what’s the narrative that necessitates all this brawling? It’s certainly a triple distilled JRPG plot. There’s a titular red-headed girl whose weapon of choice is a chakram, and she needs to be sacrificed in the ‘Last Lands’ to appease the ‘monsters’.

She’s evocatively known as ‘The Sacrifice’ and bears the responsibility with dignity – pride even – and rapidly assembles a rag-tag guard of misfits to accompany her.

For example, the masked mercenary whom the player first controls (and who’s hardly a protagonist, tasked as he is with killing the Sacrifice) is strong, silent and begrudgingly finds his good streak. There’s a kid mage. A kunoichi girl with a cute panda hat and a big attitude.

It’s kind of hard to tell whether the blend of stereotypes is a fond homage, lazy storytelling, or straight up satire on a genre famously resistant to change.

Perhaps all three, perhaps unintentionally. Each character’s lore does slowly unspool (without half hour long cutscenes thankfully) and they’re predictably revealed not to be as 2D as the sprites that influenced them.

i am setsuna 08-14-16-5

Along the way, you’ll also encounter other small personal stories and hitches in your plan. One city has an unhinged governor whose plan you’ll need to thwart to unlock your way for example.

Or, before the kid-mage Kir joins your party, you’ll have to spend a little time in his remote village and uncover the strange secret its inhabitants hold.

Depending on your patience, you’ll be pleased that these fly by, stopping you from getting bogged down in one area for too long, or on the other hand, it’ll all feel too brief and shallow.

Avoiding spoilers, of course things aren’t quite as they seem and after roughly the 5-6 hour mark the mystery does start to amp up. Although, in hindsight, the drip-feed is a little too slow.

As with all the above, and plenty more aspects of Setsuna, it’s clear that a love of the classics and their particulars has overridden modern design thinking in a number of ways.

Why is saving still restricted to the world map and occasionally before a boss? Is anyone really going to scum-save their way through a JRPG?!

i am setsuna 07-14-16-(2)

Why bother having dialogue choices that don’t matter beyond giving you the barest of chances to role play, between ‘act surprisingly kind for your tough demeanor’ and ‘be a jerk like everyone expects’? What’s the point in an arbitrary experience system, where the most exciting aspect of leveling up is replenishing your HP/MP?

And hands up who really loves random chests scattered about, including ones you mysteriously can’t open until later and therefore force you to remember where they were?

It’s artifacts like this that Setsuna had the opportunity to innovate around whilst keeping the core feeling faithful, and they’ve all been woefully ignored.

However, they’re not game breakers. The snowy setting is gorgeous and cozy, the characters are charming if a little slow to develop, and the soundtrack, while a little piano-heavy, suits the mood. There are flashes of wry humour and at the very least, the writing very rarely grates.

i am setsuna 05-25-16-1

All told, I Am Setsuna is an easy recommendation for those hungering for a rigidly classic experience, with lush graphics and a fluid, polished battle system that isn’t going to stress you out too much.

Yet, if you love JRPGs but think they need to leave the rose-tinted glasses behind, I Am Setsuna might not scratch the itch. It’s a shame it’s not more forward thinking but perhaps, should it do well, it could be exactly the thing to start bridging the gap towards a modern JRPG renaissance.

I Am Setsuna was reviewed on PlayStation 4 using a digital copy provided by Square Enix. You can find additional information about Niche Gamer’s review/ethics policy here.

The Verdict: 6

The Good:

  • Gorgeous, wintry atmosphere
  • A classic, nostalgic formula influenced by the best.
  • Snappy combat with some interesting strategic combinations
  • Seamless and minimalist – doesn’t bog you down in hours of cut-scenes or dialogue.

The Bad:

  • Combat often feels easy – but with big difficulty spikes
  • Missed opportunities to innovate on classic mechanics
  • Soundtrack can become overbearing
  • NPCs are usually throw-away.
  • Stereotypes aren’t usually given another of a twist.
, ,
D S Wadeson

About

Writer and producer for The Last Night. Occasional journalist. Vegan. Feminist. Co-host Uncaring Unicast.




