Quantcast

Mighty No. 9 Review – A Disappointment from Kickstart to Finish

Editor’s Note: This is a review coupled with a video review. You can watch the video review above, or read a transcript of the video below.

Hello, everybody, my name is Tyler Valle, and this is Mighty Number 9–a game developed by Comcept, published by inti Creates in Japan, and Deep Silver in the West. I’m going to be up-front with you all and say that this review is going to be different from any other review I’ve ever worked on, and as we continue, I’m sure you’ll see what I mean.

For those of you who live under a rock and haven’t paid attention to Mighty Number 9’s development, let’s go all the way back to the beginning. Mighty Number 9 went up on Kickstarter in 2014, with the promise of creating a fantastic spiritual successor to the Mega Man franchise. The man who was going to head the project was none other than Keiji Inafune, the self-professed creator of Mega Man, even though that’s not true, and Mega Man was actually created by a man named Akira Kitamura.

All Inafune did was create artwork based off of the original sprite designs. But hey, since Akira all but disappeared there’s no one who will really argue that point against Inafune. Inafune said that he wanted to bring veterans of game development onto the project. This included Manami Matsumae, the woman behind the original Mega Man’s soundtrack, and more recently worked on Shovel Knight’s music as well. They also brought on one of my favorite artists in all of gaming, Shinsuke Komaki, who worked on Mega Man Legends, The Misadventures of Tron Bonne, and the Mega Man Battle Network games.

The game got a lot of media buzz and a lot of fan attention. People were eager to give them money to create Mighty Number 9, a game that people thought Inafune was passionate about. So how did the project do? Well, they asked for $900,000 and raised over $4,000,000. That’s right, the project raised four times the amount of money than the Comcept team asked for. Fantastic, if they promised us a great Mega Man successor for $900,000 then with four times that amount we should get a Mega Man that could surpass the original, right? With an April 2015 release date too! This was looking to be a Kickstarter success story for the ages.

Then April 2015 came and went, and the game was delayed until Fall, then Winter, then January. It finally came out on the 21st of June 2015. So what, the game was delayed?! Even Miyamoto-san once said: “A delayed game is eventually good, a bad game is bad forever.”

So with the game being delayed almost a year and a half, and still sitting on a budget of 4 million dollars that went almost entirely into development (due to the fact that Inti Creates came in to help publish the game in Japan, and Deep Silver in the west). There was still a chance, right? So after 20 hours with the game, how did the final release stand up? Just how good is Mighty Number 9?!

It’s mediocre, and while that may be okay for certain games, it’s not okay for this one. Mighty Number 9 raised too much money and had made too many promises to be mediocre. But when you look at the game’s development, does it really surprise you? There were a laundry list of red flags.

Most notable is the time they delayed the game, all while announcing a new Kickstarter project for another game, Red Ash, the spiritual successor to Mega Man Legends. Luckily, that game didn’t get community funding, and Inafune had to find a Chinese investment company to help pay for the project. That’s right, this was no longer a spiritual successor, but instead a Chinese knockoff game.

That, right there, is the main issue I have with this entire situation. Inafune was much more interested in making a franchise that he could make money from than making the game he promised. As the game was delayed further and further, more and more merchandise and product deals came to light. A TV series, a movie, a series of playing cards, a special burger at those weird Japanese Burger Kings. You get the picture.

Inafune didn’t give a damn about making a good game, he wanted to make merchandise and money. That’s why when you play Mighty Number 9, it doesn’t feel like the game is 4 million dollars worth of quality, and instead looks like it was made with the original budget of $900,000, at most. My question is, if this final version of the game is what we got at the end, what could the build that existed around the original release date look like? Did they even work on the game? These are questions I have to ask, knowing that I’ll never get an answer.

As far as a review goes, do I even need to bother? Almost everything about this game is wrong–the music is boring and uninspired like the levels, the enemies, the bosses, and the game itself.

Every level is forgettable and feels like a chore to play through, always shifting between too easy and annoying, due to the fact that the only difficult parts of the levels are instant kill walls that exist everywhere. Well yeah, the levels may be boring, but what about the bosses, that’s what makes the Mega Man games iconic right? Well, they also suck.

There was not a single boss that I enjoyed fighting in this game. Their move sets were boring, and at certain points dabbled in the “unfair” territory. Not to mention that the bosses themselves are bullet sponges, with a stupid mechanic having you knock off their health by sections. You deal damage, and the bosses turns purple, and you dash through them to get rid of the health. Doesn’t sound so bad right?

There are quite a few bosses who fly out of your reach, and if you knock a bosses’ health into the purple section and they fly out of your reach, their health regenerates! Yeah, that’s fun! Not to mention that there are times where you’ll dash through a boss and take damage for it, because I don’t know.

I’m being very serious, and I had to actually rant about this game for several hours yesterday before I could calm myself down enough to write this review. Never again, Inafune’s name is poison to me.

Mighty Number 9 gets a 4 out of 10, and trust me if I wasn’t a professional and actually did take consideration of all the circumstances of this game into it’s score, this game would get a two at most.

I’m going to be honest, this was one of the most disappointing experiences I’ve ever had with a video game, and while I may not be a Mega Man fan at all, I didn’t want this game to be good for my sake. I wanted the game to be good for Mega Man fans, who have spent the better half of a decade being mistreated by Capcom, who let me just remind you, blamed the fans for the cancellation of Mega Man Legends 3.

