Quantcast

Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE Review – Singing, Mirages, and Tokyo Shenanigans

shin megami tensei x fire emblem 04-01-15-7

Full Disclosure: This game was played using an un-censor patch. I wanted to be able to play this game without the frustration that I had from the many acts of localization this game suffered from. I highly suggest that if you want to play this game, go this road, because it does make the game much better. If you’d like a glimpse of the things that were censored you can check out this list of changes.


I love Nintendo’s Fire Emblem series, I’ve been playing the games since I was 13 years old. So when I saw that Fire Emblem was going to do a cross over with the Atlus’ Shin Megami Tensei series I knew that I had to play the game.  I figured the game would be set in a medieval country at war with another country that somehow managed to control demons or something. Suffice it to say, I didn’t expect a crossover between these fairly dark and politically heavy series to center on the Japanese pop idol industry.

Bluntly put, the story is often nonsensical – when I played through the first 30 minutes of this game I was flabbergasted.  You are Itsuki Aoi, the common everyman that really doesn’t have much going for him. Your childhood friend goes into a talent competition to become Japan’s next top idol. During her performance, she’s abducted and the crowd becomes lifeless and dull. Monsters known as “Mirages” descend upon the stage and start harvesting what would later be called the “Performa”, or creative energies, of the helpless crowd.

Instead of sticking around and getting eaten you decide to try and save your childhood friend that was dragged off into a parallel dimension. After running around for a period of time, you find yourself cornered by these Mirages and all hope seems to be lost.  Unfortunately for these Mirages, you somehow have a much higher level of Performa than they expected and you manage to use it to bring one of them to their senses.

The combat system in this game is one of the more inventive and fun I’ve in an RPG series in a long time. Combat is centered on an arena where the three playable characters circle the enemy Mirages while hundreds of thousands of Mirages watch from the background cheering your actions at every step of the way. Combat is flashy and every attack is made with all the style and flourish befitting the crowd-pleasing entertainers.

tokyo mirage sessions 08-01-16-(2)

Each Mirage comes with their own strengths and weaknesses that correspond to Fire Emblem classes. For example, the myrmidons are weak to spear type weapons, or cavaliers who are weak to axes. If you use a character that has an advantageous weapon, or that has magic that the enemy is weak to, you’ll start a “Session” which allows other characters get a chance to add on extra damage.

This was where I enjoyed myself a little too much, because the previous type of attack automatically triggers an extra attack, resulting in a chain that continues until an attack is dodged or blocked. Not only can you purposefully arrange and stack these Session abilities, but in many instances you can get a rally of 12-13 attacks going near the end of the game if you plan it properly. These Session rallies net you additional money, and materials needed to improve your character or make new Carnage form weapons for your Mirages.

This wasn’t the only thing that was really enjoyable about the combat system though, as there were several other aspects of combat that I absolutely adored. Special performances can be performed at will (with a cost) that cause drastic changes to the battle, such as allowing each character another turn during a round, or triggering an ability which heals every playable character on the field while giving the character performing the skill another turn.

The cost to use these comes in the form of points that build up over time depending on how well you do at utilizing sessions. These helped me out considerably over the game – but saving them for boss battles is a huge disservice to yourself. There are also ad-lib performances that occur seemingly at random which can heal your party, damage the enemy, or lower the resistance of the enemies on the field. But, while I say randomly, any fan of Fire Emblem would know that these unique skills trigger off the skill attribute. I was tickled when I found this fact out and put as much effort as I could into the skill attribute as humanly possible.

tokyo mirage sessions 08-01-16-(4)

These unique abilities, “Random Performances”, and rallies are all necessary for the battles you face. While most enemies can be handled without a care in the world, there are some enemy encounters dubbed “Savage Encounters” that will push you to the extreme. These Savage Encounters are difficult; many appearing 5 to 8 levels over your characters and featuring enemies that you likely haven’t even seen before.

Like in most RPG’s, the characters each get the ability to learn new skills and magic abilities to use in combat. For Tokyo Mirage Sessions, these are learned from making new carnage forms for your characters and using the weapons in combat until mastery. In order to make these new abilities you’ll need to get the various materials your enemies drop at the end of battle or during sessions.

Each weapon has 4 abilities for you to learn and enhance your characters with. Active abilities can be used during your turn, most of which appear to be references to abilities from the Shin Megami series. These active abilities are often what you’ll use to trigger sessions with your partners.  Passive abilities help increase the strengths, resistances, or special attributes of your characters.