Comment Policy: Read our comment policy and guidelines before commenting.
111 comments
  1. Cy
    Cy
    August 14, 2016 at 12:51 pm

    This seems like a collection of almost everything I hate about JRPGs.

  2. deadeye
    deadeye
    August 14, 2016 at 12:58 pm

    I’d say being unambitious is the games biggest fault. It rigidly adheres to a specific way of doing things.

    I still found it an enjoyable experience. The pacing is quick, you never get bogged down by frivolous things, and there’s no grinding. Also, I guess I’m one of the few people that found the soundtrack to be completely amazing.

    In terms of nostalgic driven RPGs I found this to be better than, say, Bravely Default.

  3. Smug
    Smug
    August 14, 2016 at 1:04 pm

    Cant say I regret selling back my Vita copy

    What a “my vidya is ART and 2deep4u” turd

  4. Eldhin Hellknight
    Eldhin Hellknight
    August 14, 2016 at 1:17 pm

    Some people reported controller issues on Steam and many fanboys got más over them because that. What the hell

  5. VLOCKUP
    VLOCKUP
    August 14, 2016 at 2:04 pm

    Can’t really agree with you about the soundtrack. I really like piano and piano centralized soundtracks but this feels average. Nothing special. In comparison, Child of Light OST is better than I Am Setsuna.

    Of course it is subjective but just saying my thoughts about the soundtrack is all.

  6. Uncle Ocelot
    Uncle Ocelot
    August 14, 2016 at 2:11 pm

    The snowy setting looks comfy, I might still check it out during a sale. Hopefully TRPGF’s next game is better though.

  7. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    August 14, 2016 at 2:27 pm

    Guess I am one of the few who refuses to take their rose tinted glasses off because I am throughly enjoying this game. Or maybe its thrist, the thrist for a traditional JRPG in a glut of ARPG’s with overly complex mechanics. I thought Bravely Default would satisfy my thrist but censorship got in the way. I will admit it’s no Chrono Trigger and feels predictable (due to the large amount of JRPG’S I’ve played) but it’s somewhat comforting since I can adapt so quickly. I guess the expectations I had coming into this game were different I wasn’t expecting a re-invention of the wheel or something just a solid experience and that’s what I got.

    Despite being predictible it’s a solid game overall an 8/10 for me.

  8. Hayate D. Nimbus
    Hayate D. Nimbus
    August 14, 2016 at 2:32 pm

    And hands up who really loves random chests scattered about, including ones you mysteriously can’t open until later and therefore force you to remember where they were?

    ***raises hand***

  9. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    August 14, 2016 at 2:33 pm

    “Vegan. Feminist.” – ouch.

  10. Brandon Orselli
    Brandon Orselli
    August 14, 2016 at 2:36 pm

    Hey, don’t hold it against him – he’s actually a pretty cool guy :p

  11. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    August 14, 2016 at 2:42 pm

    If anything I am used to them. It kinda reminds me of Lunar Silver Star lol.

  12. passthegrenadeplease
    passthegrenadeplease
    August 14, 2016 at 2:55 pm

    That’s sort of a pet peeve of mines, its like a carrot on a stick where I can’t do anything but look at the chest. I know I’m not backtracking to get whatever those chests contained, gonna ignore them like the plague.

  13. Madbrainbox
    Madbrainbox
    August 14, 2016 at 3:01 pm

    Especially if you come back for it later only to get 100 coins and a health potion.

  14. Hayate D. Nimbus
    Hayate D. Nimbus
    August 14, 2016 at 3:09 pm

    Hmm itd b a nasty design mechanic to have one of these types of chests turn mimic late-game hmmm…..

  15. Hayate D. Nimbus
    Hayate D. Nimbus
    August 14, 2016 at 3:09 pm

    itd b a nasty design mechanic to have one of these types of chests turn mimic late-game hmmm…..

  16. Random Dude
    Random Dude
    August 14, 2016 at 3:27 pm

    Welp, that’s disappointing.