If there is any gaming fanbase who deserved a good game, it was them. It genuinely upsets me, not as a critique, but as a fellow gamer that this game turned out the way it did. Trust me, in the words of the 42nd president of the United States, Bill Clinton: “Mega Man fans, I played Metal Gear Solid 5. Therefore I can safely say, ‘I feel your pain’.”

At least it’s better than nothing, right? Maybe Capcom will take this time to rub two brain cells together and announce a new Mega Man game; I wonder what they’ve been up to…. Oh….. Oh no….

Hello again everyone, thanks for watching my review. If you liked it, make sure you give this video a like and subscribe to us on YouTube for more video content from myself and soon to be others we’ve brought onto staff! And make sure you check out Niche Gamer for all your game news, previews and reviews. My name is Tyler Valle, and y’all have a great day.

Mighty No. 9 was reviewed on PlayStation 4 using a digital code provided by Deep Silver. You can find additional information about Niche Gamer’s review/ethics policy here.

The Verdict: 4

The Good:

  • Artwork by Shinsuke Komaki is fantastic
  • Controls were solid

The Bad:

  • Everything
  • Everything
  • The music is boring, repetitive, even for a Mega Man game, and is grating to listen to at times, even if the main theme of Mighty Number 9 is pretty great, the rest of the soundtrack is horribly forgettable.
  • The Voice acting may actually be some of the worst voice acting work I’ve heard in a video game, and I played Final Fantasy Type 0 with the English dub on.
  • The Dash mechanic both breaks the game and makes boss fights repetitive and boring
  • The bosses are terrible, with boring move sets and designs
  • The game is stuffed with padding; that’s not a good thing. That’s lazy.
  • The robot designs are as boring as the environments
  • This is made worse do to the fact that the game looks like a 3DS game on every platform
  • The bricked Wii U’s on release, even a year and a half later, they couldn’t check the WiiU version
  • The Xbox 360, Linux, and Mac versions were all delayed, with the Xbox 360 users instead getting Steam codes, so that version may never come out
  • Everything
, , ,
Tyler Valle

About

A video maker, history buff, and college student. Lover of JRPG's and musou games. He's currently enrolled in university and working on becoming an English teacher.




Comment Policy: Read our comment policy and guidelines before commenting.
175 comments
  1. blarghonk25
    blarghonk25
    June 23, 2016 at 4:40 pm

    sucks about the voice acting as I love Yuri Lowenthal and Matt Mercer though I think it’s bad voice directing

  2. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    June 23, 2016 at 4:40 pm

    4? As in:

    4. Million. Dollars.

  3. deadeye
    deadeye
    June 23, 2016 at 4:45 pm

    It’s better than nothing.

  4. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    June 23, 2016 at 4:45 pm

    Mighty No 9 is actually quite an achievement. Being able to fuck up one of the most successful Kickstarter campaigns with horrible community managers, multiple delays, complete change of the promised artstyle, launching another campaign before delivering on the first, stupid trailers and bugs all while having a publisher. It is truly rare to see such a high level of incompetence.

  5. Captain Vidya
    Captain Vidya
    June 23, 2016 at 4:45 pm

    At least there’s the old Mega Man games for me to play. For the hundredth time.

    At least Mighty No. 3 is cute.

  6. DrearierSpider
    DrearierSpider
    June 23, 2016 at 4:47 pm

    Better than nothing, shitlords.

  7. Tyler Valle
    Tyler Valle • Post Author •
    June 23, 2016 at 4:48 pm

    I wanted to give it a 3.8 but Brandon wouldn’t let me

  8. DrearierSpider
    DrearierSpider
    June 23, 2016 at 4:48 pm

    They gave Tim Schafer a run for his money (or more accurately, a run with our money), which is indeed impressive.

  9. Dewey Defeats Truman
    Dewey Defeats Truman
    June 23, 2016 at 4:49 pm

    Quite frankly the best thing about Mighty No. 9 is that it’s out and everyone can just move on with their lives with it only being a footnote in conversations about bad remakes/reboots/spiritual successors in the future.

  10. DrearierSpider
    DrearierSpider
    June 23, 2016 at 4:50 pm

    Everyone inside the Capcom boardroom:

  11. Dewey Defeats Truman
    Dewey Defeats Truman
    June 23, 2016 at 4:51 pm

    Don’t forget that they cut out some basic features advertised in the initial kickstarter page (that were there well before it even hit funding nevermind four times what they asked for) because of “budget issues.”

  12. Syndromic
    Syndromic
    June 23, 2016 at 4:52 pm

    I feel mighty sorry for backers expecting gold but got shit and be called entitled for complaining.

  13. sanic
    sanic
    June 23, 2016 at 4:54 pm

    I enjoyed the game more than anyone playing it just by watching.

  14. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    June 23, 2016 at 4:54 pm

    Schafer is undoubtedly the bigger twat of the two, but at least his game was functional.

  15. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    June 23, 2016 at 4:55 pm

    When you make Capcom look like the good guys you re-evaluate your life.

  16. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    June 23, 2016 at 4:56 pm

    ..

  17. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    June 23, 2016 at 4:59 pm

    And it is a great warning about the dangers of Kickstarter.

