Quantcast

Fire Emblem Fates Review – Love Has Died

fire emblem fates 03-06-16-1

Fire Emblem Fates is a game developed by Intelligent Systems, the latest in a series with a long standing history of being some of the best tactical role playing games on the market. In this generation of the series, two games were released that were part of the same story, depicting two different sides of one important choice.

The choice that’s made will change not only how the game is played and its intensity, but the entire aesthetic feel of the game.  While I personally feel this was a nice idea in practice and has a bit of precedence with a similar game in the series (Fire Emblem: Sacred Stones) I don’t feel like this game lived up to its own history, or its fans.

This game follows Corrin (the player’s avatar) as a prince or princess to the kingdom of Nohr, a militaristic country that is known for its lack of personal resources and harsh environments. This character is asked by their father to check on one of the rivaling countries towers to see just how operational their defenses are. While you’re there a conflict starts that eventually throws both countries into conflict, while you personally are captured by the enemy (Editor’s Note: Our review is covering only Birthright version).

After being captured by the enemy you’re brought to the royal family of your rivals, only to discover that you were originally kidnapped by the Nohrian king and that you are actually their long lost family member. You are eventually forced to decide between which family you will choose to side with, either the Medieval Germanic Nohrian Family that had raised you from the time you were young, or the Eastern Hoshido Family that had been looking for you for most of your life.

fire emblem fates 03-06-16-15

I personally chose to support Hoshido for this review, due to the fact that I wanted to savor my time with Nohr which is generally considered the harder of the two versions. This is due to the fact that the Nohr has many aspects cut out of it, such as the ability to grind in between levels, as well as a much lower level of money. This is to force the user to make hard choices on which characters to focus on and how they want to develop their army. Hoshido, on the other hand, allows you to level your characters between chapters and generally gives you easier mission objectives.

This might have been a mistake on my part due to the fact that I felt so much of what made me love this series was missing from this game. I loved the challenge that I got from constantly having to rethink my strategy going into a level, or the challenge from missing an almost sure hit and knowing that everything that I had planned was screwed because my entire strategy was ruined. Most of the staples of the game seemed to be lost in some way shape or form.

There was no desert level where hidden items are laying about, or high risk enemies that can be converted into allies by having the right character talk to them (outside of one). Even the weapon triangle and weapon management has been completely changed. Now instead of weapons having a certain number of uses, they’re permanent but come with certain weaknesses. While in some regards this does offer its own challenges, it lowered the risk of over using certain characters and generally running out of money and weapons. It also allows for certain enemies to constantly be used as XP fuel.

Other gameplay mechanics bothered me as well. Many of the old aspects of the game that I came to rely on didn’t really have much significance in the overall structure of the game. One thing in particular is the use of non-standard game overs. In the fifth chapter you are tasked with fighting an enemy that could be considered much stronger than yourself, while at the same time, one of your biological brothers is fighting an enemy that’s fairly one sided. In order to save him, you have to mow through the enemies and end the battle before your brother dies.

fire emblem fates 03-06-16-2

I believed this was the case as much of the time in previous games royal members must be protected at all times or you will receive a game over. So I threw myself at the enemy as fast as I could in order to save him. He died seven times, and each time I reset the game in order to save him, thinking that if I didn’t he would either be gone for good, or that I would have a game over. On the hard setting this was nearly impossible for my current set up. Frustrated I went online to see if it even was possible and I had discovered that it didn’t matter if you saved him or not, he would come back later as a playable character. I couldn’t believe this gross departure from determined history, but that wasn’t the end of my frustration.

In previous games, any unique enemy that wasn’t a boss could be convinced in some way to become your ally. Sometimes you needed to talk to them with a certain character, or had them survive a chapter, but 9 times out of ten they’d become your ally. This wasn’t the case for most of the named enemies in this game. I honestly felt like a chump the first time I saw one of the enemy’s retainers, I thought there would have to be some way shape or form to win them over, but there was nothing. You were supposed to fight against them and win. What I had learned through killing an enemy in a previous game was just them getting away to fight again. These core gameplay choices frustrated me because it spat in the face of all the games that came before it.

This isn’t to say that I didn’t enjoy the game.

I felt the sound direction was slowly but surely moving in the right direction. The musical performance by Rena Strober was strong and has been stuck in my head for a while. The voice acting was also fantastic in most of the cutscenes.  However, I will say that many of the decisions to place soundbites over text did seem off.

A character is frequently speaking through text and we hear their voice and it lacks the tone and context of what’s being said. Often the things that are being spoken have nothing to do with what is written at all.  For example, in this game two of the characters purposefully wound each other in a traditional form of showing loyalty. This a serious act and displays tremendous respect for one another, however, the vocal cues for this scene are cheerful and this completely clashes with the serious tone of the conversation.

fire emblem fates 03-06-16-8

I did enjoy the cinematics of the game. It made me enthusiastic about what the 3DS could perform. The cutscenes were far above what could be done on awakening, and happened more often as well. To add on full scale conflicts onto this fact is phenomenal and really helps to showcase the differences between the two countries.

One of the best additions that this game brought to the table was the use of 3D face tracking to create a character interaction that actually looked alive rather than the static images that the series has been known for. When they announced that the player could interact with the characters I was pretty happy because through contact you would grow attached to the characters more.

It seemed like a great addition, but sadly in the version that I had played this aspect of the game had been completely cut from the final release. While aspects of this are still within the game, the actual interaction with the character where you could see the full reaction, characteristics, and quality of the animation style that Intelligent Systems put forth, is gone.

This wasn’t the only thing that was taken out or changed though. Many of the conversations between characters that improve their bonds were also changed along with a considerable amount of dialogue that actually made their characterizations worse. I’ve seen ninjas only speaking in ellipses and dragons speaking in memes (Editor’s Note: You can find lots of examples here).

There are references to the Simpsons, The Karate Kid, and several other things that really don’t fit within the game. This wouldn’t have been bad if the translation team actually took the time to proof read their script before putting dialogue into the final game. I couldn’t help noticing the many grammatical errors within this game and it just made everything seem rushed.

fire emblem fates 03-06-16-11

It wasn’t just the grammatical errors that made the game feel rushed. After Fire Emblem: Awakening, children of characters that fell in love in the game became an active part within the game. In Awakening this made sense due to the fact that the game involved time travel, however there is no time travel in the Fates games. In order to include children into this game, the developer chose to place the children into pocket dimensions that appear to be much faster than the games time.

This was explained in one small scene, and then never really used again. To me this was another example of just how rushed this game actually is. When your only explanation for how children are grown up and fighting with you is that you had to throw your children into a hyperbolic time chamber, maybe it’s time to go back to the drawing board and see if children actually fit into this universe.

The worst thing this game does however is pretend to be a complete game. While the story is able to be closed with the ending of the game, too many mysteries are left unanswered to truly say you fully understand what’s going on. To get a grip on these mysteries and find the truth behind the base games you have to be willing to play all three sides.

This requires that you pay 20 dollars more for the second game, and 20 dollars on top of that to get the third game that was only released to those willing to purchase the special edition of the game (Editor’s Note: or separately as standalone DLC). That’s double the amount of money for what could have been put on one cartridge.

When you add downloadable content that has character classes within (one of which is a fan favorite) and Amiibos (that have unique characters and classes) on top of this you are left paying around 150 dollars for the full experience. To ask this much of fans is an insult to the trust and dedication that has been built by the fans of the series.

fire emblem fates 03-06-16-14

To say this game has significant issues is an understatement, and the blame can’t be placed on one team. These issues range from simple gameplay mechanic choices that go against much of the internal logic the game was founded on, story issues that seem to have no place existing in the game in the first place, localization issues butchering the grammar and flow of many important points, and a business practice that uses and abuses its customers. While this isn’t the worst Fire Emblem game I’ve played, I can’t in good faith suggest people buy this game as it is.

Fire Emblem Fates was reviewed on the Nintendo 3DS using a retail copy purchased by Niche Gamer. You can find additional information about Niche Gamer’s review/ethics policy here.

The Verdict: 6.5

The Good: 

  • Animation is one of the best on the 3ds
  • Voice acting is great during cutscenes
  • Unique Direction with style is a great change of pace

The Bad: 

  • Grammar errors distract from the overall enjoyment of the game
  • Incomplete story archs requiring the purchase of other games to be complete
  • Series mainstays and personal history ignored
  • Localization changes ruin the tone and flow of many important events
, ,

About

I am a research student with a history in psychology. I am a fan of tactical rpgs and I love to travel. I hope to one day be a clinical psychologist.



247 comments
  1. Anderino
    Anderino
    March 6, 2016 at 11:56 pm

    I’m curious what you would rate the original version without the cuts and localisation changes. I really liked the japanese version, but I also played Nohr so it was different.

  2. Alejandro Castaneda
    Alejandro Castaneda
    March 7, 2016 at 12:01 am

    I would severely disagree with this review if It wasn’t for the fact that I had played Conquest before Birthright. You see, as someone who was used to traditional Fire emblem, you should’ve chosen Conquest LIKE THEY HAD TOLD YOU MULTIPLE TIMES! But instead you chose Birthright. A game that is easy and boring at times. And while I do frown upon censorship overall, I don’t think the “Petting” mini-game should’ve been in the game in the first place. It sounded creepy and just very out of place. And while yes the grammatical errors are there and need to be addressed, neither of the games ever felt segmented. They both felt like fully fledged games well worth the 20 dollar asking price. And to top it off, the weapons triangle and the weapon durability being changed felt good to me. Like something I no longer had to worry about. I didn’t have to worry about one of my best weapons breaking, or if my army was readily stocked the entire time. I do agree with some points you make sir, but a lot of this just feels like you’re bashing every single snippet you can find.

  3. Hirasugi
    Hirasugi
    March 7, 2016 at 12:05 am

    So far I’ve been playing Birthright and I have to agree. The game is just boring and poorly written. And this is coming from a guy who’s played nearly all of the fire emblem games (a few more than 3 times)…but this game just feels rushed

  4. Carlos Roberto
    Carlos Roberto
    March 7, 2016 at 12:20 am

    I like how most of the review isn’t about gameplay. And the bad points at the end are all about story. This reads almost like a Polygon review.

  5. VLX
    VLX
    March 7, 2016 at 12:36 am

    This is a fair review imo. Many problems here and there, but ultimately functional with a great art style, that’s it.

