Quantcast

Experience is Looking for Xbox One Reviewers for Stranger of Sword City

stranger of sword city 12-18-15-3

Experience has announced a contest for their English release for Stranger of Sword City, on Xbox One.

The publisher is seeking 30 players to review the game, and the select few will get a digital code for the game, a Japanese art booklet, and two B2 size posters.

You can enter the contest up until February 26th at midnight, Japan time. The winners will be contacted via email and announced formally – on March 1st.

Here’s the kicker – it seems like this is only open to games journalists or devoted enthusiasts – as the publisher only requires your review to be published on a self-run media site, or on a website you officially write for, on or after March 8th

You can enter the contest over on the official Stranger of Sword City website.

,

About

Owner and Publisher at Niche Gamer and Nicchiban. Outlaw fighting for a better game industry. Pronouns: Patriarch, Guido, Olive, Catholic



8 comments
  1. totlmstr
    totlmstr
    February 13, 2016 at 6:29 pm

    As long as the reviewers stay fairly critical and aware of problems, I won’t mind, but this kind of method of acquiring reviews irks me a lot.

  2. Narmy
    Narmy
    February 13, 2016 at 8:06 pm

    Publishers should not be giving reviewers “swag”, period. That’s nothing but a material bribe.

  3. thatguyEZ
    thatguyEZ
    February 13, 2016 at 10:37 pm

    The giving away free stuff is sketchy, though I suppose that’d be the only way you’d be able to get physical stuff for the Xbox version. I’ll be picking up the Vita version as the CE is gorgeous and I don’t have an Xbox. This is a good start for a system that is severely lacking in Japanese content though

  4. sanic
    sanic
    February 14, 2016 at 12:43 am

    Is this stupid or am I?

  5. passthegrenadeplease
    passthegrenadeplease
    February 14, 2016 at 2:27 pm

    I agree on the console lacking japanese type games, they’re pretty few and far between. Hopefully this starts a trend in the grand scheme of things, I’m not going to hold my breath because the Xbox One pretty much gets the short end of the stick when it comes to japanese games but its a start. I just hope they made the right decision on choosing the right console, I would assume their bread and butter for these type of games is at Sony’s console.

  6. chaoguy
    chaoguy
    February 14, 2016 at 6:42 pm

    The fact they are now doing it in public instead of behind closed doors is the worst part.

    Square Enix changed their tune when people complained about Deus Ex pre-order scheme, so make some hell over this, and see what happens.

  7. Ruggarell
    Ruggarell
    February 15, 2016 at 12:36 am

    You put it on the Xbone but not PS4? Is Japan thinking right? That’s financial suicide. Oh well they did the same thing with the original Xbox/Xbox 360. They’ll learn eventually I guess.

  8. Unmotivated
    Unmotivated
    February 15, 2016 at 3:51 am

    I don’t know, if they’re doing it openly then there should be less pressure on the reviewers to hide their disclosure.

    Anything’s better than backroom deals.