  18. TheMaverickGamer
    TheMaverickGamer
    June 23, 2016 at 5:03 pm

    This seems more like a retrospective and a rant than an actual review. Hell, the bullet points touch on more about the good and bad aspects of the game than the actual review. Not to mention “Everything” being listed twice, which is redundant and not the funny kind, especially since there are things listed under “The Good” to contradict it. This is a total lack of professionalism and more akin to the ramblings of a clearly amateur writer with a grudge to vent. It’s the worst review I’ve read on this site to-date, hands down.

  19. Dr. Roswell. W
    Dr. Roswell. W
    June 23, 2016 at 5:04 pm

    Looks like Brandon wanted one last “Fuck you” to MN9 by reminding then of the exact number.

  20. Trepie
    Trepie
    June 23, 2016 at 5:10 pm

    How much?

  21. deadeye
    deadeye
    June 23, 2016 at 5:11 pm

    I gotta agree, honestly. There’s a lot of stuff about the shit that went on during the games development, which while it’s shitty, that’s not looking at the game objectively. There’s only three paragraphs that talk about the gameplay, and they sound like they’re from an angry blogger.

    “As far as a review goes? Do I even need to bother?”. What a fantastic attitude to have. This review is as bad as the game.

    There’s plenty of critiques one could make about the game, but this is just an angry rant that sounds like it was cobbled together from /v/ posts.

    The game is still not great though.

  22. DrearierSpider
    DrearierSpider
    June 23, 2016 at 5:12 pm

    I bet Inafune’s crying like an anime fan on prom night.

  23. Guin
    Guin
    June 23, 2016 at 5:12 pm

    I’ve never really liked his reviews since his Atelier one. This didn’t change my impression of him at all.

  24. Guin
    Guin
    June 23, 2016 at 5:13 pm

    His “reviews” sound like those blurbs you see on anime lineup preview blog posts and then proceeds to troll every single one of them.

  25. Kraken
    Kraken
    June 23, 2016 at 5:15 pm

    that last level was looking pretty brutal for you when i was watching that stream. im glad to hear you survived this hellish experience

  26. Master Bating
    Master Bating
    June 23, 2016 at 5:19 pm

    If he is indeed a businessman hes a really fucking awful one.

  27. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    June 23, 2016 at 5:21 pm

    It isn’t that unusual for great voice actors (or live action actors) to be in games but get given dull material to work with and/or poor voice direction.

    TJ Storm is captivating in Devil May Cry 4 especially when you see the mocap. Codename S.T.E.A.M? You wouldn’t know it has Will Wheaton and Adam Baldwin under you were told nor notice any significant performances.

    Even the Japanese cast for Mighty No 9 sounds rough.

  28. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    June 23, 2016 at 5:23 pm

    One of his projects was cancelled right? And Broken Age was split in two.

    Not saying what we had with Inafune and Co was great but having a functional game isn’t everything.

  29. pepsi
    pepsi
    June 23, 2016 at 5:28 pm

    Also the game isnt bricking wiuu´s, it´s just a rumour that started on twitter.

  30. Mighty No. 56008
    Mighty No. 56008
    June 23, 2016 at 5:32 pm

    To those saying this isn’t really a review, I guess you have a point. But really, does this game really deserve a real one? It’s not Inafune put much effort into the game, so I can’t blame the guy putting much effort into making up a proper review for the damn thing. :^)

    Anyway, the nightmare is finally over. I’ve also review myself to vent:

    http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561198107882632/recommended/314710

    And once I get the other physical rewards, the whole ordeal will be over with and I’ll be left with one important life lesson: don’t trust Keiji Inafune. Seriously, have you guys seen ReCore? It’s just as “meh” looking as this game, just prettier looking.

  31. TheManWithPants
    TheManWithPants
    June 23, 2016 at 5:35 pm

    I have to agree. The game is mediocre at best. It looks like a low-end 3DS game, but still lags. I can play GTAV and MGSV on PC with a solid 60fps, but this shit occasionally chugs to below 30, especially in the Radio Tower and Highway levels. The level design is bland, uninspired, and the later levels are filled to the brim with cheap instant deaths. Boss battles are long and tedious, and each boss has one stupid instant kill attack that comes out of nowhere and catches you off guard when doing a blind playthrough. Beck is slow and clunky, and I dislike the Dash system because you have to always stop to spam blasts at enemies and wait for them to weaken enough to dash into them. It breaks the flow and sometimes enemies take waaaaaay too long to weaken.

    Then there’s the cutscenes, they went as far as to include English, Japanese, and French voice acting, but didn’t even bother to animate their mouths in them. The cutscenes were so lazy and poorly done, they might as well just have gone for VN style cutscenes. At least then, I could look at the nice 2D art, instead of the ugly 3D models.

    For the record, though, I haven’t finished the game yet, but I’m stuck on the Final Boss, because Trinity’s second form has some bullshit laser attack that takes out a ton of Beck’s health and she loves to spam the fuck out of it, forcing you to barely be able to dodge using Beck’s shitty Dash system.

    Overall, the game is mediocre at best, disappointing trash at worst on PC. It’s about what I expected after all the controversy that transpired prior to release. So far, I’d give it a 6/10.

  32. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    June 23, 2016 at 5:43 pm

    No that’s the fans who were hoping for a great game. Inafune made out like a bandit.