In some instances, passive abilities can be used to increase the likelihood that your Knight will be attacked, or these can take the form of increasing the damage certain types of attacks will have on enemies. The final type of abilities that you will gain from weapons are the Session Abilities. These will have your characters react to the use of another’s ability. For example, when your character attacks an enemy weak to sword attacks, another character might jump in with a spear attack because the session abilities you’ve chosen for them is the “Lance -> Slash” ability.

tokyo mirage sessions 08-01-16-(6)

The combat system in this game was well thought out and I have to say I loved every aspect of it. The customization of your characters can lead to a surprising amount of depth that is enjoyable from start to finish. So much so, in fact, if you only play this game for the combat and grind I promise you won’t be disappointed. There are also small, subtle things that add up to really make this game better over all.

Combat aside, I can’t help but feel that the world put forth is dull and lifeless. While Tokyo is as full as it ever was, you’ll rarely learn about its inhabitants. The people within the city don’t ever really add much to the overarching story or even give it a slight touch of humanity. This might be due to the fact that most famous individuals rarely look at the general public, or the fact that you see most of these people as colorful silhouettes rather than actual people.

In all honesty you’ll only really interact with and learn about 10 characters. This wouldn’t annoy me that much if these characters actually had a chance to get fleshed out, but the story practically revolves around your childhood friend. You’ll see her rise to stardom, taking on challenging roles such as a singer, model, and actor and watch her grow in personal strength. Normally this would be a perfectly fine story if the character was well written, but in Tokyo Mirage Sessions she is not. Simply put, she’s bland.

With the majority of the story focusing on your childhood friend, most of the side characters don’t really get a chance to really shine at all. With their characterization being regulated entirely to side stories which aren’t in depth or long enough to even allow for much growth at all. Each character is given only three side stories (reminiscent of the support conversations found in Fire Emblem) that try to show that the character in question is something more than poorly written cliches.

tokyo mirage sessions 08-01-16-(3)

Most of these side stories involve you trying to help your friend get further on in their career in some way, shape, or form. What I can say for certain that some of these side stories are really enjoyable. One such side story has you giving your friend advice on how to pick up women – because that’s needed to somehow increase his appeal to mothers. Another sees you going on a date with them to teach them what it feels like to fall in love.

Poor characterization aside, the biggest flaw in this game for me are the proliferation of plot holes. There are several throughout the game and it drove me crazy every time I found one. You’re being trained in the arts of dance, song, and acting, but not once do you actually do anything useful with this training.

I went in from the beginning really wanting to like this game. The way the developers place nods to the idol industry as well as the two series this game comes from makes me giddy inside. The gameplay is also really enjoyable. The problem was the story which ended up an utter disappointment, and the characters were alright at best and annoying as hell at worst.

There are plot holes that could sink ships and enemies that are little more than 1 dimensional characters. That’s not even touching upon the massive amount of changes this game dealt with in localization, but I really didn’t want to get into that in this review. If you’re looking for more information on that I’ll place several links in the disclosure.

tokyo mirage sessions 08-01-16-(5)

Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE was reviewed on the Wii U using a retail copy purchased by Niche Gamer. You can find additional information about Niche Gamer’s review/ethics policy here.

The Verdict: 7.5

The Good:

  • Combat System is enjoyable throughout the entire game
  • Clever References and subtle nods to the roots of this game are a delight
  • Music is really nice and Musical Cut-scenes are well coreographed and the animation its animation top quality
  • Some Side Stories are breath of fresh air and provide insight into the character

The Bad:

  • Characters often have very little dimension
  • Many side stories are borderline insulting
  • Some songs become repetative after hearing them several times
  • There are many Plot Holes and many things get completely forgotten by the developers
  • Main Character is uncharismatic and lacks a true purpose in the company he works for
  • Main villain lacks direction and motivation ultimately this leads to an unfulfilling conclusion
, , ,

About

I am a research student with a history in psychology. I am a fan of tactical rpgs and I love to travel. I hope to one day be a clinical psychologist.



114 comments
  1. Kain Yusanagi
    Kain Yusanagi
    August 1, 2016 at 11:40 pm

    I think you rated it too high, but that’s me. :P

  2. Audie Bakerson
    Audie Bakerson
    August 1, 2016 at 11:48 pm

    The uncensor patch doesn’t fix any of the broken and still censored translation.

    Learn Nipponese!

  3. Chocolate ISISCream
    Chocolate ISISCream
    August 1, 2016 at 11:57 pm

    tfw I upgraded to 5.5.1

  4. Heavily Augmented
    Heavily Augmented
    August 2, 2016 at 12:02 am

    Am I wrong to say that what this article has made me the most interested about are the chances of that one Travis guy coming over here and going on a mad rant about Niche giving TMS the same rating as Star Ocean 5 (from two different authors nevertheless)?