  6. Deebs
    Deebs
    March 7, 2016 at 12:43 am

    most of it is about gameplay. Also story and characters are still grounds which should be touched on when reviewing any game where applicable.

    Finally your end point isn’t even true. They complain about nonsensical mechanic changes, Lack of challenge, bad voice acting, then they touch on the bad story and characters.

  7. Spectrumpigg
    Spectrumpigg
    March 7, 2016 at 12:51 am

    Absolutely bullshit. $150 just to get the complete package? That’s Call of Duty levels of rip off. No wait. That’s EA levels.

    What I don’t get is why Nintendo chose to alienate the one audience that would buy the games in the first place. It’s like they hate money.

  8. Tyrannikos
    Tyrannikos
    March 7, 2016 at 1:04 am

    I see you’re already attracting the NDF with this review.

  9. Audie Bakerson
    Audie Bakerson
    March 7, 2016 at 1:04 am

    “In previous games, as long as the enemy wasn’t a boss, and they had a name, the enemy could be convinced to join your side.”

  10. sanic
    sanic
    March 7, 2016 at 1:16 am

    I borrowed a buddies copy and lent him project x zone 2, remember when EA put a guy in dragon age that tells you hey we got an adventure over here but you gotta pay $7 for it, that’s what it felt like with chapter 6 options, except it’s $25 and they’re selling 2 versions… and amiibos are like microtransactions which EA did in some games except that these are not very micro and hard to find without going to a scalper, also they don’t work without an adapter for those without a New 3DS.

    Also I don’t remember EA censoring a game and inserting meme’s to be family friendly.
    Nintendo did such a shit job I ended up praising EA.

  11. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    March 7, 2016 at 1:17 am

    Thank you for bringing that line to my attention. I’ve made the line clearer!

    THAT GUY! That was one of the main reasons I hated that game so much. He had no reason to die and it made me so angry! I had forgot all about him! Thank you for reminding me!

  12. SuuLoliBoob
    SuuLoliBoob
    March 7, 2016 at 1:18 am

    I believe this alone deserves 4.8 outta ten.

  13. sanic
    sanic
    March 7, 2016 at 1:21 am

    Are you new to SRPG’S? And did you not play awakening? Because the gameplay is the same as awakening, and SRPG’s all have grid based combat where you take turns acting, with slight twists on the format such as the combo system of agarest wars.

  14. TheMaverickGamer
    TheMaverickGamer
    March 7, 2016 at 1:41 am

    A well-written review. I enjoyed reading it. I bought the Special Edition at launch, but haven’t touched it yet. I only paid $65 for it on Amazon with the Prime discount, so I got a pretty good deal for all three games. The reasons I haven’t played it yet are because I’ve been busy with Digimon Story Cyber Sleuth (which I just finished) and Project X Zone 2 (which I’m 13 hours in and loving it), and that I’m sort of apprehensive given everything I’ve read about the piss poor localization. I have no doubt that the core gameplay is fun, but all of the bad things Nintendo of America did when bringing this west is probably going to diminish the experience.

    Hell, given how Nintendo has been acting as of late, I can’t help but say that this will be the last title of their’s that I will ever buy new off of a store shelf. If I want to play their games, I will buy them pre-owned to make sure that they never, ever make a penny off of me for any game that they publish ever again, regardless of whether they censored or cut content from the game or not. It’s clear that a message needs to be sent and this, I feel, is the best way to go about it. Hopefully, they’ll come to their senses soon.

    Sorry for the wall of text. Again, great review.

  15. Krimhelm
    Krimhelm
    March 7, 2016 at 1:48 am

    There’s that word again, “creepy.”

  16. deadeye
    deadeye
    March 7, 2016 at 1:52 am

    The cutting of content is unfortunate (really, I don’t think the petting mini game adds anything meaningful to the game but cutting it is just unnecessary), and the changing of a lot of the script is pretty shit, but really the thing that irks me more than anything is having to buy two games to get the full experience.

    It really seems to go against the point of what making the two versions was supposed to be (one being for veteran fans and is harder and more varied, the other being more for just fans of Awakening). The price is one thing, but it’s also just slogging through so many levels.

    That said, I’ll probably pick up at least Conquest as some point. From what I’ve seen, some of the gameplay changes look pretty neat and it doesn’t seem to suffer from many of the issues I had with Awakening. This game actually seems to try to improve upon a series that hasn’t changed very much in a long time whereas Awakening was almost purely pandering.

  17. Krimhelm
    Krimhelm
    March 7, 2016 at 1:57 am

    And people say they enjoy the changes because it’s obviously not effecting their choice of going towards a character that’s catered towards them. Everyone else is just background, and these types of people don’t care about background characters as long as they can waifu/husbando their virtual SO. Who cares about character development when we can spout memes and make fun of people being “creepy.”

    The more Treehouse butchers products, the more disconnected we become with the original writer(s) intent, and the more disconnected we become from Japan.
    How can these kinds of people enjoy the full story if all we’re getting is a synopsis of the main event with fanfiction off to the side? Might as well just skip to the ending and ignore everything that happens in the middle amongst fictional characters.

  18. TheCynicalReaper
    TheCynicalReaper
    March 7, 2016 at 1:59 am

    You’re a real forgiving guy, Gulley. Can’t say I agree, but I do appreciate your in depth review. Nicely done!

  19. TheCynicalReaper
    TheCynicalReaper
    March 7, 2016 at 1:59 am

    Also
    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

    THAT LINK TO THE COMPILATION OF RUINED DIALOGUE, CHARACTERS AND STORY BY TREEHOUSE BURNS ME

  20. アントナント
    アントナント
    March 7, 2016 at 2:08 am

    ” I don’t think the “Petting” mini-game should’ve been in the game in the
    first place. It sounded creepy and just very out of place”
    Your mom is creepy

  21. アントナント
    アントナント
    March 7, 2016 at 2:15 am

    “how dare you to protect me shitlord”

  22. TT
    TT
    March 7, 2016 at 2:50 am

    I appreciate the fairness of the review that isn’t blind fanboyism.
    Honestly, I’ve heard too many bad things about this, that I don’t think I would get it(which is a shame). I don’t solely mean the edits(though it is still a big issue), the pricing of the games leaves a bad taste. Not to mention this of course being tied in with the other unnecessary things that’s been happening with other games like Xenoblade and Fatal Frame(both of which I was actually really excited for).

    The biggest gripe though I have is the fact that the story and character changes come off really half-assed/lazy. Like spelling errors, the complete changes of dialogue, turning characters into one dimensional jokes and seriously what the fuck is up with the memes? I can tolerate a few mistakes and poor edit choices, but this is reminding me of the One Piece 4kids dub.

    On a last unrelated note, I find it funny that in light of recent news, that people who hated the fact the petting minigame(which was completely optional) was removed were being dismissed as creepy. Yet they’re being harked by a group of people who at the very least have a pedo-supporter as PR… like seriously, what the fuck? And charging full price for something with cut content, fuck I like Nintendo, but they’ve been sucking hard lately.

  23. Derek
    Derek
    March 7, 2016 at 3:07 am

    Well Niche at least hasn’t descended the deepest end of hell aka Sankaku. If Polygon is on the other end of hell, the Sankaku is their antichrist.

  24. Derek
    Derek
    March 7, 2016 at 3:12 am

    Well the proof is in the pudding, The Professional Reviewers liked the game. My condolences for the horrible hackjob of a localization but sadly this is how the cookie crumbles since Kimishima is bent on kissing up to journalists who preview their games rather than the people who would buy their games.

  25. Derek
    Derek
    March 7, 2016 at 3:13 am

    Iwata’s era is over, Kimishima is as traditionalist as they come. Expect more hackjobs in the long run.

  26. Alejandro Castaneda
    Alejandro Castaneda
    March 7, 2016 at 3:25 am

    Is that really the best you could come up with? Come on. I’ll give you another chance, try again.

  27. TT
    TT
    March 7, 2016 at 3:25 am

    Does he? Damn, that sucks.
    And honestly the PR thing alone is enough to make me not want to buy any more Nintendo things. The fact she is being defended sickens me to no end. But I mean:
    -Xenoblade

    -Fatal Frame
    -Fire Emblem
    and soon Bravely Second and I did have an interest in the SMTxFE persona looking game. I WAS interested, but not anymore, I didn’t/won’t get them, plus I keep forgetting Devil’s Third is out. Like I’ve seen no advertisement whatsoever for that one. It’s just one bad thing after another.

    I think it’s going to implode at some point. Like I wish Torrential Downpour luck, but this has just been all kinds of nonsense with these “localizations”.

  28. アントナント
    アントナント
    March 7, 2016 at 3:26 am

    A stupid reply for a stupid comment.
    >showing affection to people is ‘creepy”

  29. Alejandro Castaneda
    Alejandro Castaneda
    March 7, 2016 at 3:27 am

    The fact that the “Petting” mechanic wasn’t just for your spouse but for anyone you invited into your private quarters is what made it creepy. If it was just regulated to your spouse, then that would be understandable. But what it originally was made me miss it less.

  30. Audie Bakerson
    Audie Bakerson
    March 7, 2016 at 3:36 am

    He actually lives and is recruited in the sequel.

  31. アントナント
    アントナント
    March 7, 2016 at 3:43 am

    It’ll go away when people stop buying shitty localizations. Except that won’t happen sadly. Most ‘gamers’ are either too stupid or apathetic to know and care what’s going on in the industry, despite their claims to love vidya as much as us.

    Every day, even if you tell someone about parts of the game being altered in translation (memes, to push the feminist/progressive agenda) or censored because of the localization team’s whims, they mostly shrug it off and say “eh, I didn’t care about that anyway.”, “it was creepy/problematic anyway” or “it’s released in english at least”, etc. Hence why NoA/TreeHouse, NISA, Sekai Project, 8-4 and their ilk will continue to butcher products for the western audiences. You cant trust blindly anymore any localization team for japanese games these days.

    The idea of “voting with your wallet” doesn’t work if we, like-minded people, are a small minority that still care about shit like this, no matter how small. It’s like no one has any passion for a hobby anymore.

    Seems like the sole answer to this issue is to learn japanese if you want to avoid this shit and get the product as fully intended by the devs.

  32. Bob Omb
    Bob Omb
    March 7, 2016 at 4:14 am

    kek, this is the last straw for me. Not even 4chan is this buttblasted about censorship. Hope you guys have fun circlejerking!