  33. TheManWithPants
    TheManWithPants
    June 23, 2016 at 5:44 pm

    You also forgot to mention how they silently scrapped a promised gameplay mechanic due to lack of time/resources/money. After they took $4 million. After they delayed the game for about a year and a half. Fuck Comcept, and fuck Inafune.

  34. TheMaverickGamer
    TheMaverickGamer
    June 23, 2016 at 5:47 pm

    He also missed the news where the Xbox 360 version was released yesterday, so there is no “may never come out”. It’s out. This review is amateur hour at its worst.

  35. Offendatron_5000
    Offendatron_5000
    June 23, 2016 at 5:48 pm

    Nothing would be better, in this case.

  36. Didney Worl
    Didney Worl
    June 23, 2016 at 5:54 pm

    This game was a Mighty No. 2

  37. Didney Worl
    Didney Worl
    June 23, 2016 at 6:00 pm

    Inafune be like

  38. TheManWithPants
    TheManWithPants
    June 23, 2016 at 6:01 pm

    And they funded it with a Mighty No. 4 Million Dollars.

  39. Didney Worl
    Didney Worl
    June 23, 2016 at 6:02 pm

    Well, it’s obvious he didn’t use most of that Kickstarter money on the game. Conning is his business and business was good. Though he’ll never be able to do that again.

  40. Didney Worl
    Didney Worl
    June 23, 2016 at 6:03 pm

    Well, half of it anyway.

  41. buddyluv324
    buddyluv324
    June 23, 2016 at 6:04 pm

    Having played the game from beginning to the end myself, another issue I’ve noticed with the game that im surprise not too many people have caught are how Beck’s powerups work. They completely nerf the game despite them being mostly underwhelming to use and there’s not really a good opportunity in putting them into use aside from a few areas within one of the later levels of the game. Not only that the powers up help nerf the game, but are OP because the gauge for the powersups can either auto regenerate or if you dash towards an enemy, the gauge fills up. These factors take whatever challenge there was left in the boss fights out the window having little to no balance with the powerups.

  42. HowlJenkins
    HowlJenkins
    June 23, 2016 at 6:06 pm

    The campaign went up in 2013, not 2014

  43. Didney Worl
    Didney Worl
    June 23, 2016 at 6:07 pm

    Though only Mighty No. 900,000 dollars was actually spent on the game. The other Mighty No. 3.1 million dollars was spent on an all expenses paid trip to Dubai.

  44. Scorching Sirius
    Scorching Sirius
    June 23, 2016 at 6:09 pm

    This should sum up Inafune’s career by now…

  45. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    June 23, 2016 at 6:10 pm

    6/10,wow you are quite generous.

  46. DrearierSpider
    DrearierSpider
    June 23, 2016 at 6:19 pm

    Monetarily maybe, but his reputation is fucked.

  47. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    June 23, 2016 at 6:22 pm

    Forget animating the mouths of characters, just have animated heads and charactwrs doing more than standing in place like Okami and The Wonderful 101.

    Heck, Megaman Legends had a ton of textures to simulate face expressions which got the job done while having some cinematics.

    A spoiler about the Trinity second form beam… She doesn’t seem to do it in the middle of the screen on either X or Y Axis. Why? She got tired or something.

  48. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    June 23, 2016 at 6:22 pm

    ..

  49. Holythirteen
    Holythirteen
    June 23, 2016 at 6:32 pm

    A Wii U owner out there doesn’t seem to know what “brick” means, he said he got it working again with a hard reset.

  50. Holythirteen
    Holythirteen
    June 23, 2016 at 6:42 pm

    I’m not sure they even noticed, to be honest. In 2 years Capcom will follow Konami’s example and make only slot machines

  51. MegaRay
    MegaRay
    June 23, 2016 at 6:51 pm

    C’mon guys, it not that bad. Its better than nothing actually lol

  52. Holythirteen
    Holythirteen
    June 23, 2016 at 7:04 pm

    If it’s says “review” it should be as objective as possible. I’m totally down for pissing on MN9, but this particular bias against Inafune isn’t helpful to most gamers, and you shouldn’t call it a “review” and then dump this shit on them.

    Great opinion piece, but I’m not sure it’s right to call this a review, feels bait-and-switch to me.

  53. Holythirteen
    Holythirteen
    June 23, 2016 at 7:08 pm

    Maybe the Journo’s are cuddling up to him to get him to make an amazing and provocative walking simulator, 9 out of 10.

  54. Scorching Sirius
    Scorching Sirius
    June 23, 2016 at 7:12 pm

    Not sure people will trust him to do that either…

  55. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    June 23, 2016 at 7:16 pm

    “The game having 4 million dollar budget, doesn’t mean you should expect a game of decent quality!” – what.

    I didn’t think there will still be apologists for MN9 after all the crap that’s happened, but here’s exhibit A.

  56. Hydroninja9
    Hydroninja9
    June 23, 2016 at 7:24 pm

    Honestly , this is less a review and more of a rant / op ed. That being said , for those of you who want to know about the Wii U side of things:
    I haven’t had any issues with my Wii U being bricked.
    The game freezes every once in a while (happened 4-5 times while I was playing the first level)
    I don’t think it is running at 60fps with Bloom on. (I’m not too sure on this so don’t quote me)
    The game itself just feels slow (which could be by design or because of the fps drop)
    I haven’t played much of it , mainly because I don’t want my console to get bricked , but right now its sitting at a 1/10 for me. A 4/10 is way too high for this game

  57. Mir Teiwaz
    Mir Teiwaz
    June 23, 2016 at 7:25 pm

    I was watching him stream the entire game. It’s even worse than he makes it sound.