  5. scemar
    scemar
    August 2, 2016 at 12:06 am

    that list of changes gallery is pure comedy gold
    some changes are so so laughably bad it’s hard to believe it’s real

    it’s like the treehouse couldn’t take the task seriously and went full retard on purpose
    10/10 well memed NOA XDDDDD

  6. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    August 2, 2016 at 12:42 am

    Oh wow, that guys upset and he bases his argument on faulty ideas. Also, wanted to let everyone know how we review games. The games that are reviewed are done typically by one single editor, and their tastes and opinions aren’t weighted against games other people have played or reviewed.

    The review score is at the complete discretion of the editor and I thought this game was engaging enough that it would have tons of appeal towards certain demographics. Hell I put in well over 100 hours into this game and I enjoyed it. This doesn’t make it a fantastic game by any stretch, but it’s not a bad game either.

    Just want to let you guys know that I love each and every one of you guys. You’re the biggest reason that I keep writing. Keep on doing what you’re doing because you’re a much better crowd than other readers I’ve seen! Thanks for putting up with me and my long ass articles!

  7. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    August 2, 2016 at 12:43 am

    You’re still golden!

  8. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    August 2, 2016 at 12:44 am

    I actually enjoyed the game and put way to much time into it. While the story sucks and the characters are generally annoying or dull, the combat and gameplay is really enjoyable. I think 7.5 is fair.

  9. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    August 2, 2016 at 12:45 am

    Dude….dude…..dude….They had to change an entire chapter. They redid the dubbing and everything. I couldn’t accept that.

  10. Guin
    Guin
    August 2, 2016 at 12:46 am

    I hope by “dull and annoying” you don’t mean Tiki.

  11. Guin
    Guin
    August 2, 2016 at 12:47 am

    I’m gonna hate myself for saying this, but you’re honestly getting a better value for your buck getting this instead of Star Ocean 5.

  12. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    August 2, 2016 at 12:53 am

    You know who I’m talking about……YOU KNOW HIM!!!

  13. Lucky
    Lucky
    August 2, 2016 at 1:05 am

    Yeah, that score sounds about right. I heard the combat was excellent but the story being low tier. I can work with that, I just wish Nintendo games weren’t always so damn costly online. I don’t if they just have scalpers or low printing rates, but it’s so infuriating. I’d be more willing if it wasn’t so censored either. The spiritual successor to 4Kids right here.

  14. Nin
    Nin
    August 2, 2016 at 1:18 am

    Does Playboy even do porn anymore? Their mobile website looks like a normal clickbait website at best.

  15. thatguyEZ
    thatguyEZ
    August 2, 2016 at 1:26 am

    because you went with reviewing the uncensored version, I really feel that you should have done a few paragraphs about that one, considering its the one being sold. While I do appreciate that the censored version is awful and anyone who paid for it should use the patch, I do feel that you should have maybe had a separate score and summary about the butchered version.

  16. exo
    exo
    August 2, 2016 at 1:26 am

    >Nichegamer, as a community, clearly does not play video games
    Well guys, we’ve been found out, Brandon might as well shut down the site at this point. Time to stop shitposting and get back to our daily lives of not playing video games.

  17. buddyluv324
    buddyluv324
    August 2, 2016 at 1:31 am

    Oh the irony….

  18. RioSine
    RioSine
    August 2, 2016 at 1:48 am

    This is my unbiased lurker perception of the disqus user travis,

    travis is a Nintendo loyalist who brainwashed himself to cope with the reality of nintendo no longer being relevant or, literally, dying,

    He tries to force his own deception upon others and when confronted he will just resort to insults. For then to play the victim role somewhere else.

    Its highly probable that he doesn’t even understand the words and concepts he types, He isn’t even aware his pushiness is turning away other Nintendo fans from Nintendo. And thus is detrimental to the very thing he defends.

    If you try to reason with him, the only thing you will accomplish is to shove him into an even more radical posture and only if he happens to forgets, for a brief moment, how to fall into Denial,

    (same thing with any other delusional being)

  19. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    August 2, 2016 at 2:15 am

    Honestly I didn’t want to experience the frustration and anger I had at Fire Emblem Fates Again. I feel now several months seperated from the fact that I spent a large portion of the review upset about the censorship that I didn’t give enough of a chance to the gameplay and changes it brought to the series. In order to focus on the gameplay and the root of the game I thought the uncensored patch would be the best path for me to take. Many others have gone into great detail about the amount of censorship this game has had and its effect on the overall quality of the game. I wanted to give it a fair chance is all.