  33. Thomas Herman
    Thomas Herman
    March 7, 2016 at 4:18 am

    You wasted your time trying to save your “brother” they can’t die until they’re under your control or plot dictates

  34. アントナント
    アントナント
    March 7, 2016 at 4:23 am

    That’s because 4chan is invaded by Redditfags and Tumblr.

  35. Stilzkin
    Stilzkin
    March 7, 2016 at 4:40 am

    People like you are the reason this continues to happen

  36. アントナント
    アントナント
    March 7, 2016 at 5:19 am

    There is also this one. The translation is “technically” accurate but there is an obvious tonal difference (like it was pointed out in the review article). She is softer and more polite in the japanese version while Treehouse choose to alter it into the aggressive preachy feminist-tier tone

  37. Xekus
    Xekus
    March 7, 2016 at 5:22 am

    Keep enabling them buddy, you are the cancer who is letting them censor games over biased political ideology.

  38. Zanard Bell
    Zanard Bell
    March 7, 2016 at 5:56 am

    Possibly the kindest I could praise Fire Emblem Fates is that they did away with the weapon health mechanic. Since playing Sacred Stones, I never understood why they chose to do that. (Unless it was repairable.)

  39. Etherblaze
    Etherblaze
    March 7, 2016 at 6:46 am

    I love how people see the fictional affection as creepy. Murdering people is a-OK, though.

  40. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    March 7, 2016 at 6:49 am

    It is actually the second game of the 14 to be missing the mechanic.
    It had a purpose in prior games for adding more management and providing a purpose for skills which negate the effect, break weapons quicker and making legendary weapons special.

    In this game, they dropped the weight mechanic (well Awakening did it first >_>) and had to make up for it by adding other weaknesses to give players an excuse to carry multiple weapons.

  41. serpentear
    serpentear
    March 7, 2016 at 6:57 am

    “The worst thing this game does however is pretend to be a complete game. ”

    This. So much this. Everytime i argued someone how rip-off this is all i get is snarks like wth u mean this isnt rip off its 3 different games u just have to buy one etc. Yeah….3 different games with 1 overarching plot. In other words…yep, incomplete story.

    Thank god there’s fan translation, that way i dont need to pay nintendo any money.

  42. serpentear
    serpentear
    March 7, 2016 at 7:01 am

    Were u actually read the review? The gameplay is all there.

  43. serpentear
    serpentear
    March 7, 2016 at 7:06 am

    What’s so creepy about touching head and face of FICTIONAL characters?

  44. Firion Hope
    Firion Hope
    March 7, 2016 at 7:23 am

    The keyword is invite. Not force.

  45. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    March 7, 2016 at 7:29 am

    I’ll use you as a stepping stone. Here are the Fire Emblem Fates changes:

    http://imgur.com/a/X2w49

    This gets updated whenever there’s more.

  46. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    March 7, 2016 at 7:30 am

    Don’t worry, it gets updated whenever there’s something new to be added. :^)

  47. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    March 7, 2016 at 7:32 am

    The right word to use is “awkward” not “creepy”. “Creepy” denotes a sense of fear, there is no such thing during the petting minigame. “Awkward” denotes a feeling of embarrassment.

    But even then, you have to be utterly retarded to think that physical affection is “awkward”.

    As for the rest, you can disagree with the review if you want, I don’t care about that, I’m just here to correct your vocabulary mistakes and your pro-censorship streak.

  48. Kaihaku
    Kaihaku
    March 7, 2016 at 7:32 am

    I can’t say anything about Birthright, aside from the characters seem boring from the interactions I’ve had with them, but I’ve been enjoying Conquest. The missions remind me of FE7, so far several have been far more interesting than anything in Awakening.

  49. Firion Hope
    Firion Hope
    March 7, 2016 at 7:33 am

    Interesting review but I don’t think its fair to say its a Fates review without doing all 3 paths, should just be a birthright review. Especially with how drastically different they are. EG you claim theres plenty of money and weapons but in Conquest I didn’t find that the case at all.

    The weapon drawbacks I think are really good, especially on ranged melee weapons which have always been OP compared to bows. I found myself mostly using iron and steel even after silver was available, and struggling to choose whether to bring a enemy type specific weapon or not with the limited slots. Also I think you hold recruiting a little too importantly, its always been a bit annoying to me to have to have a guide open so I don’t miss characters, same for hidden items.

    I do think the story is weak if you only play one path, but the gameplay for conquest is among the best and most challenging the series has to offer. Glad you pointed out the terrible localization though

  50. bdp
    bdp
    March 7, 2016 at 7:34 am

    Harsh. I’d honestly give conquest a 9 just for the music and gameplay. Story is trash though and is basically just a tease for revelation.

  51. bdp
    bdp
    March 7, 2016 at 7:44 am

    i guess i should be glad i haven’t read some of these supports. The ones i’ve done so far weren’t this dumb other than Corrin and Camilla’s S rank where they repeat how they aren’t blood related 4 times. That doesn’t even happen in Elise’s so i have no idea why they did it there.

  52. Talpss177
    Talpss177
    March 7, 2016 at 7:49 am

    Oh, wonderful, I get to lose more hope in Nintendo every day.

  53. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    March 7, 2016 at 8:00 am

    THERE’S SO MUCH IN STORE, DEAR TALPS.

  54. Carl619
    Carl619
    March 7, 2016 at 8:03 am

    If we are lucky like others games, we may receive a final version with the 3 routes available.

    The story of Birthright and Conquest felt like a trailer to Revelation. About mechanics, it is true that Conquest is more difficult without replaying maps but in both games you can increase or decrease the difficulty, unless they one has more surprises that the other one, both should be possible for beginners..

    What I can understand is how people can be okay with this “official translation” and “corrections” that suffered this game just because some people find it creepy.

  55. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    March 7, 2016 at 8:05 am

    Good, no one needed you here anyway.

  56. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    March 7, 2016 at 8:05 am

    Probably 9/10.

  57. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    March 7, 2016 at 8:15 am

    Honestly I don’t know. I was upset with quite a few of the gameplay mechanics that really did frustrate me. I would have to play it myself to be a proper judge.

  58. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    March 7, 2016 at 8:20 am

    I hate this so much. I was under the impression that if you didn’t save your family during the first few chapters then they wouldn’t be available later on. It made me waste SO much time!

  59. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    March 7, 2016 at 8:24 am

    Oh well, I tried to guess. I’m not sure if anything changed from Awakening, but if it didn’t, the gameplay is average for me.

  60. Feniks
    Feniks
    March 7, 2016 at 8:26 am

    You know, this is highly personal but:

    I do NOT want a game’s story to be cut in two. I want the complete story and no I don’t want to pay for it twice. This just feels like a scummy trick.

    Give me the compete package for 60€. I am actually always willing to pay full price for a jrpg.

    But this feels like Bioware DLC: pay up if you want the full story and characters.

    Jesus imagine if in 1995 Westwood had released two versions of Command and Conquer.

  61. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    March 7, 2016 at 8:26 am

    You mean, a game’s story to be cut in THREE. Kek.

  62. King of Bros
    King of Bros
    March 7, 2016 at 8:45 am

    That’s because 4chan is cancer.

  63. Chocolate ISISCream
    Chocolate ISISCream
    March 7, 2016 at 8:59 am

    Yeah, I’ll be grabbing both games off Kijiji when then the content restoration patch comes out, and I’ll be using FBI to download all the DLC. I won’t feel bad, and Nintendo can go fuck themselves.

  64. psycho_bandaid
    psycho_bandaid
    March 7, 2016 at 9:25 am

    Actually, at least 300,000 people have bought the localisation so far. I don’t think it’s great, per se, but apparently it’s worked out for them.

  65. Tako Luka
    Tako Luka
    March 7, 2016 at 9:33 am

    To me

    it seemed like Revelations should have been the main game

    and the other 2

    10$ dlc

  66. Tako Luka
    Tako Luka
    March 7, 2016 at 9:34 am

    wut

    it is 80 bucks for the whole thing

    buy any of the two games and then pay 20 bux for the other 2 parts

    4 the full story

  67. Daryl Corey
    Daryl Corey
    March 7, 2016 at 9:34 am

    Well Revelation is the more typical way that story would play out in an FE game

  68. Tako Luka
    Tako Luka
    March 7, 2016 at 9:35 am

    I just wanted to have lesbian love with my non blood related

    sister

    why doesn’t Nintendo love yuri?

  69. Carl619
    Carl619
    March 7, 2016 at 9:39 am

    I doubt that most of them would know what kind of localisation they have. In fact, I doubt that if the game was most rue to the original the sales would decrease.

  70. Daryl Corey
    Daryl Corey
    March 7, 2016 at 9:40 am

    dunno they just seem utterly out of touch with the audiance look at the shit beasts in Treehouse at NOA they did not even know Alison Rapp was a pedo apologist until an anti-sex trafficking NPO pointed out her paper on her Linked in Profile and her pro pedo tweets. Nintendo has no clue what their own employees are up to let alone what customers want from their products The new Paper Mario game they announced being basicly Sticker Star 2 is another example Nintendo is just really out of touch right now

  71. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    March 7, 2016 at 9:41 am

    Pre-orders.

  72. Tromboner
    Tromboner
    March 7, 2016 at 9:54 am

    One of the things that’s been bothering me most as I play is the removal of weapon degradation. Am I the only one who misses that?

  73. Daryl Corey
    Daryl Corey
    March 7, 2016 at 9:55 am

    I kind of do but I play so many other SRPGs where that is non existant so it is less an adaption for me to get used to I guess

  74. Tromboner
    Tromboner
    March 7, 2016 at 10:00 am

    It’s not awful, it just removes that one extra layer of planning. Honestly there are times I’m happy that weapons won’t degrade, but I would have liked it to at least have been an option.

  75. djluke_1993
    djluke_1993
    March 7, 2016 at 10:08 am

    So you’re find with paying full price for a difficulty setting then for something that should of been included in one full game.

  76. Alejandro Castaneda
    Alejandro Castaneda
    March 7, 2016 at 10:16 am

    Awkward it is. Thank you for your correction. Though I do believe my mind is fully functional yet I do have a problem with inviting someone to my private quarters for some getting to know them things, yet suddenly I have the urge to pet their face? Physical affection I have no problem with. It’s that specific situation that I do.

  77. Captain Vidya
    Captain Vidya
    March 7, 2016 at 10:19 am

    I’m sorry that I want the same, full experience that people in the country the game was first released in had.