  58. 2501
    2501
    June 23, 2016 at 7:34 pm

    I think Capcom made the right decision pushing Megaman to the side.

    If this is the type of product Inafune makes with full creative control, can you imagine what he was putting out in-house.

  59. edge
    edge
    June 23, 2016 at 7:36 pm

    It’s fine to not like it, but bullshit like “everything” is pretty lacking in a critique. Got to say I disagree with the judgment, perhaps you hype manned yourself too hard and failed to be objective in the review.

  60. orbo
    orbo
    June 23, 2016 at 7:44 pm

    I think I would have preferred nothing, Sonic.

  61. GamesGoodMeGood
    GamesGoodMeGood
    June 23, 2016 at 7:57 pm

    What a complete shambles from start to finish.

  62. Joe Vincent
    Joe Vincent
    June 23, 2016 at 7:58 pm

    Could not agree more on every point. This was a terrible disappointment. And the fact that my Wii U version takes FOREVER to load in between screens renders this game a bore. Excellent, on target review.

  63. larverto365
    larverto365
    June 23, 2016 at 8:02 pm

    I guess I won’t get this game. Like I said before, just play the actual Mega Man games. Or wait for a new one, which is unlikely.

    Poor Beck. :(

  64. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    June 23, 2016 at 8:05 pm

    They probably went to the Amy’s Baking Company marketing school.

  65. DDD-kun
    DDD-kun
    June 23, 2016 at 8:13 pm

    Alright, let’s be clear: this is a bad review you’ve penned. Imbalanced, overly-passionate, and focused in the wrong direction. I can understand the sentiment, but no one has asked for the voices of the disgruntled to be represented in a revolution about the ire the MN9 creation process has yielded. Especially since you’ll find an endless slew of those voiced by just searching the game project’s name via YouTube.

    That’s the core issue that drags this entire review down. You put more time and energy penning out the MN9 campaign pitfalls which most of the general public was aware of than actually detailing what functions of the game make it mediocre. You broke into no technical details (which should have been the meat of your entire review), displayed little more than passing knowledge of its staff with no real substance or dug up facts (making mentioning them irrelevant beyond getting cookie points for knowing their names), then finished with a hurt tirade I assume (correct me if I’m wrong) was to be not just for yourself, but also for the “unheard voices”. That itself has two problems—the first I’ve mentioned (MN9 disgruntled voices are anything but unheard), and it mars the objective you set out to write. Did you really intent to do a blogpost over your disappointment of the supposed just-passing nature of the game and rant wholesale on the history that lead to its disastrous release? Or did you intend to actually talk about the ups and downs of the game, and if you’d recommend it at all?

    The whole reason I pen this isn’t to bust your chops. It’s because your review, being blunt, reads like something Kotaku or Polygon would generate. The formula being present an objective, swap it for a slightly-related but entirely subjective tirade, and not presenting nearly enough evidence to make your readers think you really played the game at all. Whether intentional or not, your review is a bait-n-switch rant for your feelings. And I could understand that better if you had just ripped the mechanics, the level selection, the bosses, the trash mobs, or SOMETHING relevant to MN9 the game apart, than what you did which was build a rant exposition of a lot of obvious bad history and bad karma Comcept & Inafune has accrued.

    I’d like to think I read/watched/heard this review incorrectly, but I don’t think I did. And I think, on the positive side, you can aim to do a load better in the future, Mr. Valle.

  66. Sylveria Shini
    Sylveria Shini
    June 23, 2016 at 8:16 pm

    I loooooooooooove when people say “This isnt a review, its an opinion piece!” These aren’t potatoes, these are potatoes!

  67. Sylveria Shini
    Sylveria Shini
    June 23, 2016 at 8:16 pm

    The worst part of it is that its soooo close to not being “Meh”. There’s a bunch of little fixes and tweaks that would make it something really special.

  68. Tyler Valle
    Tyler Valle • Post Author •
    June 23, 2016 at 8:21 pm

    Thanks for sharing your opinion!

  69. Tyler Valle
    Tyler Valle • Post Author •
    June 23, 2016 at 8:27 pm

    The audio was recorded, edited and placed in the video prior to the news. Feel free not to watch my reviews in the future. Or email my boss about terminating me if you see fit :). Thanks for reading, and sharing your opinion.

  70. Mighty No. 56008
    Mighty No. 56008
    June 23, 2016 at 8:34 pm

    Personally I did find it to be a review, but for the project as a whole. It still includes the game, it just simply isn’t the sole focus. He does also go out of the way to say that the review will be “much different” right from the get go, so it’s not as if he isn’t being transparent either.

  71. Mighty No. 56008
    Mighty No. 56008
    June 23, 2016 at 8:37 pm

    I friggin hate the “it was meant to be a $900,000 game” argument. Here’s the thing: it stopped being a $900,000 game when they added content to it. And it’s not like they didn’t get the extra cash to fund the content either. If the game indeed suffered due to budget issues, that’s on Comcept for not asking enough for each stretch goal.

  72. Nagato
    Nagato
    June 23, 2016 at 8:51 pm

    The truth is that Inafune was the cancer making Capcom look so awful for the majority of last gen. From the unnecessary Westernization to DLC-exploitation, disc-locked content and even the closure of Clover… he was the one behind it all.