  20. thatguyEZ
    thatguyEZ
    August 2, 2016 at 2:20 am

    Yeah, I mean I can totally see where you’re coming from. Games are meant to be fun, and other than Nintendo fanboys, I don’t think anyone would willing submit themselves to this butchered mess. All in all I thought it was a really interested review and really liked what you had to say. I haven’t picked the game up yet so it was nice to read a more honest review on the game.

  21. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    August 2, 2016 at 2:26 am

    I will say that the game is fun and if you ever get a chance to find a good used cheap copy of the game and you have a wii u I’d recommend getting it. Don’t spend over 20$ though.

    The combat will keep you engaged and there are tons of small things, little nods here and there that really just made me shake with glee when I first noticed them. Things like the fact that the gamepad is a phone, the fact that the sound it makes when you go through conversations is a camera shutter, the fact that all the stores are based on persona from previous SMT/P games, and the fact that all of the interesting random moves are based on skill (like it is in fire emblem) is honestly amazing to me.

    If you go in for a story comparable to either of its original series counterparts you’ll be highly disappointed. Gameplay is worth giving it a shot though. If rentals were still around I’d say this would be worth a rent.

  22. Kain Yusanagi
    Kain Yusanagi
    August 2, 2016 at 2:27 am

    When 1/2 the game is bad, saying it’s rated 3/4 doesn’t seem right.

  23. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    August 2, 2016 at 2:38 am

    I’m conflicted. On one hand, from what I saw the combat system is everything I love about the Megaten combat and more. At the other hand, the entire concept is total ass and was from the get go.

  24. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    August 2, 2016 at 2:40 am

    …I want his fucking drugs. I mean, seriously. I want the drugs that makes him think nichegamer is full of SJWs. Since those most be AMAZING.

  25. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    August 2, 2016 at 2:45 am

    Playboy dropped out of the nudie business a while ago, either earlier this year or sometimes last year. I believe they’ve been making more money of the brand than they have the magazine for years.

  26. Smug
    Smug
    August 2, 2016 at 3:00 am

    Travis Touchdown is quite the faggot

  27. Eldhin Hellknight
    Eldhin Hellknight
    August 2, 2016 at 3:12 am

    Damn, that kid got upset. I’m not sure if it is just a troll or an idiot, so the only thing i can do is laugh

  28. Eldhin Hellknight
    Eldhin Hellknight
    August 2, 2016 at 3:13 am

    No, they decided to appeal to a younger audience to sell more

  29. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    August 2, 2016 at 3:16 am

    Gameplay >>> Story and characters.

    A great story and (mostly) good characters didn’t stop the first two Xenosaga games from being absolute chores to playthrough since the gameplay was absolute shit.

  30. Liamv2
    Liamv2
    August 2, 2016 at 3:59 am

    I’m so glad this review is a thing. I was getting bewildered by all the mainstream sites giving it insanely positive reviews.

  31. Kain Yusanagi
    Kain Yusanagi
    August 2, 2016 at 4:50 am

    Gameplay is worth more, since as a game that is the primary factor, but it’s not worth that much more. Also no, the first two Xenosaga games’ story and characterizations were NOT that good.

  32. GamesGoodMeGood
    GamesGoodMeGood
    August 2, 2016 at 5:44 am

    A good and fair review, but I feel that more emphasis needs to made on the censorship issue and how it is a negative thing, in order to let newcomers, neutrals and normies know.

    It’s one of the ways we can reverse and balance the trend of censorship, because right now virtually all of the mainstream games sites (Kotaku, Polygon, NeoGAF, etc.) are praising censorship if the issue comes up.

  33. DizzyGear
    DizzyGear
    August 2, 2016 at 5:58 am

    Has he set up a Patreon account yet for victim bux?

  34. Smug
    Smug
    August 2, 2016 at 6:23 am

    That would imply his bunch of “friends” would give him money, or even a considerable amount

  35. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    August 2, 2016 at 6:33 am

    I’m pretty sure he’s a troll. I doubt anyone can employ doublethink to such a level, but humanity has let me down many times before.

  36. MusouTensei
    MusouTensei
    August 2, 2016 at 7:14 am

    Thanks for reviewing the (mostly) uncensored version, still unless I get it used for a decent price I will not bother with it.