    This review is rather hard to read with all those commas and full-stops though.

  17. TomatoDragon
    TomatoDragon
    August 14, 2016 at 3:40 pm

    I’m about 3/4 through this game and I’ve really been enjoying it. Nostalgia aside, I just really like the art style and the music.

  18. BaronKrause
    BaronKrause
    August 14, 2016 at 3:42 pm

    I think they greatly overestimated how many people wanted to play a sad game that had a singular sad ending.

    Having a vision for a story and sticking to it is awesome, but it doesn’t always translate into something other want to play.

  19. FreshSnug
    FreshSnug
    August 14, 2016 at 3:45 pm

    I can excuse vegan. I will never excuse “feminist.”

  20. Smug
    Smug
    August 14, 2016 at 3:46 pm

    >being a feminist in [current year]
    ha

  21. 日塔 奈美
    日塔 奈美
    August 14, 2016 at 3:59 pm

    I hope they get a chance to make another one lol.

    Was gonna get this on PC, but I’ll try Vita instead so I can play in bed or wherever.

  22. GamesGoodMeGood
    GamesGoodMeGood
    August 14, 2016 at 4:00 pm

    I’ll take your word for it Brandon.

    Not being rude, but if he starts any of that gender politics crap in his future reviews I would be very wary.

  23. bdp
    bdp
    August 14, 2016 at 4:05 pm

    I thought about getting this then decided to get chrono trigger on the ds for half the price.

  24. Jumanji Joe
    Jumanji Joe
    August 14, 2016 at 4:11 pm

    That’s how they always act. Cool at first, but as soon as you loosen the leash a tad bit they start dropping review scores because not enough minoritys and to many white people.

  25. Jumanji Joe
    Jumanji Joe
    August 14, 2016 at 4:14 pm

    “A vegan feminist”
    It’s only a matter of time before the “gamers don’t have to be your audience” articles start popping up.

  26. ThatOneGuy
    ThatOneGuy
    August 14, 2016 at 4:47 pm

    As long as he isn’t one of those tumblr tier, men are evil feminists, I have no problem.

  27. Smug
    Smug
    August 14, 2016 at 4:49 pm

    implying rational feminists exist

  28. Brandon Orselli
    Brandon Orselli
    August 14, 2016 at 4:53 pm

    I would NEVER let that happen.

  29. Brandon Orselli
    Brandon Orselli
    August 14, 2016 at 4:53 pm

    I would NEVER let this happen. Trust me.

  30. Brandon Orselli
    Brandon Orselli
    August 14, 2016 at 4:54 pm

    Hmmmm, I’m a stickler for run-ons.

  31. Pirate Booty
    Pirate Booty
    August 14, 2016 at 4:58 pm

    These disorders are related. Veganism results in a lack of B12 vitamins, which affects cognitive abilities. When one can’t think straight anymore, irrational ideologies like Feminism take over the mind.

  32. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    August 14, 2016 at 5:04 pm

    So do you prefer the first wave terrorists or the second wave fear mongers?

  33. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    August 14, 2016 at 5:18 pm

    You better not Brandon.

  34. GamesGoodMeGood
    GamesGoodMeGood
    August 14, 2016 at 5:33 pm

    Should let him give a second opinion review on DOAX3 and also the controversies surrounding it.

    Should be interesting on what he has to say about it.

  35. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    August 14, 2016 at 5:49 pm

    I’d perfer more feminists like Christina Hoff Sommers, Camille Pagila, or Karen DaCrow.

  36. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    August 14, 2016 at 5:50 pm

    Agreed. I came here to escape that bullshit.

  37. GamesGoodMeGood
    GamesGoodMeGood
    August 14, 2016 at 5:54 pm

    True, but they’re pretty much unicorns in feminism though.

  38. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    August 14, 2016 at 6:25 pm

    They are the exception rather than the rule and even they perpetuate lies that women were oppressed by men.