  73. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    June 23, 2016 at 8:51 pm

    The big question is where did those remaining 3.1 million go.What is it with these fucking millenials not knowing how to treat consumers?
    If i ran a company and pretentious little shits like him acted in that way towards my customers i swear i would humiliate him in front of the customer and force him to apologize.
    Yes the customer is king,he pays your damn wages for fucks sake it’s not rocket science.

  74. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    June 23, 2016 at 8:53 pm

    They aren’t much better today to be honest.

  75. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    June 23, 2016 at 8:59 pm

    Capcom’s talent were leaving left and right,Inafune or not they were going downhill,just like Square,Konami and others.

  76. Nagato
    Nagato
    June 23, 2016 at 9:01 pm

    True, they’re incompetent in other ways now. I’d like blame Inafune for putting them in a position they couldn’t ever recover from, but then I’d have to lie as they pissed away all that MH+SF money on mobile on their own.

    Something something businessman.

  77. deadeye
    deadeye
    June 23, 2016 at 9:13 pm

    I know how bad the game is, and how much of a disappointment it is, but I still think reviews should try to be objective.

    He says it’s shit without going into much detail of WHY it’s shit.

  78. TheManWithPants
    TheManWithPants
    June 23, 2016 at 9:17 pm

    Okay, so now I beat the damn game, and I tried out the Ray DLC. Final boss was really lame and underwhelming, and used some cheap attacks. Ray’s stage was pretty easy, and her boss battle was moderately difficult. I didn’t have too much trouble beating her, though.

    Ray’s stages on the other hand… holy hell, it’s a nightmare. I like how she’s faster than Beck, but her dash has a shorter range, and her health depletes at a much faster rate. The fact that you have to fight bosses using close combat is what makes playing as her a nightmare. Her health depletes every 2 seconds, and bosses are just as cheap as when you fought them with Beck, but now you have to play as a character who’s health is depleting constantly on top of that. Unlike Beck, it seems her cutscenes are just still images with voice acting and text. Meh. Better than how Beck’s story was handled, I guess.

    I don’t recommend this game, overall. It’s pretty bad.

  79. goodbyejojo
    goodbyejojo
    June 23, 2016 at 9:22 pm

    mighty no 9 is a turd, but its kickstarter probably helped inspire many others.

  80. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    June 23, 2016 at 9:29 pm

    You might be right with that pic.Just like Arale i think playing with a piece of turd on the streets is probably more fun then playing MN9.

  81. Thanatos2k
    Thanatos2k
    June 23, 2016 at 9:31 pm

    Broken Age eventually released in full at no extra charge, and it’s a fine game. This game will never be a fine game.

    They seriously fucked up every single aspect of the project beyond the game.

    Community management during and after the campaign? Trash, and not just Dina.

    Keeping backers updated? Nope, people would often find out news from other game sites before they’d sheepishly admit it in news posts to backers. (And each time promise to have better communication)

    Backer rewards? Nope, people have been complaining for months about not getting physical rewards or missing surveys.

    PR? Disaster. Deep Silver are cartoonishly inept at marketing it seems, and “It’s better than nothing” will live on forever.

  82. Thanatos2k
    Thanatos2k
    June 23, 2016 at 9:34 pm

    The problem is, the Sonic team just announced they’re making another one, and it’s going to be just as bad or worse as Mighty No. 9………

  83. Thanatos2k
    Thanatos2k
    June 23, 2016 at 9:35 pm

    It’s less of a warning than games that never released at all.

    It’s…………………..better than nothing.

    Ok I couldn’t keep a straight face.

  84. Thanatos2k
    Thanatos2k
    June 23, 2016 at 9:36 pm

    I mean, there’s plenty of ways to dump on the game by using the poor quality of the game itself.

  85. Thanatos2k
    Thanatos2k
    June 23, 2016 at 9:37 pm

    No, I’m convinced they mismanaged every last dollar and all were spent. They probably needed more money and got it from Deep Silver. (There’s been a couple reports suggesting this.) Games that get delayed multiple times often run past a fixed budget becaue someone planned the expenses at the beginning and the delays fuck up the projections.

    Then you look at other games made by fewer people with less money that look and play way better (Dust: An Elysian Tail for example) and just shake your head.

  86. Ben Ruiz
    Ben Ruiz
    June 23, 2016 at 9:39 pm

    Don’t forget that slacker backer bullshit where they wanted some of that money to go toward a MN9 anime.

  87. Thanatos2k
    Thanatos2k
    June 23, 2016 at 9:40 pm

    Is this person actually related to the project?

  88. Thanatos2k
    Thanatos2k
    June 23, 2016 at 9:41 pm

    I’ve definitely seen games where good voice actors phone it in. This appears to be one of them.

  89. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    June 23, 2016 at 9:41 pm

    The way he goes out of his way to defend it i think it is.

  90. Thanatos2k
    Thanatos2k
    June 23, 2016 at 9:44 pm

    If they are, that’s some crazy shit to say. If they’re not, what the hell is this guy?

  91. GamesGoodMeGood
    GamesGoodMeGood
    June 23, 2016 at 9:45 pm

    Also, I’m suprised that there’s not been any mention of the ex-community manager Dina Karam. From what I saw, the moment she acted the cunt towards the backers is the moment the project started to spiral downhill.