  37. Captain Vidya
    Captain Vidya
    August 2, 2016 at 10:09 am

    I’ve told that asshole multiple times exactly why censorship is an insult to the people who ACTUALLY DO want to play these games. Changes made to characters that completely destroy what they were in the original release (Effie in FE: Fates is now my go-to example for this, apparently), content and designs getting altered, if not cut completely (see the imgur link for this review), memes that were dated years prior to the games release (Triforce Heroes’ doge reference) are some such examples of the shit I’m talking about.

    The fact that the localization companies think we can’t handle playing these games unless they gut all of these subtleties that the designers originally had in mind is bad enough, but listening to people like this guy vehemently defend this practice makes me sick to my stomach.

    The fact that he took the time to insult me, saying I don’t deserve to play the games as they were intended because I don’t know enough japanese to play through the more text-heavy games is the fucking kicker to all of this.

    Yes, I’m fucking mad at this guy. I hope he’s fucking proud of himself.

  38. PenguinPlayer
    PenguinPlayer
    August 2, 2016 at 10:28 am

    I would love to play this with the uncensor patch if I was enough of a computer wizard to homebrew my Wii U. Maybe I will be someday.

    Until them, props for you guys to choose doing a review of the uncensored version.

  39. Travis Touchdown
    Travis Touchdown
    August 2, 2016 at 12:07 pm

    “De-censor patch!”

    Ahahahahaha.

    This whole review is kind of a joke, but I’d really like to point out just how minimal the changes between the Japanese version and the NA version are. We’re really talking about nothing more than slight costume changes here. For example, Censored Gaming tried to paint a bit of smoke going over Aversa’s chest as an example of ‘censorship’ when in reality it was only there for less than five seconds. The actual battle animation is untouched.

    The common narrative about how the changes ‘ruin’ the game is completely untrue. For example, Tsubasa’s chapter 2 arc involves her getting over her shyness in front of a camera. It works perfectly well in the localized version.

    I also find the complaints about ‘plot holes’ laughable. Atlus isn’t exactly a company known for stellar writing, as I’ve discussed before, I think of the game as being this really straightforward character driven about actors wanting to become better in their field. That’s it. It’s not particularly deep or anything, but it really doesn’t need to be.

    And calling the game ‘lifeless’ is just plain hysterical. This is one of the most vibrant and lively RPGs I’ve played in a while. It is a budget game, so it’s not to the same sort of scale that Xenoblade uses, but it really doesn’t need to be. I personally found TMS to be the best RPG released so far this gen.

  40. Travis Touchdown
    Travis Touchdown
    August 2, 2016 at 12:08 pm

    TMS is good. Star Ocean isn’t.

    This isn’t debatable.

  41. Travis Touchdown
    Travis Touchdown
    August 2, 2016 at 12:08 pm

    Don’t worry, I am.

  42. Travis Touchdown
    Travis Touchdown
    August 2, 2016 at 12:12 pm

    This entire site is one of the most toxic communities I’ve ever seen. Don’t kid yourself.

  43. Travis Touchdown
    Travis Touchdown
    August 2, 2016 at 12:13 pm

    You go berserk over the way women are treated in video games and (claim) to boycott products you were never going to buy over it.

    You are SJWS. Sex positive SJWs, like Alison Rapp, but still SJWs.

  44. Captain Vidya
    Captain Vidya
    August 2, 2016 at 12:24 pm

    Well then, at least now I can confirm that you’re proud of being a censorship-apologizing piece of shit. Check that off my list.

  45. Smug
    Smug
    August 2, 2016 at 12:27 pm

    “toxic”
    nice sjw buzzword

  46. Captain Vidya
    Captain Vidya
    August 2, 2016 at 12:30 pm

    If the toxin is wanting games to come out in a way that each region gets the same experience that the developer originally intended, no matter the game’s country of origin, then sure. I hope that mentality spreads. Games would be a lot better for it.

  47. Smug
    Smug
    August 2, 2016 at 12:33 pm

    “How DARE YOU to still follow criterias of beauty and not wanting feminist shit pushed in your media, y-y-you… you damn sjws!!!”

  48. alterku
    alterku
    August 2, 2016 at 12:35 pm

    I’ll keep playing games in the face of your allegations, while refusing to play the ones most tainted by those who think it’s their right to censor what I see, and be happier for it, as well as continue to read nichegamer.com as long as they’re for and allow free speech.

  49. larverto365
    larverto365
    August 2, 2016 at 12:43 pm

    I wonder if you would be saying that if Star Ocean was a Nintendo game.

  50. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    August 2, 2016 at 12:43 pm

    Eh, I’m fairly certain that these folks go berserk when they can’t see fan service… Not because they actually care about how women are treated.