  78. アントナント
    アントナント
    March 7, 2016 at 10:29 am

    +200 bucks if you want everything in a single cartridge which is only available in the special edition.

  79. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    March 7, 2016 at 10:29 am

    “Physical affection I have no problem with. It’s that specific situation that I do.”

    So you have something against physical affection. Must be hard to be so contradictory.

  80. Maxwell Mineur
    Maxwell Mineur
    March 7, 2016 at 10:33 am

    They bought it because it’s the only option. Sales have never meant anything.

  81. Dgnfly
    Dgnfly
    March 7, 2016 at 10:37 am

    If games like this were unaltered i would have bought a 3DS right away, but seems nintendo doesen’t want my money.

  82. Guin
    Guin
    March 7, 2016 at 11:01 am

    Save yourself the money and grief. Pirate this shit and use fan translation!

  83. Guin
    Guin
    March 7, 2016 at 11:03 am

    Eh, I never liked carrying a bunch of steel swords in one character anyways.

  84. Guin
    Guin
    March 7, 2016 at 11:04 am

    >Self proclaimed SJW
    >Pro-pedo

    What in the actual fuck?

  85. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    March 7, 2016 at 11:27 am

    Can anyone really be that surprised that, even outside the translation, according to this reviewer it lacks some of the soul the franchise had? Awakenings marked a change in the franchise, away from a lot of what made it great, and shifted the focus to character interaction, particular pairing up characters… I mean, the writings was on the wall in the last game, that eventually Fire Emblem would lose a lot of what made it great before.

  86. PixelBuff
    PixelBuff
    March 7, 2016 at 11:32 am

    Fire Emblem is a shell of it’s former self, the last good entries were the GBA ones. The abysmal localization and censorship by Pedohouse is just the cherry on top of a shit sundae.
    If you are hungry for classic SRPG gameplay get the GBA ones, or download the early Shining Force games, they can be easily emulated.

  87. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    March 7, 2016 at 11:35 am

    Devil’s advocate…

    While I have no interest in Fates, since I Awakening didn’t have much of what I wanted in Fire Emblem, I plan to get Bravely Second.

    Why? Well, because I like the gameplay. Tinkering with the job system is fun and I like testing different build combinations until I settle on one that I think fits my play-style and the character.

    If the game isn’t called Fallout: New Vegas, Planescape: Torment, or Mother I’m not playing it for the story. I might, in some cases, enjoy the campaign for what it is, but gameplay is what keeps me invested. It’s why while I loved the plot and characters of Xenosaga, I’ve never played the third game – the first two where a slog to get through.

  88. Jettythesunfish
    Jettythesunfish
    March 7, 2016 at 11:35 am

    References to the Simpsons and Karate Kid? Oh geez, it was worse than I thought…!

  89. Daryl Corey
    Daryl Corey
    March 7, 2016 at 11:44 am

    Sad thing is the woman from the Wayne foundation is being harassed and smeared by games journos and sjws now for doing her job

  90. Feniks
    Feniks
    March 7, 2016 at 11:46 am

    Make war not love.

  91. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    March 7, 2016 at 11:47 am

    This is a picture I took that has the karate kid reference.

  92. Feniks
    Feniks
    March 7, 2016 at 11:47 am

    If 300000 jump of a bridge…

  93. Feniks
    Feniks
    March 7, 2016 at 11:51 am

    Ha yeah it’s even worse.

    Only Nintendo can get away with this :(

  94. Pilebunker
    Pilebunker
    March 7, 2016 at 11:51 am

    Imagine if Mother or New Vegas were handled by NoA, NISA, or 8-4. If there ever was a good story it would be butchered. That’s why we can’t support these people. Because even if we play these games for the gameplay. Years later people will reply these games and just see old memes and jokes no one can relate to. This garbage is worse than fan translations (or just as bad looking at the fan translation of Fire Emblem 4 and 5). They shouldn’t be getting paid for their terrible performance.

  95. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    March 7, 2016 at 11:54 am

    If you play the Japanese version, you dodge the localisation and edit issues and have a great game left over. It is a big ask, but I’m still saying that this is a massive improvement on Awakening to the point of being good despite having common ground with that game.

  96. Feniks
    Feniks
    March 7, 2016 at 11:54 am

    The story in Fire Emblem has always been an important part of the game. They don’t do those cutscenes for fun.

    This is not an ARPG like Diablo 3 were story is filler.

  97. Jettythesunfish
    Jettythesunfish
    March 7, 2016 at 11:54 am

    Wasn’t the original Japanese title all one game?

  98. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    March 7, 2016 at 11:56 am

    You aren’t. Most games in the series had it and there were skills tied to it.

    It would have been easy to implement an option, but then they would have to balance the amount of incoming enemies accordingly especially for Nohr.

  99. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    March 7, 2016 at 11:57 am

    Nope. It was split up to nearly the exact same pricing structure as North America.

    It would be especially odd if they charged NA more than Japan.

  100. chaoguy
    chaoguy
    March 7, 2016 at 12:01 pm

    Loved this franchise, completely heartbroken at what it is now. I’d have killed for a good “Medieval Japanese” Fire Emblem game, but not like this.
    I even (and am in complete minority on this) don’t like the new style Awakening started (though with what people are trying to do to the industry, I’ll happily buy “waifu games” if the game is good).

    Here’s hoping whoever tries to improve on the original formula does it better under a new IP.

  101. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    March 7, 2016 at 12:01 pm

    Prior to this game and Awakening, they had weight as a stat to balance against using stronger weapons. Drawbacks aren’t a bad idea, but they could be handled more organically.

    Speaking of missing characters. Birthright is the second game following Path of Radiance where you can lose a chance to keep a character if you don’t meet certain support conditions. Keep that guide on hand.

    Really appreciate someone putting a localisation under a microscope too.

  102. chaoguy
    chaoguy
    March 7, 2016 at 12:05 pm

    Surely traditionalist would mean “Care about your product and your audience” or do you mean more the 80s/90s era of “We don’t give a shit about the west, let the western branches do whatever they have to do to sell it.”?

  103. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    March 7, 2016 at 12:05 pm

    Plenty is changed from Awakening. To the point that I feel Birthright (Japanese version if it matters) is a favourite of mine but found Awakening to be lackluster.

  104. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    March 7, 2016 at 12:11 pm

    Except special edition wasn’t nearly as rare as it is in America.

  105. Go D. Usopp
    Go D. Usopp
    March 7, 2016 at 12:13 pm

    Im sure the game actually isnt great but a lot of this boiled down to “Its different which is bad” and without a proper reason why the new mechsnics are bad outside of “its not like old FE” im gonna chose to ignore those parts and read this as an 8

  106. Derek
    Derek
    March 7, 2016 at 12:16 pm

    The latter. So long as the press doesnt hate you, you can say “fuck the opinions of what the fans want”

  107. Tromboner
    Tromboner
    March 7, 2016 at 12:19 pm

    That makes sense. I haven’t played Conquest yet, so it might just be that it makes Birthright too easy.

  108. Mighty No. 56008
    Mighty No. 56008
    March 7, 2016 at 12:25 pm

    But he did give reasons. If you didn’t find them sufficient or convincing enough, fair enough.

  109. Mighty No. 56008
    Mighty No. 56008
    March 7, 2016 at 12:37 pm

    “And while I do frown upon censorship overall, I don’t think the
    “Petting” mini-game should’ve been in the game in the first place. It
    sounded creepy and just very out of place.”

    The key point is that this is how YOU feel. How about those who think all the content from the Japanese version should’ve been included in the Western release? How about those who feel “petting” is a perfectly ok thing to do? How about those who “don’t get it” but still are ok with it being in the game for those who do?

    The point is, what makes your feelings or opinions on the matter have more value or merit than someone elses? Why remove content so that none of us can enjoy it when the loud minority could’ve simply ignored the feature or the game entirely?

  110. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    March 7, 2016 at 12:43 pm

    ..

  111. Metafalica
    Metafalica
    March 7, 2016 at 12:50 pm

    I absolutely agree with this. I was lucky to get a special edition and would not have played the game either way. I’ve played up to Chapter 20 of Revelations so far and I can guarantee you neither Birthright nor Conquest is complete. Only by playing Revelations do you even have something that resembles a complete game. The first half of Conquest is literally the penultimate maps of Birthright in reverse order unless you count changing mob layout new maps. This means at least a quarter of the maps are shared between games, even more if you count all the paralogues.

    Conquest literally ends on a “To be continued, but let’s just forget about it.” If you can end on such a thing and call it a complete story, then that’s just BS. The only thing that makes it an ending is that “a new king has replaced the old one.”

  112. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    March 7, 2016 at 12:50 pm

    Pokemon blue,silver,green,and so on.They thought let’s try the same trick with FE and see how stupid Fanboys are.

  113. Guin
    Guin
    March 7, 2016 at 12:54 pm

    The third game redeemed itself and is actually the best considering it got the plug pulled.

    And lol why limit yourself to those 3 to find a good story in video games? I especially question the amount of Planescape dicksucking it gets on the net especially in WRPG pandering holes like the Codex. Seems like these days to have a “good” story there has to be “realistic” grimderp or thinly veiled “randumb” plot.

  114. Audie Bakerson
    Audie Bakerson
    March 7, 2016 at 12:55 pm

    This is one of those references that could work in the right context.

    Knowing NoA though it’s absolutely not in the right context.

  115. Stilzkin
    Stilzkin
    March 7, 2016 at 12:56 pm

    God bless America!

  116. Guin
    Guin
    March 7, 2016 at 12:57 pm

    Conquest by and large is the anti Awakening. It’s harder and doesn’t rely on cheap exploits as bad.

  117. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    March 7, 2016 at 12:57 pm

    Yep,ripping someone’s head with their spine off,totally ok,petting a face,creepy.

  118. Stilzkin
    Stilzkin
    March 7, 2016 at 12:57 pm

    They should fire the old hacks and let the Splatoon guys run the show

  119. Stilzkin
    Stilzkin
    March 7, 2016 at 12:59 pm

    What have they done to my Nohr-fu

  120. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    March 7, 2016 at 1:00 pm

    Take Nintendo’s dick out of your mouth and maybe we we might understand you better.

  121. Stilzkin
    Stilzkin
    March 7, 2016 at 1:01 pm

    tfw we will never have another FE4.

    The only game that handled the waifu element in a non shit way. The excuse they use in Fates to have children is even more retarded than in Awakening

  122. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    March 7, 2016 at 1:08 pm

    No one really cares though. Kek.