    It seems that the fiasco over that feminist spacktard created such a lasting effect, and I wouldn’t be surprised if the staff got pissed over her firing and decided to troll and screw the project up on purpose.

    I mean, the prom night Anime fan joke really speaks volumes if you think about it… I feel that there’s some bitterness behind that joke.

  92. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    June 23, 2016 at 9:46 pm

    I don’t know,a fuckin sjw nut?Only they speak with such a condescending tone toward paying customers.If i gave a customer that line on my job my boss would kick my ass and rightfully so.

  93. RetroGamer
    RetroGamer
    June 23, 2016 at 9:47 pm

    Too bad the game didn’t turn out well and score a 9. Then reviews could actually make a positive play on the title.

  94. Kiryu
    Kiryu
    June 23, 2016 at 9:58 pm

    Ah i see.So Inafune is basically the Japanese Tim Schafer?

  95. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    June 23, 2016 at 10:08 pm

    Inafune in a nutshell.

  96. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    June 23, 2016 at 10:15 pm

    Try out 20XX if you have a Steam account.

  97. DrearierSpider
    DrearierSpider
    June 23, 2016 at 10:40 pm

    While better than this turd, most people seem to be of the opinion that Broken Promises/Double Fucked Adventure is an extraordinarily mediocre game that did a disservice to games that inspired it and felt thoroughly disjointed between the 2 episodes.

  98. Alex Drake
    Alex Drake
    June 23, 2016 at 10:45 pm

    Nah I’d rather have nothing and have my money back

  99. Lucky
    Lucky
    June 23, 2016 at 10:49 pm

    Broken Age is not a fine game.

  100. ThatOneGuy
    ThatOneGuy
    June 23, 2016 at 10:52 pm

    At least we have Bloodstained to look forward to. I found the demo to be pretty fun.

  101. Lucky
    Lucky
    June 23, 2016 at 10:52 pm

    The fan games are pretty decent too. There’s also this 3DS eShop game, The Legend of Dark Witch, that has a pretty cool Mega Man + Touhou feel.

    Mega Man is such a staple at this point you won’t run out of good OG Mega Man shenanigans, it’s just that if you want an evolution on the level of X or Z, you’re SOL.

  102. Nagato
    Nagato
    June 23, 2016 at 10:54 pm

    Well, perhaps the creators of Shovel Knight will get us the Megaman game we’ve wanted instead:

    https://twitter.com/YachtClubGames/status/746135059850158082

    And they’d do it for a less than a tenth of MN9’s budget too, with years of free DLC campaigns to follow at that.

  103. Feniks
    Feniks
    June 23, 2016 at 11:03 pm

    Meh it’s Iike the record for building the tallest skyscraper. It’s only a question of time for someone to build something even higher.

    Star Citizen will make this look good.

  104. Neojames82
    Neojames82
    June 23, 2016 at 11:05 pm

    This just makes me want to buy the Mega Man collection on Steam even more now.

  105. Neojames82
    Neojames82
    June 23, 2016 at 11:18 pm

    Yeah it probably would have been better if there wasn’t a game.

  106. Neojames82
    Neojames82
    June 23, 2016 at 11:40 pm

    Sadly there are apologists for EVERYTHING. People want to defend their buyer’s remorse anyway they can.

    Also this idiot looks very stupid with his argument:

    “The Kickstarter campaign goal was $900,000”

    Okay, and other KS games have gotten much less and turned out A HELL of a lot better, with less people and experience mind you!!

    “And the game is $20”

    Again, I’ve played games and they’re other games out there that are less than that and felt like I got a lot more than $20 worth of entertainment.

    “Just because it raised 4 million doesn’t mean you’re entitled to a 4 million dollar quality game.”

    Oh good fucking lord…so what were people entitled to then? I know gaming is expensive and even at $4 million dollars I guess it wasn’t enough.

    Which kinda shows that they probably WAY under-budgeted their game. Then again I guess that is what most KS campaign sadly do. But, as I stated above, games like Shovel Knight had less budget, less staff and experience yet they put out a great game.

    These fools at Comcept had a large, professional and experienced staff with a much bigger budget and they blew it in so many ways. It is a a huge fucking embarrassment for all that were involved with all the delays and that bitch Dina having the gull being a community manager, causing division than having a united community.

    “Same goes for your ridiculous decision to invest $60 in a $20 game.”

    Well, this I can’t really argue with. Though it isn’t really an investment, because in an investment you usually will get a return on your investment, though there is a risk usually. KS campaigns though? It’s pretty much a donation and/or a pre-order for a game and I REALLY think that the people that run Kickstarter need to make a new rule that you have to have a working demo of your game before you can create a campaign. No more of this concept art only bullshit.

  107. Thanatos2k
    Thanatos2k
    June 23, 2016 at 11:59 pm

    Sure it is. That’s why it also has moderately high review scores and moderately high user review ratings.

    Your distaste for Schafer shouldn’t bias you against what is a perfectly decent adventure game.

  108. Thanatos2k
    Thanatos2k
    June 24, 2016 at 12:00 am

    Stop using this site as what “most people” think. It’s usually far from it.

  109. Lucky
    Lucky
    June 24, 2016 at 12:15 am

    No, I just didn’t find the game any good, as a whole that is. Puzzles were way easy, story wasn’t really all that good. Setting was pretty bad, as far as Adventure Games go.