  51. Captain Vidya
    Captain Vidya
    August 2, 2016 at 12:46 pm

    More like going berserk when people not involved in the creation process go “you can’t have this woman act/dress like this, I demand that you change it NOW! I don’t care if they feel empowered by it!”

  52. Smug
    Smug
    August 2, 2016 at 12:47 pm

    I’m pissed when faggots like you use the word “fanservice” as synonym for “erotism/nudity” only now

  53. Smug
    Smug
    August 2, 2016 at 12:52 pm

    >implying Star ocean is the sole japanese rpg game on PS4
    >what is the Vita or even the 3DS

    Of course you would defend TMS since it’s the sole rpg title on the WiicUck

  54. Travis Touchdown
    Travis Touchdown
    August 2, 2016 at 12:59 pm

    Xenoblade? Come on, now.

    And when they’re competing against such masterpieces as Final Fantasy XV and Star Ocean V… well, it’s not even a contest.

  55. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    August 2, 2016 at 1:00 pm

    Alright, my main issues with this game were the annoying characters, the often pointless side stories that don’t really add much to these characters and the plot holes. There was more to this review but due to the length it needed to have things cut out.

    I thought many of the characters character growths during these times were hollow and didn’t really mean much. I mean what the hell did getting barry a keychain when he was crying and throwing a temper tantrum actually contribute to his personal growth? Hell it outright states that the player was being played by him. Sure a couple were fun, but they growth was pointless if it didn’t actually effect the character outside of the side story.

    Tell me why we had to keep tabs on that one guy that we found in the first chapters dungeon? I mean we’re specifically asked to tell the boss if we ever see them again. We don’t, even though they show up multiple times. And what was the main villains motivation? Not the one from the alternate dimension but from the human world? Why did they do the things they did? It just doesn’t make sense, and don’t you dare bring up The Dark Knights Joker.

    Finally, how many side characters do we really get to learn about. I’d say 5 at max. A little boy, a song writer, and the three side cast members. This just made the world feel empty and lifeless. That was my own opinion on the matter. I wished there was more to the world. That’s all.

  56. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    August 2, 2016 at 1:01 pm

    I’m pissed that you still think “faggot” is an effective insult in 2016. (Not really, but c’mon. You can get more creative than that.)

    But eroticism/nudity? I didn’t realize cleavage fell under either of those elements, in video games. Good to know. :p (But seriously, unless you’re talking about games like Criminal Girls, its fucking fan service. And that’s okay. Fan service isn’t bad.)

  57. Smug
    Smug
    August 2, 2016 at 1:03 pm

    Xenoblade which got butchered as well, but Im sure you would still defend the censorship/liberal translation

    >what is Digimon Cyber Sleuth
    >what is Atelier
    >what is Moero Chronicles/Crystal
    >what is Ys VIII
    >what is Stella Glow
    >what is ToshiToshin

  58. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    August 2, 2016 at 1:04 pm

    I would agree with you for the most part, but RPG’s which are story driven need to have a bit more focus on the story. I’d give it a 60/40 kind of thing, you know?

  59. Montrillian
    Montrillian
    August 2, 2016 at 1:23 pm

    The process is fairly easy. Even my tech illiterate ass could do it.

  60. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    August 2, 2016 at 1:35 pm

    The amount of people that actually say that are a slim minority and most censorship of games is done by corporate entities who either 1.) want to make sure a game gets a specific rating, hassle free or, 2.) want to make sure the content doesn’t hard their image. People have a right to be upset, if games are censored, but blaming SJWs when you should be blaming corporate greed seems silly.

  61. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    August 2, 2016 at 1:38 pm

    70/30, IMO. But then again, I rarely play games for story in general. Don’t get me wrong. I love an enjoyable story in a RPG, but the last time I was actually impressed with a JRPGs story was Trails in the Sky FC. (Still need to play SC.)

  62. buddyluv324
    buddyluv324
    August 2, 2016 at 1:48 pm

    LOL….”toxic.” Someone got lost from NeoGAF.

  63. Feniks
    Feniks
    August 2, 2016 at 2:02 pm

    I hate Nintendo but credit where credit is due: they are shit at security making their consoles easy to hack. Kudos for that.

    Have to wonder what will happen to JRPGs when the Vita finally dies. All we’ll be left with is a Nintendo handheld.

  64. Feniks
    Feniks
    August 2, 2016 at 2:04 pm

    Never heard of ISIL or the GOP ;) we’re all polite fellows compared to that.

  65. Feniks
    Feniks
    August 2, 2016 at 2:09 pm

    Life itself is a game and we’re all NPCs.

