Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath Expansion Announced, Launches May 26 Alongside Free Update

Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath

After yesterday’s teaser, Warner Bros. Interactive and developer NetherRealm Studios have revealed Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath, an expansion for Mortal Kombat 11.

As stated in the press release (via Business Wire), the story continues with Fire God Liu Kang as the new keeper of time and protector of Earthrealm. He must now enlist strange allies and old foes to help protect the balance.

The new fighters will include Fujin (Wind God and brother of Raiden), Sheeva, and guest character RoboCop, voiced by the original actor Peter Weller.

Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath launches May 26th, and is available for pre-order now for $39.99 (SRP), or $49.99 (SRP) in the Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath + Kombat Pack Bundle.

You can find the official reveal trailer and screenshots below.

All pre-orders will grant the Eternal Klash Skin Pack at launch. This features three skins, Unbound Rage Scorpion inspired by his appearance in Mortal Kombat (2011), Son of Arctika Sub-Zero inspired by Mortal Kombat: Deception, and Kori Power Frost as a “Klassic” version of her design.

Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath

There will also be a Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath Kollection bundle containing all characters, game modes, story content, and 25 character skins. This can be pre-ordered now for $59.99 (SRP). Digital pre-orders will grant immediate access to Mortal Kombat 11 and the Kombat Pack. The physical version of this bundle will be available in June, only in the Americas.

In addition, all owners of Mortal Kombat 11 will have a free update in conjunction with the release of Aftermath. This includes new Stages, including the Klassic Dead Pool, and Soul Chamber. The “Friendship” finishing moves and stage fatalities will also return.

UPDATE: PlayStation have also shared Sub-Zero’s Friendship finisher on Twitter. You can find that below. Pre-ordering the expansion on PlayStation 4 will also earn you a Mortal Kombat 11: Aftermath dynamic theme.

You can find the full rundown of the base game (via Steam) below.

MK is back and better than ever in the next evolution of the iconic franchise.

The Mortal Kombat 11 Standard Edition includes:

  • Main Game

The all new Custom Character Variations give you unprecedented control of your fighters to make them your own. The new graphics engine showcases every skull-shattering, eye-popping moment, bringing you so close to the fight you can feel it. Featuring a roster of new and returning Klassic Fighters, Mortal Kombat’s best-in-class cinematic story mode continues the epic saga over 25 years in the making.

Mortal Kombat 11 is out now Windows PC (via Steam), Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Google Stadia. In case you missed it, you can find our review here.

, ,


Ryan was a former Niche Gamer contributor.

Where'd our comments go? Subscribe to become a member to get commenting access and true free speech!