  39. GameZard
    GameZard
    August 14, 2016 at 6:27 pm

    The only thing I hated about the game was they lack of choice. No matter what dialogue you choose it really don’t affect the game. The ending proves how much the lack of choices suck.

  40. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    August 14, 2016 at 6:32 pm

    Supporting an ideology that hates 50% of the human race is pretty suspicious.

  41. DizzyGear
    DizzyGear
    August 14, 2016 at 7:33 pm

    Tales of Zestiria is guilty of this with its locked chests you cant open and blocked off pasages you cant reach until you gain some field skill. It really sucks the fun out of exploring side dungeons early in the game.
    Especially since by the time you do get the keys and skills to fully explore those places the monsters are trivial and the contents of the chests are often crap.

  42. sanic
    sanic
    August 14, 2016 at 8:34 pm

    The price tag was enough to turn me off.

  43. MusouTensei
    MusouTensei
    August 14, 2016 at 9:51 pm

    Too expensive for a digital only game.

  44. InfectedAI
    InfectedAI
    August 14, 2016 at 10:26 pm

    Interesting fact; he’s the writer for The Last Night, a game by Odd Tales. They’re headed by the Soret brothers which gained a small bit of notoriety by being openly pro Gamergate incurring the wrath of the usual suspects. Just something to consider.

  45. Joe
    Joe
    August 14, 2016 at 10:57 pm

    Particularly for $40. It should have been $20. Journey was $14.99 when it came out for gosh sakes, and that was 100 times the game.

  46. Joe
    Joe
    August 14, 2016 at 11:00 pm

    The best snowy environment ever in a JRPG is the Icicle Inn town in Final Fantasy 7. Like or dislike this game, you can’t deny they did a masterful job with the cutaway house interiors showing the surrounding snow that made you feel both cold and warm and cozy at the same time. Square was at its peak back then doing prerendered environments, coming off Super Mario RPG and then on to Parasite Eve.

  47. Anontastic
    Anontastic
    August 15, 2016 at 1:42 am

    Shouldn’t it be “archetype” instead of “stereotype” at the bottom?

  48. AT-LOW
    AT-LOW
    August 15, 2016 at 2:00 am

    You fuckers are thankfully a dying breed. Those mechanics and decisions are a pain in the ass and do nothing to improve the quality of the game.

  49. scemar
    scemar
    August 15, 2016 at 2:27 am

    you’re a cool dude

    let us judge people by their actions and by their actions alone
    give all a fair chance and all

    however for the record feminism is cancer
    JUST SAYING

  50. Feniks
    Feniks
    August 15, 2016 at 4:13 am

    Nice, a classic JRPG with a depressing story. But 40 euro is too much. I’ll bite at 20.

    I mean you can get TitS for that money.

    Happy to see games still get made that aren’t about multiplayer online bullshit.

  51. DS Wadeson
    DS Wadeson • Post Author •
    August 15, 2016 at 6:06 am

    I’m not interesting in controversies. I just want good games. Did I talk about Setsuna’s politics or the gameplay mechanics?

  52. DS Wadeson
    DS Wadeson • Post Author •
    August 15, 2016 at 6:07 am

    I’m afraid that’s factually incorrect. Not that I’m interesting in going into it because it has nothing to do with whether I Am Setsuna is a good game.

  53. DS Wadeson
    DS Wadeson • Post Author •
    August 15, 2016 at 6:07 am

    Me too. My personal beliefs (being vegan etc) have absolutely zero impact on how I write about games.

  54. DS Wadeson
    DS Wadeson • Post Author •
    August 15, 2016 at 6:12 am

    I’m used to them too, but even Trails In The Sky put a spin on them by having unique dialogue options when you click on them a second time. Here they’re just…pure homage and combined with a few other things it started to annoy me.

  55. DS Wadeson
    DS Wadeson • Post Author •
    August 15, 2016 at 6:12 am

    Yeah, I love Zestiria but this pissed me off about it too!

  56. DS Wadeson
    DS Wadeson • Post Author •
    August 15, 2016 at 6:13 am

    Yeah, I mean I pretty much totally agree.