  123. Michael Lessley
    Michael Lessley
    March 7, 2016 at 1:14 pm

    Just wanted to say that while I agree that a lot of the localization seemed focused on making everything as bland and inoffensive as possible (though I did enjoy the game, supports went from my favorite part to my least favorite) this pedo myth irks me. The women in question wrote a paper a couple years ago about how Americans don’t get to pass judgement on Japanese culture. In it she used fictionalilzed sexual content depicting minors as the central example. In the paper she argued that Americans shouldn’t, and should not want to, censor Japan’s cultural works. Which seems to be what a lot of people who attack her actually want. Just because she can’t publicly go against the localization without losing her job doesn’t mean she is happy with it, or wouldn’t change it if she actually had a say. If people are angry they should focus on the management that actually worked on the team.

  124. Guin
    Guin
    March 7, 2016 at 1:17 pm

    I want my pre-2007 4chan back. The Anonymous movement ruined everything.

  125. Guin
    Guin
    March 7, 2016 at 1:21 pm

    While I loved Seisen no Keifu, I can’t out of good conscience say it handled it well. Here’s how it went basically:
    “Hey, guy you’re pretty cool.”
    “Yeah, you too. Let’s hook up!”
    “K ;)”
    At least the new games give more depth to why they now want to fug each other.

  126. Lezard Valeth
    Lezard Valeth
    March 7, 2016 at 1:22 pm

    Yep, Fair enough review, perhaps a little too kind in my eyes..

    “While this isn’t the worst Fire Emblem game I’ve played, I can’t in good faith suggest people buy this game as it is.”

    Totally agree with this too.

  127. Guin
    Guin
    March 7, 2016 at 1:23 pm

    It’s creepy when it’s anime. It’s “realistic” when it features Bethesda trademarked ogres.

  128. Guin
    Guin
    March 7, 2016 at 1:24 pm

    Solution: Burn the Treehouse and replace it with XSeed

  129. アントナント
    アントナント
    March 7, 2016 at 1:26 pm

    They made all the female characters acting like ‘strong independent women’ or meme-ing retards.

    Can’t let the kids being attracted to 2D, you know.

  130. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    March 7, 2016 at 1:34 pm

    Rather a promising seed over a hollow stump?

  131. Stilzkin
    Stilzkin
    March 7, 2016 at 1:35 pm

    No no, I mean just the children. You know, a timeskip instead of timetravel and dimension hopping or whatever just so they can talk to their parents

  132. アントナント
    アントナント
    March 7, 2016 at 1:35 pm

    As expected from the “Standards are subjective” faggot

  133. TT
    TT
    March 7, 2016 at 1:35 pm

    If she was talking about Japan’s cultural works, that’s a different story. Though somewhat vague, she has mentioned in her twitter multiple times talking about a kids “sexual agency”. That does not sound like she’s talking about fictional content.

    Now do I think she shouldn’t be allowed to speak her mind? As much as it irks me, she can say what she wants. But she should not be working in a company that prides itself on being family oriented, especially if she’s PR/marketing.

    Regardless, it was only an observation. I don’t believe she had any hand in Fire Emblem Fates, it was more of a side-mention on the irony of the situation(particularly the petting mechanic and calling people creepy for it.)

  134. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    March 7, 2016 at 1:37 pm

    Birthright is still plenty challenging in my opinion, though I don’t grind much (currently playing a second run – no children, no grinding, Lunatic + Permadeath).

    It could use some tougher objectives and other stuff, but the maps and mechanics are pretty sound. Especially when Awakening is on the same platform and I liked a SD G Generation 3DS game more than that.

  135. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    March 7, 2016 at 1:41 pm

    Put Tom and people like him in charge of Nintendo.

  136. Daryl Corey
    Daryl Corey
    March 7, 2016 at 1:46 pm

    just make sure the treehousers are locked in when you put the torch to the place don’t want the roaches scurrying out of the fire to find nests elsewhere

  137. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    March 7, 2016 at 1:46 pm

    I know this a localized line but what an ungrateful cunt.

  138. Daryl Corey
    Daryl Corey
    March 7, 2016 at 1:47 pm

    Here is something fun due to the way they are doing the DLC maps for $5 you can break the entire premise of the Nohr campaign’s supposed difficulty

  139. アントナント
    アントナント
    March 7, 2016 at 1:47 pm

    >Expecting Go D. Ussop to be smart anytime

  140. Krysanthia
    Krysanthia
    March 7, 2016 at 1:51 pm

    *plant an xseed*
    Fixed that for you.

  141. Michael Lessley
    Michael Lessley
    March 7, 2016 at 1:52 pm

    Hmm I just went and investigated yeah she does seem to be pretty fringe on her views. The paper in question is supposedly much more tame but either way I just wanted to bring up that perpetuating the mythos of her being a pedophile does nothing but distract from fan’s general interest in the inclusion of unfiltered Japanese culture in our games. I’ve seen way to much focus on her when she is an unrelated bit player in the larger scheme of things.

  142. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    March 7, 2016 at 1:53 pm

    If Tom were in charge of Nintendo alot of heads would roll.

  143. Ubrokemygrill?
    Ubrokemygrill?
    March 7, 2016 at 1:54 pm

    The problem is the hypocrisy both from Rapp and from NoA.
    If protecting children from “problematic content” is NoA’s goal, why does Rapp work there?
    If Rapp is so against censorship, then why wasn’t she against this game?

    It’s all a bunch of bullshit.

  144. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    March 7, 2016 at 1:57 pm

    And someone was arguing with me the other day this is the best SRPG he ever played.

  145. Guin
    Guin
    March 7, 2016 at 1:59 pm

    Wait, so you don’t pet your friends irl just for the hell of it? What a weirdo.

  146. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    March 7, 2016 at 2:03 pm

    So are my ears. >.<

  147. Guin
    Guin
    March 7, 2016 at 2:03 pm

    I don’t want to mention a huge spoiler in Seisen no Keifu, but I feel like they’d piss off a ton of people limiting them to play as only the kids now.

  148. TT
    TT
    March 7, 2016 at 2:04 pm

    I don’t have reason to believe she’s a pedophile herself, I only called her a supporter because of her defense and things she said, which heavily implies she’s ok with it. She can have her twisted beliefs, but she should not be working at a company like Nintendo, especially in something like PR.

    That aside, yes I believe the goal of getting them to translate properly is an important thing. But it seems the big issue of all this is Treehouse itself, at least in this instance of “localization” issues.

  149. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    March 7, 2016 at 2:07 pm

    Only one I could say that was worse than this one is Shadow Dragon.

  150. Michael Lessley
    Michael Lessley
    March 7, 2016 at 2:17 pm

    I don’t think they are trying to protect children, I think they are just controversy adverse.
    I can’t speak to Rapps views, but I doubt anyone at her level could speak out against the managements decisions and keep their job and I am sympathetic to that.To me the game doesn’t seem to suffer from lazy localization but rushed localization. The game has a huge amount of text and if you couple that with the amount of changes made by management the job of localizing becomes monumental. To me it seems that the real failure stems not from treehouse but from the upper management at NoA and Nintendo of Japan who have become far too risk adverse and profit driven. Which is why I am personally against attacking Rapp or the translators since that just shifts the blame away from the people really responsible.

  151. Michael Lessley
    Michael Lessley
    March 7, 2016 at 2:26 pm

    Yeah, I actually support some of the changes in theory but too much dialogue was just plain boring, flat and badly written which is a big issue in such a dialogue heavy game, I found myself skipping so much all the time. This is especially disappointing considering how high quality their localizations used to be. It just seems that the scope of the work is completely out pacing the size and capability of the department and NoA and Japan refuse to acknowledge it. The odd amount of secrecy and vaguely hostile work environment that management also pushes down on them also can’t help

  152. Ubrokemygrill?
    Ubrokemygrill?
    March 7, 2016 at 2:38 pm

    Of course they don’t want to protect kids. They don’t give a shit. You hit the nail on the head. My point was that Allison can hurt their image and brand yet they still keep here there. It’s a bit hypocritical.

    The localization is not only rushed, it’s lazy. Look up the “…” “…” dialogue. It’s beyond awful. NoA needs to be completely restructured imo.

  153. psycho_bandaid
    psycho_bandaid
    March 7, 2016 at 2:48 pm

    It means money for the company, which makes it much more likely that they are going to continue doing the thing that made them lots of money. Love it or hate it Nintendo has been sent a pretty clear message with this release–a lot of people don’t really care about the quality of the localisation, even when it’s this poor.

  154. Michael Lessley
    Michael Lessley
    March 7, 2016 at 2:56 pm

    keeping her seems more like fear of admitting their mistake, regardless on whether it is one. I would guess that she will likely quietly be transferred and then let go at some point. The ‘…’ convo speaks more to rushing imo but that is subjective. The game is filled with cut corners to make sure it got out quickly, if they wanted to be lazy about it they would have just removed even more content and a bunch of the supports. But really they should have delayed it a short while and increased the staff, especially the editorial staff, but I’ve never heard of Nintendo doing that in regards to localization. Which is a shame since it’s so important.

  155. Firion Hope
    Firion Hope
    March 7, 2016 at 3:09 pm

    Yeah but generally weight is only a consideration pretty early game, then its nothing. I find myself always having an excess of really good weapons to use whereas in conquest again I mainly used iron or steel (needed both since steel gimps speed) since silver becomes weaker than steel after a few doubles. They even made bronze somewhat viable with the dodge boost.

    And yeah I heard about the support thing, I have the guide open when I play but I don’t have to check it every single chapter.

  156. Eugenio Gil de la Madrid
    Eugenio Gil de la Madrid
    March 7, 2016 at 3:10 pm

    Let’s be seriouse here 300,000 isn’t much for a multi version game, specially on a handheld. Plus the last games that sold that much on consoles where considered a flop. NoA seems to be spinning BS in order to try and keep face. Treehouse messed up big time.

  157. Brimfyre
    Brimfyre
    March 7, 2016 at 3:11 pm

    I do and I don’t. Sometimes it got annoying to buy a bunch of the same shitty swords. I think rare weapons they should have kept it and with Grimoires as well. Anything magic based needs degradation. But Iron, Bronze Steel weapons shouldn’t have it.

  158. Derek
    Derek
    March 7, 2016 at 3:32 pm

    Unless you get a job at Treehouse TD is going to fall on deaf ears.