  66. Guin
    Guin
    August 2, 2016 at 2:25 pm

    7.5 is still a high score unless you’re an insufferable elitist who must have everything 10/10

  67. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    August 2, 2016 at 2:28 pm

    I’ll ask again, how do you know that we weren’t going to play these games if they were released uncensored?

  68. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    August 2, 2016 at 2:34 pm

    So he’s conflating apologia with blind fanboyism noted. I don’t give a shit if a person likes Nintendo in fact I like Nintendo of Japan. What I don’t like is censorship and the people making excuses for them. And that goes for ANY company who pulls this shit. When you defend these practices by companies that’s when you get called a loyalist. Shit this isn’t rocket science.

  69. Travis Touchdown
    Travis Touchdown
    August 2, 2016 at 2:36 pm

    The comments section. I saw how this game was treated when it was revealed for it’s aesthetic.

  70. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    August 2, 2016 at 2:37 pm

    If promoting freedom of speech for games makes me an SJW then so be it I don’t fucking care. All I ever hear from this loyalist is how butthurt he is for attacking his precious company.

  71. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    August 2, 2016 at 2:50 pm

    I can’t speak for anyone else but I would’ve because I like this kinda thing. Just as much as I like Bravely Default for its Japanese lore. I didn’t get them though based on principal.

  72. Travis Touchdown
    Travis Touchdown
    August 2, 2016 at 2:58 pm

    It’s not like this site is biased or anything.

  73. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    August 2, 2016 at 3:02 pm

    And when the censorship spreads to the Japanese version what then?

  74. Liamv2
    Liamv2
    August 2, 2016 at 3:04 pm

    Yeah I know. Niche gamer remembers when 7.5 still counted as good.

  75. Darkrulershadowlord007
    Darkrulershadowlord007
    August 2, 2016 at 3:43 pm

    I’m sure many got the game, (after the patch) after all, there’s more then one way to obtain it.

  76. Darkrulershadowlord007
    Darkrulershadowlord007
    August 2, 2016 at 3:47 pm

    He wouldn’t.

  77. Lucky
    Lucky
    August 2, 2016 at 4:14 pm

    Huh, kinda glad to know we aren’t missing out on that many JRPGs. At least from the ones you named.

    Wait what’s ToshiToshin?

    That’s freaking lewd. Like the Senran Kagura of JRPGs. I approve.

  78. Feniks
    Feniks
    August 2, 2016 at 5:04 pm

    I feel bad for the Japanese folks who’ve worked hard on this game.

    It’s like spending 3 hours in the kitchen baking a cake only to have it served to dogs.

  79. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    August 2, 2016 at 5:12 pm

    Fuckinhg LOL

  80. TT
    TT
    August 2, 2016 at 9:07 pm

    what the hell is he going on about?

  81. TT
    TT
    August 2, 2016 at 9:08 pm

    holy shit, what a fag

  82. larverto365
    larverto365
    August 2, 2016 at 9:13 pm

    barack obama and/or kim kardashian are the player characters

  83. Etherblaze
    Etherblaze
    August 2, 2016 at 9:15 pm

    And not a word of argument against his claims. You say we don’t know how localization works, but we know more than you.

    Because we play more games than you do.

  84. Travis Touchdown
    Travis Touchdown
    August 2, 2016 at 9:31 pm

    I really doubt that.

  85. Etherblaze
    Etherblaze
    August 2, 2016 at 9:36 pm

    I’m pretty sure you don’t know jack about localization. Because you don’t play games.

    You think Nintendo has nothing to do with the localization of TMS#FE after all.

    You think it was Atlus entirely. But if you played other games that Atlus localized, you’d know. But you don’t know. So that’s how I know, you don’t play a lot of games to know anything about the subject.

  86. Travis Touchdown
    Travis Touchdown
    August 2, 2016 at 10:10 pm

    Are you really suggesting that localizers aren’t involved with the creative process? Lol.

  87. Captain Vidya
    Captain Vidya
    August 2, 2016 at 10:58 pm

    Are you really suggesting that I don’t know about Treehouse’s involvement with what went on with the FE: Fates localization or what NISA does to games like Criminal Girls? Lol.

  88. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    August 3, 2016 at 12:04 am

    It’s not like you’re a fag or anything.

  89. Sn0wCrack
    Sn0wCrack
    August 3, 2016 at 1:55 am

    Man, thank God for the people who made that uncensored patch, huh?
    ;^)

  90. AT-LOW
    AT-LOW
    August 3, 2016 at 3:32 am

    OOOH SHIT it’s travis touchdown! Holy shit dude I’m a huge fan. I’ve seen screenshots of your posts in heaps of places.