    I didn’t dislike the soundtrack at all. I just expected a bit more!

  57. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    August 15, 2016 at 8:07 am

    Your lifestyle is bullshit, just sayin’.

  58. chaoguy
    chaoguy
    August 15, 2016 at 10:35 am

    Always stand your ground. If you find yourself arguing against him more often than not, then you know what to do.

  59. ProxyDoug
    ProxyDoug
    August 15, 2016 at 10:43 am

    We are Setsuna

  60. lucben999
    lucben999
    August 15, 2016 at 12:10 pm

    Simply trying to recreate the past never seems to result in a truly great game. IMO all of these games with retro influences should try to take the old formula and improve it instead of just trying to imitate it, look a little beyond those influences and try to take them to the next logical step. I don’t want games frozen in time, I just want derailed genres to get back on track.

  61. Bitterbear
    Bitterbear
    August 15, 2016 at 12:13 pm

    Why is everyone moist for the art direction of this game? Everything looks like an HD port of the DS version of the FF: Crystal Chronicles game.

  62. Evropi
    Evropi
    August 15, 2016 at 2:09 pm

    Games (and fiction in general) with sad endings can be brilliant. Don’t instinctively recoil from them.

    Aristotle wrote in Poetics that sad endings are necessary for tragedy (which in Aristotle’s terms, covered a much larger spectrum of fiction than we might think of today) and I think most would agree with him. Of course, they have to meet certain conditions like providing catharsis (a term he popularised for use in such a fashion).

    Yeah, IAS is not a good sad game, but there can be great sad games that get more out of having sad endings (e.g. Metal Gear Solid 3).

  63. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    August 15, 2016 at 3:05 pm

    How is that any different from some of the folks on the other side, that give rave reviews to mediocre games, simply because they stick it to feminists? I mean, the internet if filled with assholes on both side that “review” games based on political ideals.

  64. deadeye
    deadeye
    August 15, 2016 at 3:07 pm

    You’ll have to forgive most of the people here, they see the word “feminist” and it gives them uncontrollable fits.

  65. totenglocke
    totenglocke
    August 15, 2016 at 4:22 pm

    It doesn’t show the profile blurb on the mobile site. Fuck, I thought this was the one gaming site free of the SJW scourge.

  66. totenglocke
    totenglocke
    August 15, 2016 at 4:25 pm

    That’s why Gaben gave us Steam sales.

  67. InfectedAI
    InfectedAI
    August 15, 2016 at 5:12 pm

    You being the writer/producer is factually incorrect or the rest of it? If it’s the rest I’ll have to look things up again, it has been a while. So apologies if I got something wrong.

  68. Jumanji Joe
    Jumanji Joe
    August 15, 2016 at 6:21 pm

    “give rave reviews to mediocre games, simply because they stick it to feminists?”
    Ah yes, the “we are the same!!!!” argument. Provide me with examples or your post will be considered a meme.

  69. DiggerKnicks
    DiggerKnicks
    August 15, 2016 at 7:24 pm

    >Vegan Feminist

    LOL!!! Fuck this sinking ship, I’m getting off.

  70. Brandon Orselli
    Brandon Orselli
    August 15, 2016 at 7:32 pm

    I want to make it clear that while we may have guest, occasional, or regular contributors that may not share the same politics as the majority of our staff – I REFUSE to let personal politics infiltrate their way into our coverage and our review process.

    Please, don’t make this out to be something it’s most certainly not. I’m in charge, I always will be, and I have zero tolerance for that sort of thing.

  71. Brandon Orselli
    Brandon Orselli
    August 15, 2016 at 7:34 pm

    Please see my featured comment about this.

  72. patyos
    patyos
    August 15, 2016 at 7:39 pm

    I Am Setsuna seems pretty cool xD

  73. Mr. Capo
    Mr. Capo
    August 15, 2016 at 9:25 pm

    You mean games like DoAX3?

  74. buddyluv324
    buddyluv324
    August 15, 2016 at 9:45 pm

    Seriously. If people are going to get triggered over someone describing themselves as a feminist, then we’re not really any different nor better than the extreme progressives that try to push this stuff. Keep your wits, people.