  159. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    March 7, 2016 at 3:53 pm

    No, unless you think no one bought two versions together. 300k sales is BOTH version together including specials.

  160. Feniks
    Feniks
    March 7, 2016 at 4:16 pm

    Ha yeah stupid fanboys! (full disclosure: I bought every piece of Mass effect DLC).

    Hello I am Feniks and I am an addict.

  161. Carl619
    Carl619
    March 7, 2016 at 4:51 pm

    The worst is that the reason of pokemon doing that was to promote playing with other people and have an incentive to change pokemon, and the pokemon exclusive are low. But here they went instead of making revelation the main game and conquest and birthright as alternative routes the pick the most important one as a dlc because here they would have all characters available at the beginning.

    FE Fates it is like other said like command & conquer, it is impossible to think that EA would make three different games for 3 campaign that could go in the same game.

  162. Johnathon
    Johnathon
    March 7, 2016 at 4:57 pm

    if you take the file size of each game.

    add them together and remove the fact that all share a good chunk at the start it all 3 could fit on the 1 cartridge according to rom hackers

  163. Khayla Harris
    Khayla Harris
    March 7, 2016 at 5:12 pm

    Sounds like this poster should have played through Norh. I knew what I wanted out of the game, so I went through conquest and if you’re a strategy player like me and feel that killing off useless characters and making hard choices makes the game with playing, then Norh is for you. Hoshido is just baby mode. Unless you’re using it to get super strong units for fighting other players.

  164. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    March 7, 2016 at 5:23 pm

    So in this situation it was greed combined with stupidity…a dangerous mix for a business.

  165. BurgerUnit
    BurgerUnit
    March 7, 2016 at 5:37 pm

    It’s a sign of immaturity.

  166. chaoguy
    chaoguy
    March 7, 2016 at 6:18 pm

    Well, keep supporting good websites and soon the faces of “the press” will change.

  167. Kaboom
    Kaboom
    March 7, 2016 at 6:43 pm

    See Mortal Kombat for details.

  168. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    March 7, 2016 at 6:58 pm

    That’s exactly what i wanted to get at.

  169. DariusQ
    DariusQ
    March 7, 2016 at 7:01 pm

    Sounds fair. I’m not far enough along into the game yet to really form a complete opinion but so far there’s nothing particularly special about Fates. Not even close to one of my top picks.

  170. Zombie_Barioth
    Zombie_Barioth
    March 7, 2016 at 7:15 pm

    Pokemon doesn’t go anywhere near that far though. They’re identical story-wise, you only miss out on a few Pokemon by only playing one, which can and are meant to be traded for.

    Fire Emblem Fates on the other hand is basically one big game ans story cut into three parts.

    They seem to copying other strategy games like StarCraft or Civilization, although seeing Pokemon sell like hotcakes probably did spark the idea.

    So yeah, greed and stupidity. Being Nintendo games you won’t be able to just wait for a price-drop either.

  171. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    March 7, 2016 at 7:33 pm

    Faggot stopped being an insult by the time I hit my sophomore year of high school, chief. You need to try a little better than that. ’cause if you think standards aren’t subjective, you’ve got pretty shitty standards for insults.

  172. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    March 7, 2016 at 7:45 pm

    There’s a difference between something being *good* and something being *enjoyable*. Most video games are enjoyable – but since most video games fail to use the interactivity that sets them apart from other mediums, its hard to consider most video games *good*. Even games with stories that could be considered by video game standards aren’t good by standards of other mediums; video games usually have stories that would work better in other mediums. Case in point, the Xenosaga franchise. It’s a damn good space opera, but its held by being tied to a particularly shitty video game. Had it been an anime/manga, or even a novel series, it would have been leagues better.

  173. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    March 7, 2016 at 8:05 pm

    Nintendo of America handled Mother 2, the best game in the franchise, back in an era when they translated censored *more* than they do today. They do a fairly good job when translating other games too; Splatoon and the Mario & Luigi games off the top of my head. And I don’t know how involved they were in Wonderful 101, but that’s great too. (Maybe the Treehouse should stick to games with a lot of humor…)

    And if the game and over all narrative hold up, any meme or otherwise dated joke doesn’t kill the game. Fallout 2 is still great, even if has a Monica Lewinsky joke. Which might have been funny when the game came out in ’99, but is less so now.

    I’m not sold on the fan translation either. I’ve read bits of it and there’s parts where the Treehouse version comes off less dry. But based on what I read, it didn’t the writing in general was all that great. More of Awakenings, which is not what I think is good for the franchise. But I might just be bitter in general that the franchise as a whole took a turn I wasn’t fond off.

  174. Zero Eternity
    Zero Eternity
    March 7, 2016 at 10:02 pm

    I’ve never looked at your review policies before but after reading them, I love ’em. I laughed at what a 1 or 2 means in terms of a rating.

  175. Jettythesunfish
    Jettythesunfish
    March 7, 2016 at 10:11 pm

    Honestly, it’s definitely something NoA would do. Especially considering what they’re doing with the compact version of the New 3DS.

  176. Jettythesunfish
    Jettythesunfish
    March 7, 2016 at 10:11 pm

    Yup. Worse than I thought…

  177. Guin
    Guin
    March 7, 2016 at 10:21 pm

    I dunno. Blaming the medium just seems like a copout excuse. If a product ends up really bad in one source, but ends up good in the other, then the fault lies with the staff involved. Take Goldeneye for example. Good movie that spawned a trendsetter video game. Let’s not even start with Visual Novels. The problem right now is that writers in every medium, even books, are following trends. Rather than “playing it safe” per se, they’re waiting for the mythical golden goose plot to ape it in anyway they can.

  178. Guin
    Guin
    March 7, 2016 at 10:24 pm

    I feel like they should’ve added an option for Hoshido with Nohr like objectives for those who prefer to side with them while enjoying a challenge and vice versa but eh, can’t have your cake and eat it too.

  179. TT
    TT
    March 8, 2016 at 1:47 am

    The lack of any information coming forth on the situation is disheartening, so I hope they do take a hit from this. Imagine if it was a guy that did this? Guaranteed an immediate termination and endless articles from the “journalist” rags. So I’m hoping they were just clueless about this.

    It’s really lazy. I’ve seen people try to defend with all sorts of excuses, more amazed just how blind some fans can be. Even more interesting how those same fans are now throwing conniption fits over the TD hashtag.
    “Oh well it was boring in the Japanese version, so they obviously spiced things up”
    “It’s only here and there, there’s some normal parts”
    “Yeah, well he liked pickled food…which of course means make him a one dimensional joke.”
    and so on…like I have no problem with people getting it, I might even import or emulate, but god damn these people are delusional.

    Only plus side I see, given how unhinged kotaku and the sjw are becoming from the hashtag, I imagine that it’s having some kind of affect.

  180. TT
    TT
    March 8, 2016 at 1:47 am

    should I spruce up my resume with dank memes to increase my chances?

  181. アントナント
    アントナント
    March 8, 2016 at 2:09 am

    Seems the insult still hurt your baby feelings enough to focus only on this.

  182. アントナント
    アントナント
    March 8, 2016 at 2:25 am

    So basically your claims to care about the gameplay are proven untrue.

  183. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    March 8, 2016 at 2:39 am

    The staff plays a part, but certain mediums can excel i particular methods of storytelling. Peter Jackson did an amazing job with Lord of the Rings, but the story is still best told in novel form since many events that happened in the book that were great moments would have killed any pacing the the movies would have had.

    Video games can tell good stories (in theory) but you can almost always find a similar story in another form of media that does what it does better and the games that I think genuinely tell good stories use the medium to its fullest. As I said with Xenosaga, it was something that could easily be done in another form and you wouldn’t lose anything. While I felt that way because the games themselves weren’t that great, it caused me to look at other games… And I personally began feeling that the key to a great *video game* story is some degree of interactivity.

  184. Stilzkin
    Stilzkin
    March 8, 2016 at 6:18 am

    Well, if any game deserve dicksucking it’s Planescape

  185. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    March 8, 2016 at 6:27 am

    I thought the Special Edition proved that already. Forget file size, unless that cartridge is made of gold or players are downloading a story or three separately when they get it.

    That’s all the proof you need. 6 chapters isn’t that much but as long as they are using the same general assets, it shouldn’t take that much space.

  186. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    March 8, 2016 at 6:30 am

    Not even Awakening?

  187. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    March 8, 2016 at 6:34 am

    It isn’t everyone but I came across comments from two users who said they forgot they preordered the game last year though they heard about the edits prior to release.

    I imagine a lot of games can back of this following E3 or a similar push. One of the two preordered the Special Edition and made a killing on it by selling it, so I suppose that one is happy at least.

  188. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    March 8, 2016 at 7:28 am

    Yeah, and it’s one less sale since the dude that bought it got an used copy :^)

  189. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    March 8, 2016 at 11:30 am

    While it was different, Awakening really scratched my itch to grind and it was pretty fun.

  190. chaoguy
    chaoguy
    March 8, 2016 at 11:44 am

    Are there any western games with actually attractive women that “trigger” the usual suspects when they are shown affection?

    Is it (in some cases) literally sub-concious jealousy over a fictional character being more attractive and getting more affection than them?

  191. chaoguy
    chaoguy
    March 8, 2016 at 11:53 am

    IIRC, the context was him saying “women shouldn’t have scars, they should be protected.”

    In the original, her line is closer to “I can hold my own, as can many women in this army” or “I want to protect others, not sit and do nothing.”
    Now THATS a pro-woman message. Doing heroic things and not using their gender to deride others.

  192. chaoguy
    chaoguy
    March 8, 2016 at 11:58 am

    Moots working with Google to revive Google+ now.
    I WANT TO GET OFF MR.MEMES WILD RIDE.

  193. アントナント
    アントナント
    March 8, 2016 at 12:00 pm

    The mind of a woman in a nutshell

  194. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    March 8, 2016 at 12:24 pm

    No, they are not. Since if I played games for story, I’d not be playing very many games. (And no story has every actually caused me to play a game.)

  195. Johnathon
    Johnathon
    March 8, 2016 at 12:33 pm

    they also share character models which is a majority of the file size and code for how the battles work.

  196. Carl619
    Carl619
    March 8, 2016 at 12:34 pm

    Not even that, in Starcraft 2 you can play with all races, unlike here, and revelations is the only one where you can see the reason of why everything happened. They made what sould be the main game a dlc and the ones that could be dlc in the main game.