    Tell me, is it true that you can take three nintendicks at once, or are those just flattering rumours?

  91. AT-LOW
    AT-LOW
    August 3, 2016 at 3:34 am

    doxing anyone is an unnecessary over-reaction that never achieves anything positive.

    digging up embarrasing posts on other forums? fair game! this guy is clearly a sperg so I bet there’s a lot of that out there

  92. AT-LOW
    AT-LOW
    August 3, 2016 at 3:41 am

    Why are you responding? He’s a troll at best, retarded at worst. People who regularly get their news from nichegamer are mostly from a certain community of video game enthusiasts, and he’s clearly not from that clique. You can’t really reason with someone like that.

    Nichegamer just game his beloved game a good review and he’s still stirring. It’s clearly deliberate, so just give it a rest.

  93. Etherblaze
    Etherblaze
    August 3, 2016 at 6:17 am

    I was really really bored!

  94. Shiggy Diggy Doo
    Shiggy Diggy Doo
    August 3, 2016 at 10:15 am

    I’ve got you, fam

  95. Travis Touchdown
    Travis Touchdown
    August 4, 2016 at 10:30 pm

    They didn’t have to do much work. Just change a couple of models.

    There was nothing wrong with the actual release.

  96. Sn0wCrack
    Sn0wCrack
    August 5, 2016 at 3:22 am

    Uh, I was being sarsarcastic, I’m one of the people who helped make the patch. And trust me, there was much more than “a couple of models.”

    We had to retranslate a number of text files, change lua script files, change pointer tables, re-encode movies with subtitles on them, etc. A lot more work than that.

    In fact we are still working on things relating to DLC and such

  97. Chocolate ISISCream
    Chocolate ISISCream
    August 5, 2016 at 5:55 pm

    You’re right, though Loadiine is pretty unappealing. Caffine looks good so I’ll wait until the FE patch works with that.

  98. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 6, 2016 at 5:07 am

    I just can’t get over the censorship.

  99. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 6, 2016 at 5:10 am

    Then why blight us with your presence? Go toddle off back to the Mary Sue and think on us no more!

  100. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 6, 2016 at 5:15 am

    What is a pretendo?

  101. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 6, 2016 at 5:19 am

    Yea, I bet you play tons of games on your Wii U!! ^_^

  102. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 6, 2016 at 5:26 am

    I don’t support censorship. If you want me to buy Nintendo games then get Nintendo to stop censoring them.

    I’m going to be buying the shit out of P5 next year, so this ultimately hurts Nintendo more than it does me.

  103. Smug
    Smug
    August 6, 2016 at 5:35 am

    Someone who doesnt praise Nintendo constantly according to him

  104. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 6, 2016 at 6:14 am

    They frequently do insert themselves into the creative process – which is the mark of a poor localisation. The only creative input that a translator should have is in reworking region specific jokes so that they make sense to foreign audiences. Other than this the localisation should be as accurate as the localisation team can get it.

  105. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 6, 2016 at 6:15 am

    Dude, stop being such a faggot.

  106. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 6, 2016 at 6:20 am

    Tons of people seem to have enjoyed Star Ocean, but it obviously has several sizable drawbacks, and many people can’t stand the game. TMS on the other hand seems to be a very good game, but it has its own set of flaws and a botched localisation on top of that.

    All things considered, a 7.5/10 score seems to be very reasonable in both instances.

  107. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 6, 2016 at 6:22 am

    ^ I Am Setsuna!

  108. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 6, 2016 at 6:30 am

    Agreed. Tons of techno-babble and an intricate backstory does not really make for a satisfying narrative experience when it is presented in a laborious and impenetrable way.

  109. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 6, 2016 at 6:42 am

    So just a normal person then?

  110. Smug
    Smug
    August 6, 2016 at 7:27 am

    Nah this one was pretty terrible and I’ve imported the jap cartridge for Vita (which is originally named Setsuna of Snow and Sacrifice but guess it was 2deep4u for gaijins)
    Literally an ART game with the gameplay as an afterthought

  111. SiliconNooB
    SiliconNooB
    August 6, 2016 at 8:13 am

    It plays like an even faster version of Chrono Trigger, which is pretty great IMHO.

  112. Sonicx9
    Sonicx9
    August 25, 2016 at 2:28 pm

    Can you let us know when you get things relating with DLC in the patch in the near future?

  113. Sonicx9
    Sonicx9
    October 23, 2016 at 10:07 pm

    Sn0wCrack, does the uncensored patch of Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE have F-Bombs in the script?