  75. Agrias Oaks
    Agrias Oaks
    August 15, 2016 at 10:15 pm

    I just think you should be careful, Brandon, it’s not that reading a twitter description like that makes me think that the person is bad, but 99% of the times they are.

  76. djluke_1993
    djluke_1993
    August 15, 2016 at 10:39 pm

    Yeah I wouldn’t take this comment seriously at all. Seems it’s only a troll account.

  77. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    August 16, 2016 at 12:03 am

    I could point to various threads on GameFAQs that complain that when a game like Gal Gun gets mediocre reviews, it’s because of the game’s content rather than its quality… Or I could post comments here about the hype the game was getting here for the sole reason that it was coming out uncensored. But chances are, you’d find some reason to dismiss it, so I’m not sure that I should waste my time.

  78. FreshSnug
    FreshSnug
    August 16, 2016 at 1:36 am

    Feminists are scum. The whole “oh if you dislike the enemy then you’re just like them!” argument is bullshit.

  79. buddyluv324
    buddyluv324
    August 16, 2016 at 3:29 am

    most of the 3rd wave feminist are annoying sure. I dont think that this is the case with the review of the game and theres some people in here jumping the gun

  80. Etherblaze
    Etherblaze
    August 16, 2016 at 7:38 am

    I thought it was boring. The gameplay isn’t great. It’s barebones and sometimes a bit annoying (sometimes pushing left to select the left character doesn’t work because their models are positioned differently compared to the menus underneath; this frustrated me greatly especially with a game using something similar to ATB) I understand it was trying to mirror classic RPGs like Chrono Trigger but if it’s not really going to strive beyond that then meh.

  81. Etherblaze
    Etherblaze
    August 16, 2016 at 7:43 am

    Threads on gamefaqs and comments here aren’t “rave reviews”. They’re comments. Find articles/actual reviews that give games good reviews to stick it to feminists.

  82. DS Wadeson
    DS Wadeson • Post Author •
    August 16, 2016 at 7:52 am

    You’re totally entitled to that belief. Let’s just focus on my thoughts on Setsuna, which is a very interesting game to discuss :)

  83. DS Wadeson
    DS Wadeson • Post Author •
    August 16, 2016 at 7:53 am

    I am the writer/producer, but the rest is very inaccurate.

  84. glasssoldier
    glasssoldier
    August 16, 2016 at 12:19 pm

    I think the game was beautiful and though it was a bit short, I loved every second of it.

  85. InfectedAI
    InfectedAI
    August 16, 2016 at 3:48 pm

    I don’t have the time to check it any time soon, but I’ll have to look things up again sometime. Thanks for the heads up.

  86. InfectedAI
    InfectedAI
    August 16, 2016 at 3:54 pm

    I find the fact that you have a game developer reviewing another studio’s game more interesting. Is that a conflict of interest? Also is him writing for you a CoI considering you’ve covered a game he’s currently working on? How will him writing for you affect future coverage of his game ‘The Last Night’?

  87. not Jaime Lannister
    not Jaime Lannister
    August 16, 2016 at 5:50 pm

    I don’t know why people are giving him shit about being a vegan or feminist as long as it doesn’t impact what he reviews or details in the game.

    although im curious how many cut scenes there are, I do enjoy a bit of them in my jrpgs

  88. FreshSnug
    FreshSnug
    August 16, 2016 at 7:41 pm

    You don’t know the half of it. Anyway I’m saying that feminists are the scum of the Earth, and that I’d throw a party if every last one of them met a painful end.

  89. buddyluv324
    buddyluv324
    August 17, 2016 at 3:04 am

    Ok, but my question is whats that got to do with the review of the game? From what I’m reading on the review, the author seems to be doing his job well enough.

  90. FreshSnug
    FreshSnug
    August 17, 2016 at 1:12 pm

    I never took issue with the review. I took issue with the author.