  197. 萌えゲー
    萌えゲー
    March 8, 2016 at 1:22 pm

    Well compare 300,000 to GTA V’s 54 million. Nintendo treating FE Fates like Pokemon alienated the adults out there, who, you know, actually buy the games. It’s already an anime-esque title, something that turns a lot of people off anyway, so grabbing for the audience that wants something new, mature, and even ecchi, could get them closer to the millions. Right now all they’ve got buying are Nintendo fanboys, hipsters, band wagoners from Awakening, and those seeing just how bad the localization turned out.

  198. 萌えゲー
    萌えゲー
    March 8, 2016 at 2:05 pm

    I missed all these glorious confessions and feels, yet Treehouse still gets money for ruining them with memes and onomonpeia? FML

  199. 萌えゲー
    萌えゲー
    March 8, 2016 at 2:07 pm

    気持ち悪い。。。

  200. rudhvelyn
    rudhvelyn
    March 8, 2016 at 3:13 pm

    Are you telling me half the maps are just flipped? This is legit completely disguesting

  201. Bridgeoverthewater
    Bridgeoverthewater
    March 8, 2016 at 5:55 pm

    I think the trouble for me, at least, is more the strange discrepancy over how familiar and affectionate everyone is in a backdrop of blood and war. This isn’t new to Fire Emblem, but characters like Peri and to a lesser extent Camilla are good examples of how strangely macabre this can really get.

    By the same token, it’s very strange to “erotically” blow the steam away from a bath that was likely taken to wash off the grime and blood of a battle, in character and out. It clearly sells, but I think there’s a rational limit to having your cake and eating it too- even the shippers may eventually feel the narrative dissonance.

  202. Bridgeoverthewater
    Bridgeoverthewater
    March 8, 2016 at 6:20 pm

    This is unfortunately the kind of review I expect from nichegamer- it’s marred by the same issues I take with most moralist criticism; the focus is mainly on the narrative surrounding the game, as well as the presentation points. Localization and cost are important, but why stand on a point of order that the desert level must persist? Why complain that enemies are XP fuel when that is a feature of the path you took?

    I’m likely in the wrong place to take umbrage with those that feel this way, but this review barely mentioned the mechanics- one of his complaints, relying on a fallible neutral unit as a mark of departure from the norm of the series: are you kidding? Did you play the Zephiel mission in FE 7? Did Pent never die in the desert? Did you ever try to save Echidna’s suicidal ass in FE 6 (even on normal?)

    For all the faults of its localization and the questionable nature of its pricing, the variation on partner-ups, the improved map design, the improvements to archers… well, mostly it applies to Conquest, but it’s still worth mentioning. Even the infinite uses let them make interesting weapons like the Tomahawk as 2 rng only or the “extra damage on crit” weapons. The staves are also much better organized.

    If for no other reason than you’d probably enjoy it more, go play Conquest. It’s a rare review that skirts around the periphery of a game’s content as much as this does.

  203. Zombie_Barioth
    Zombie_Barioth
    March 8, 2016 at 7:08 pm

    It just goes to show they don’t at all understand how or why these models work. They just see Pokemon selling 20K copies or people willing to spend $120 on a series of expansions.

    What’s really amazing is they actually had the gull to try this only one game after Awakening saved the entire franchise from sitting in IP limbo.

  204. Derek
    Derek
    March 9, 2016 at 5:28 pm

    I am talking about this in a serious tone. You are an outsider and Niche has none of the clout or prestige to make a difference in the opinions of Nintendo. If you want to see a clean translation you have to join treehouse with the right credentials

  205. Kylen
    Kylen
    March 10, 2016 at 1:03 pm

    As someone who has played both conquest and birthright only about 4 of the maps are flipped, and the ones that are usually have completely different enemy layouts and objectives.

  206. Kylen
    Kylen
    March 10, 2016 at 1:21 pm

    Couldn’t of said it better myself.

  207. Kylen
    Kylen
    March 10, 2016 at 1:24 pm

    I agree with this. In my opinion it should be

    Normal: Staves degrade
    Hard: Staves/Tomes/Hidden Weapons Degrade
    Lunatic: All weapons except important ones (Yato, Seigfired, Fujin Yumi etc.) degrade

  208. TT
    TT
    March 10, 2016 at 4:33 pm

    I figured you were, but honestly, what could I really do? Even if I were to somehow get a job there, from everything I’ve heard about how incestuous that aspect of the industry is, I just don’t think it would be worth it. Either way, let’s say I get in, I imagine I would have to face the hurdles much like some of the so called journalists, so would it even be worth it? I like games, but that would be too much, even for me.

    I suppose I could just make do with the fan-translation patch, but that in itself is a bit of work and really aggravates the issue of how I have to get something at the very least decent from fans, because the official stuff can’t seem to do the job properly. A few jokes and errors I can handle, but in this case, amateurish is a light way to put it.

  209. Derek
    Derek
    March 10, 2016 at 8:23 pm

    It has to start somewhere but in the end it’s your decision if you want to make history or not.

  210. Jack Omally
    Jack Omally
    March 10, 2016 at 11:23 pm

    Thank you guys for keeping true and calling out the localization on this. If I knew how to do patches on my 3ds I would probably do it so I could just get the Fan translation

  211. Zeroroute
    Zeroroute
    March 11, 2016 at 12:09 am

    8-4 is fine if Nintendo isn’t involved

  212. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    March 11, 2016 at 9:35 am

    Mortal Kombat should add a skinship mini game which can be played after performing a decapitation! :D

  213. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    March 11, 2016 at 9:42 am

    Standards are demonstrably subjective, on account of yours being so dismally low that you feel the need to repeatedly come out and bat for abject dreck!

  214. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    March 11, 2016 at 9:42 am

    The faggot is also a cuck.

  215. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    March 11, 2016 at 12:34 pm

    Standards are subjective because when it comes to entertainment, you enjoy what you like, and don’t enjoy what you don’t – and that’s all there really is to it. Maybe you should base your judgement on people based on how on things that are more important than their favorite consumer media, hmm?

  216. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    March 11, 2016 at 1:10 pm

    You enjoy shilling for entertainment media which has been thoroughly ruined by a localisation team who had no part in its original creation – that tells me everything I need to know about your character [if you can even call it that].

    You are fine with art being fucked with on a personal whim, because internet memes are just so fresh and edgy, yo!

  217. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    March 11, 2016 at 2:46 pm

    Fire Emblem Fates isn’t art. Fire Emblem Fates is a consumer product, like the vast majority of video games, and it doesn’t even attempt to have any deeper relevance. It’s original version was still filled with banal anime tropes, pointless pandering, and it was created for the sole purpose of making Nintendo a lot of money on the people who loved Awakening. If you like that sort of thing, power to you, but stop pretending its something its not.

    You should also get off your high horse. You might not like the localization, and again, that’s absolutely fine. You’re entitled to your opinion on it. At the same time, I have a friend playing it and loving every moment of it meaning its obviously not ruined for him. Likewise, Fire Emblem “died” for me with Awakening since it had boring maps and with Fates focus on the whole “waifu” element with the whole “skinshipping” thing, I knew the franchise went in a direction I no longer cared to follow since it catered to an audience that wasn’t me and I’m fine with that.

    My issue, is people speaking as if their personal opinion gospel. “I don’t like this, so it’s complete shit”. No, you just don’t like it. Someone else does and considering its a topic that has absolutely no relevance in the big picture and the larger world, it’s can’t be right or wrong. But I’m starting to feel like I’m arguing with people who feel that video games are the most important thing in the world.

  218. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    March 11, 2016 at 3:18 pm

    If video games are so unimportant then why bother attempting to shill butchered localisations to hardcore gamers? Surely your time would be better spent with other like-minded people on Reddit…

  219. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    March 11, 2016 at 5:18 pm

    First, stop using words like “shill” when you’re not using them in the right context. I’m hardly “shilling” this localization, since I don’t like nowadays Fire Emblem.

    Second, I come here because its a fairly decent news site for games I’m mostly interested in. There’s not too many places I can find info on both upcoming JRPGs and Seige of Dragonspear all in one place.

  220. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    March 11, 2016 at 10:10 pm

    Stop language policing me, shill!

  221. Guin
    Guin
    March 12, 2016 at 11:04 am

    Buy cubic ninja while it’s relatively affordable and enjoy fixed patches.

  222. Metafalica
    Metafalica
    March 12, 2016 at 5:42 pm

    More or less between Birthright and Conquest. The difference is that in Birthright, you fight your way to the Nohrian throne while in Conquest you fight your way to the Hoshido throne. I would say at least 8 of the 21 maps are flipped with small differences, but that’s because I had like a week between Birthright and Conquest. Had I played them back to back, I might have recognized more.

  223. Metafalica
    Metafalica
    March 12, 2016 at 6:19 pm

    I dislike a lot of the maps in Fates. They felt too gimmicky and you have to resort to using royal family members to deal with them. As a result, they severely limit your party choices in Conquest and especially Revelations because you have to use them to deal with the Dragon Veins.

  224. Metafalica
    Metafalica
    March 12, 2016 at 6:21 pm

    I didn’t find the objectives for Nohr very different. It basically amounts to kill everything. The “Seize” objectives are not much different from the “Route” objectives. There were only a few really unique ones, such as the reach destination in a certain number of turns.

  225. Metafalica
    Metafalica
    March 12, 2016 at 6:22 pm

    In my opinion, the gameplay is great. Consider the other things, and it instantly drops significantly.

  226. Metafalica
    Metafalica
    March 12, 2016 at 6:26 pm

    To me, all three should have been one game. This is how the story would have made a lot more sense. Phase 1: Beginning of Revelations to show the truth of King Garon to Corrin. Phase 2: Birthright, an attempt to recruit your Hoshido siblings who are more likely to listen. Phase 3: Conquest, an attempt to recruit your Nohr siblings who seem less likely to listen. Phase 4: Conquest as you fight King Garon and the final boss of Conquest. Phase 5: Revelations as everyone sees that there is something controlling everyone, they agree to believe and help Corrin.

  227. Dabestestryan
    Dabestestryan
    March 13, 2016 at 7:19 am

    Boycotting the game isnt particularly likely to get nintendo to do better localisations. I feel like it’s far more likely that Ninty will think “oh, this isnt meeting sales expectations. Guess no more fire emblem!”