  91. buddyluv324
    buddyluv324
    August 17, 2016 at 2:04 pm

    Then the author should be irrelevant since he didn’t seem to show any sort of disrespect or has misbehaved in any way yet. The last thing this site needs is yet another hugbox that get triggered over any little thing we may not agree with.

  92. Fear Me I Am Free
    Fear Me I Am Free
    August 17, 2016 at 5:58 pm

    > I REFUSE to let personal politics infiltrate their way into our coverage and our review process.

    That’s fine and dandy, but you gotta make sure that your guest don’t do it either.

  93. FreshSnug
    FreshSnug
    August 18, 2016 at 7:28 pm

    The author is a feminist. The author is my enemy. He’s supporting a movement that has quite frankly, destroyed fatherhood, and continues to destroy lives. As far as I’m concerned the only place he belongs is hell. I couldn’t care less if he’s competent enough to refrain from inserting his feminist bullshit in a review at this point. I care that he’s a feminist at all. No one has to agree with me, in fact I don’t expect anyone to. I’m always the outlier, and I’m on my own side.

  94. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 20, 2016 at 4:27 am

    So Setsuna’s beautifully subtle piano OST is overbearing is it? Overbearing like Feminists?

    I kind of wish this “review” had a thumbs down option.

  95. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 20, 2016 at 4:29 am

    I wouldn’t expect a ‘cool guy’ to rag on Setsuna’s absolutely gorgeous soundtrack…

  96. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 20, 2016 at 4:33 am

    I seem to recall plenty of us shitting on stuff like Hatred and DoAX3 when they weren’t up to par, even despite our enthusiastic support for their right to exist.

    Sean Sharpe is just a sycophantic apologist and confirmed faggot.

  97. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 20, 2016 at 4:34 am

    Way to back up the untrue point you were attempting to make.

    You are very pathetic.

  98. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 20, 2016 at 4:35 am

    Some things are unforgivable.

  99. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 20, 2016 at 4:39 am

    The reason that I read Niche Gamer is because I am a refugee from Destructoid, after that site got pozed into the ground by SJWs.

    Hiring feminists to write for NG is kind of like if the government of Israel started hiring former Nazi’s into government positions.

  100. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 20, 2016 at 4:40 am

    I couldn’t have said better myself. Fuck him!

  101. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 20, 2016 at 4:43 am

    It’s a fantastic game. The reviewer sounds like a huge faggot.

  102. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 20, 2016 at 4:49 am

    Expected more, like what? A fucking marching band?

    This is inarguably the best soundtrack in a SE game since FFXIV, and I personally feel that this is even better than that. It’s probably my favourite SE soundtrack since Crisis Core.

    What more fitting a soundtrack could have possibly been composed for a frigid winter-themed game like Setsuna than one consisting of delicate piano pieces?

  103. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 20, 2016 at 4:50 am

    It looks better when playing than it does in videos.

  104. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 20, 2016 at 4:51 am

    You are starting to annoy me.

    6/10

  105. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 20, 2016 at 4:52 am

    The game is fantastic!

  106. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 20, 2016 at 4:56 am

    I couldn’t have said better myself.

    Way to write for someone other than your audience, DS Wadeson!

  107. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 20, 2016 at 4:59 am

    Sounds like you had the same experience that I did. It’s currently Winter in Australia, so playing Setsuna in my duna while it was pouring with rain outside is pretty much the perfect way to experience this game!

  108. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 20, 2016 at 5:00 am

    It would have been better not to have had the dialogue options if they weren’t going to do anything.

  109. Braian Silva
    Braian Silva
    August 23, 2016 at 1:36 pm

    You guys are way worse than the author. Fucking cancer get out of my site.

  110. FreshSnug
    FreshSnug
    August 23, 2016 at 10:03 pm

    So weak.

  111. ceyefu
    ceyefu
    September 4, 2016 at 9:29 pm

    My Aunt Julia got a nice 9 month old BMW M5 Sedan just by some part time running online with a cheap laptop.
    Learn More====> http://www..makemoney10.comllll