    The localisation in fates, while by no means the worst Ive ever encountered, isn’t great, obviously, but there has to be a better and more effective solution than just avoiding it. I’d rather have a lesser version of fire emblem than no fire emblem at all, personally. You might feel differently, of course, and if so that’s fine, but wouldn’t it be best for all parties involved to find a better way to send a clear message to nintendo that we want as direct of a localisation that they can provide rater than a “westernized” inferior version?

  228. Ubrokemygrill?
    Ubrokemygrill?
    March 13, 2016 at 9:15 am

    I’m going to explain something extremely simple to you that you don’t seem to understand. When you purchase a bad localization, you’re telling Nintendo of America you’re fine with the product. (the return policy on video games is fucking retarded, we know) When you don’t, you tell them you don’t want the game in a vague way. You don’t tell them why you don’t want the game, but this problem is easily fixed when you purchase games that are localized well. Companies watch what other companies sell.

    If people stopped eating whatever was thrown onto their plate because they “have to have the game” then localization would improve because people would only be buying good localization. If Fire Emblem never gets a good localization then why would you want the localized version anyway?

    Here’s the point of my rant:
    Have some fucking self respect (self restraint too) and stop buying shitty localizations. If that means that IP never comes overseas again, so be it. Put shit localizers out of a job and keep the good ones in the industry.

  229. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    March 13, 2016 at 11:45 pm

    Or buy one of the Nintendo Selects: Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time games. That also is an option.

  230. Dabestestryan
    Dabestestryan
    March 14, 2016 at 12:12 am

    Dude, chill. I realize that this is really important to you, but it’s not the end of the world. I’m hardly the only one who bought fates, and you’re not going to get anyone to change their stance with the condescending way you’re arguing.

    You say that I don’t understand yet you reiterated a lot of what I already covered. You mention that there’s a strong possibility that a mass boycott would end the IP. As such, a boycott is an extremely unreliable way to get better localizations. Along with that, you mention that if good localized games sell Nintendo will take notice, but ignoring the fact that it’s unlikely that many Japanese games will be able to outsell any of nintendos mainstays, I think that the vast majority of the games you have in mind don’t fall under nintendos target audience (pretty much every compile heart game, for example) so even if those games do well I doubt Nintendo will think it’s because of good localization, partially because it probably wasn’t.

    Many Japanese games are successful despite bad localizations, and unlike Nintendo it’s usually due to a lack of resources. They still sell though. Should we stop buying these games as well because they might tell Nintendo that we’re fine with poor localizations? Of course not, Nintendo almost certainly won’t take it that way and the teams who made the games worked really hard on them and they probably weren’t responsible for the bad localization. This brings me to my final point. You want me to put bad localizers out of a job by not buying the game, but that’s going to end up hurting the devs far more than the localization team. Say what you want about Nintendo, but having actually played fates I can say with confidence that intelligent systems put their all into this game. They listened to fan feedback (removing weapon degradation, expanding the relationship aspect) came up with interesting new ideas to keep the game fresh (my castle, multiple storyarcs across different games) while still not only having the solid tactical game play that the series is known for but also putting in the extra effort to attempt to cater to both old and new fans (conquest for the hardcore fan base and birthright for the more casual one.)

    And you can argue that the games shouldn’t have been split up, or that some of the things they did didn’t work, and you might even have a good point, but I have no doubt in my mind that IS did their best to make a game their fans would love, and I think that deserves to be rewarded. If that means that I inadvertently support the mediocre localizers, so be it, I support game companies I hate all the time. Have you never bought an EA, Ubisoft, or an Activision game? Id be very surprised if you haven’t. Those companies have far worse business practices than Nintendo, yet I rarely see people so passionately angry with them. I see people who hate them to be sure, but I almost never see anyone who seems to just despise them to their last fiber of being like you or many people here do with bad localizers. Thats not to say that just because triple A companies have shit practices that it’s okay for games to have garbage localizations, but still, I find it odd that I can say that I enjoyed mass effect and people will be fine with it, but if I enjoyed xenoblade chronicles X suddenly Im part of the problem. That’s not right. Games, regardless of who made them, are amazing. They’re fun. They’re art. Whatever you want to call them. I don’t regret a single cent that I spent on many of the games I’ve bought from bad companies. Games like mass effect, dead space, assassins creed 2, modern warfare, Zelda, xenoblade chronicles, fire emblem. Games like these have shaped me as a person, along with games from companies that I do like. If a game is good, I see no reason not to buy it, because it’s only punishing the people who worked hard to make them and all it’s likely to accomplish is end the series or shut down the devs, which benefits no one.

    Either way, I actually have to commend you, man (assuming you’ve read the fucking manifesto I wrote up there…) I think you’re doing exactly what needs to be done: complaining. You’re just doing it in the wrong place and at the wrong people. Nichegamer is kind of an echo chamber. You’re going to hear a bunch of people agree with you but you’re not going to get much done. If you complain directly to Nintendo I think you’ll get much better results (assuming you tone down the aggression a little, they’ll probably ignore you if your every other word is an expletive) gamers complaining has done some pretty incredible things. Hell, it got EA the worst company in America award twice. Thats a lot more effective at telling EA that their business practices suck than not buying their games. Want a closer example? How about Nintendo and tomodachi life? Gamers flipped their shit when they didn’t have same sex marriage in it. And Nintendo listened. They said that it would be in the next one, which while not an ideal solution, at least proves that they listen and care about what the internet thinks. Hell, they have to be listening, how else will they know what memes to shove into fire emblem? I wouldn’t be surprised if the shitstorm kicked up by people hasn’t already got Nintendo to rethink their localizations, at least a little, but considering how long they’ve been going down this path the more people complaining to Nintendo the more likely they’ll stop and listen. And I encourage you to do just that.

  231. tccboss
    tccboss
    March 17, 2016 at 1:20 am

    Funny how expensive this game is.

  232. Raiden
    Raiden
    March 21, 2016 at 2:32 am

    Hopefully Nintendo listens to the fans complaints about fates and fixes the localization issues for the next game in the series. Seriously though, Nintendo Of America needs new management, and Nintendo proper needs to learn to respect it’s fans better.

  233. Raiden
    Raiden
    March 21, 2016 at 2:33 am

    Agreed. Nintendo Treehouse is in desperate need of reform/removal. Especially considering they’ve got an outspoken SJW leading them.

  234. Raiden
    Raiden
    March 21, 2016 at 2:35 am

    SMTXFE will probably be left alone for the most part when it comes to localization, they’re planning on marketing that to the ‘Bayonetta-fanboy’ crowd.

  235. TheCynicalReaper
    TheCynicalReaper
    March 21, 2016 at 10:20 am

    Thankfully people always have modded 3DS consoles, CFW and roms to make up for this trash work NoA was content with paying for.

    Also fan translations are amazingly better than the crap one gets on the regular through official channels.

    But yeah, most people would have preferred going regular but Nintendo made that impossible this time, and then Nintendo wants to bitch about “BUT MUH “PIRACY” THO”

  236. Raiden
    Raiden
    March 21, 2016 at 2:17 pm

    I don’t want to pirate anything. . .

  237. TheCynicalReaper
    TheCynicalReaper
    March 21, 2016 at 4:22 pm

    “Pirates” are Somalian gun-toting scumbag serial killers/rapists/slavers and gun runner thieves of the seas.

    The people they refer to as “pirates” are just copyists, people who copy–not pirate–and they are as threatening as marshmallow kittens

  238. TheCynicalReaper
    TheCynicalReaper
    March 21, 2016 at 4:23 pm

    I prefer not to either. Nintendo however put the thought into most everyone’s heads and for good reasons, I’d argue.

  239. Raiden
    Raiden
    March 21, 2016 at 4:32 pm

    I’m an honest person, who prefers getting things legally.

  240. Gregg
    Gregg
    March 26, 2016 at 5:28 pm

    I’m glad I wasn’t the only person who was turned off by the product a bit.
    I played Nohr first and let me tell you, you weren’t missing a goddamn thing. The limitation of resources and money should make for a challenge, but it’s not your characters limited growth, it’s that your characters all SUCK. No matter how much last hit growth I did, how much forging I did, and how much preparation I did, the game never felt like a challenge, at least not a fair challenge. Most of the time the missions had stage hazards that would shake up the entire field or severely handicap your party, which then becomes even more luck based on top of a game that’s already at the mercy of God’s bane, RNG.
    The story was also just…barely there. Four chapters in and you’re thrust onto a side, it’s silly, you have no time to bond with either side and it’s a hard choice for the wrong reason (Thank God I didn’t pick Revelation, because I haven’t heard a single fan praise that alleged mess of a game). Corrin is a dope, both families are having pissing contests, and the only capable people outside the damn Royal Family are their maids and butlers, just fuck me sideways please.
    I was three chapters from the end and I stopped, it was something I was completing for the sake of completing, not because I was having any fun.

  241. Ernst Ahaha
    Ernst Ahaha
    December 16, 2016 at 12:26 pm

    I bought fire emblem awakening because of its trailer (which they did a really great job) and maybe that will be the last game of the series while I bought conquest because I thought this might be the best game of entire series and the reality literally destroyed me. This game successfully makes me don’t want to buy the upcoming fire emblem….well played there nintendo.

  242. WayWardNerd
    WayWardNerd
    January 19, 2017 at 3:52 pm

    That’s easily explained. Virtual murder doesn’t feel weird because it doesn’t feel realistic. Stupid waifu shipping feels creepy since they are 1D cutouts. I would have no qualms with the relationship aspect of the game if I on some level felt I had a reason to care other than “look how cute these two are together!”

  243. Etherblaze
    Etherblaze
    January 20, 2017 at 7:54 am

    See, I don’t see what’s creepy about “look at how cute these two are together” and shipping them. In games like Fire Emblem or Trails of Cold Steel you do get dialogue developing relationships between characters before finally shipping them together. So… I really don’t see your point. And judging from your other comments I think you just dislike the idea of waifu shipping. Sure, it’s all opinions, but I don’t think that aspect of a game should be cut out or censored because some people don’t like it.

  244. WayWardNerd
    WayWardNerd
    March 8, 2017 at 5:27 pm

    That’s a bold word to say I’m calling for censorship. The characters are bland archetypes. I don’t see what anyone is getting out of this besides “Those two are attractive, make them kiss.” Without its like your just breeding them like dogs. Even worse this is making them even blander since their even more characters with less time spent on each making them feel special. Rather just play one of the older games.