    4/10, honest. Never said anything about Schafer, so don’t know what you’re on about.

  110. Tyrone Jackson
    Tyrone Jackson
    June 24, 2016 at 12:43 am

    Shame what happened to this game.

    Don’t fail me, Iga.

  111. RandomDev
    RandomDev
    June 24, 2016 at 12:54 am

    They let a feminist in among their ranks and from there the whole project derailed, as thunderf00t said, feminism poisons everything.

  112. dsadsada
    dsadsada
    June 24, 2016 at 1:28 am

    Would you at least agree that reviews and editorials are different and that this would have fit better as an editorial?

  113. Zero Eternity
    Zero Eternity
    June 24, 2016 at 1:44 am

    Hey, hey you’re insulting the rest of the millenials by grouping them with this project. Hell how do you know he is a millenial?

  114. Zero Eternity
    Zero Eternity
    June 24, 2016 at 1:49 am

    Not that it matters but didn’t they also promise a Vita version as well?

  115. DrearierSpider
    DrearierSpider
    June 24, 2016 at 2:00 am

    I was referring to a number of different reviewers. Don’t worry, you’re not as special as you think.

  116. DrearierSpider
    DrearierSpider
    June 24, 2016 at 2:02 am

    Eh, it was pretty good in the very beginning…which only made the inbound trainwreck harder to watch.

  117. InkBrush
    InkBrush
    June 24, 2016 at 2:05 am

    Wait Inafune was responsible for the disc locked content, and DLC-exploitation?

  118. InkBrush
    InkBrush
    June 24, 2016 at 2:09 am

    Inafune was the one chasing out the talent.

  119. TT
    TT
    June 24, 2016 at 2:48 am

    Well to be fair, it’s not so much of a “review”, more-so than it is venting.

    Plus I had one guy claiming no-one, even backers, had any right to complain about the game’s quality, because the game is only $20 and that it’s their fault for getting hyped in the first place.
    Also, apparently I never backed the game because I’m lying in order to dump on the game for reasons.

  120. GamesGoodMeGood
    GamesGoodMeGood
    June 24, 2016 at 6:13 am

    Yeah like I said in my additional post, it was going quite well until Dina Karam acted the cunt towards the backers.

  121. Smug
    Smug
    June 24, 2016 at 6:32 am

    >using “professional” review scores to judge if a game is good
    Fucking plebian

  122. Chocolate ISISCream
    Chocolate ISISCream
    June 24, 2016 at 7:21 am

    thank you con man

  123. Ero-Sennin
    Ero-Sennin
    June 24, 2016 at 8:14 am

    Shigeru Miyamoto: “A delayed game is eventually a good game”
    >Not always.

  124. Lucky
    Lucky
    June 24, 2016 at 10:14 am

    Goddammit I put too many 5s. These guys I just too good I was salivating at the thought of some of ’em.

    Shovel Knight Mario Styled RPG. Yus.

  125. Derek
    Derek
    June 24, 2016 at 10:57 am

    Yep. He is even considered to be a foreigner bowing shitstain. He stayed on Capcom lomger and we were gonna see him pandering to sjws

  126. ProxyDoug
    ProxyDoug
    June 24, 2016 at 11:08 am

    I think Tyler has made some videos about Dina in the past.

  127. Thanatos2k
    Thanatos2k
    June 24, 2016 at 11:09 am

    “That’s why it also has moderately high review scores and moderately high user review ratings”

  128. MegaRay
    MegaRay
    June 24, 2016 at 11:28 am

    I understand what you mean, but even if they cancelled the game before release, and we had nothing, they would’ve still not give you your money back.

  129. Smug
    Smug
    June 24, 2016 at 11:42 am

    “it’s popular so it must be good!!!”

  130. Captain Vidya
    Captain Vidya
    June 24, 2016 at 12:12 pm

    In my opinion, bosses in a Mega Man-like game that have instant kill attacks are unacceptable. When I saw the leaked gameplay of the fire boss and he used his instant kill attack on the player, it pretty much killed all interest I had left in the game.

  131. Thanatos
    Thanatos
    June 24, 2016 at 12:13 pm

    The prospect of you having shit taste seems far higher.

  132. RetroPlayers
    RetroPlayers
    June 24, 2016 at 12:18 pm

    Well thats answered my question as to buying this!

  133. Smug
    Smug
    June 24, 2016 at 1:44 pm

    Said the fetishist furry redditfag

  134. morzinbo
    morzinbo
    June 24, 2016 at 3:17 pm

    At no extra charge…except to the backers right?

  135. morzinbo
    morzinbo
    June 24, 2016 at 3:18 pm

    Is the voice acting worse than MMX4?

  136. TheSegaMan
    TheSegaMan
    June 24, 2016 at 6:52 pm

    It can’t be any worse than Sonic Boom (even though that game wasn’t made by Sonic Team and the new one is).

    Then again I said Boom couldn’t be any worse than Sonic 06, so who knows.

  137. Hayate D. Nimbus
    Hayate D. Nimbus
    June 24, 2016 at 7:08 pm

    All I’m hearing from “reviews” are 95% about the kickstarter drama and 5% about the actual content. It’s obvious ppls saltiness is effecting how they feel/play the game. Giving childish reviews and pouting like a child, then asking for us to recognize your professionalism was rather humorous imo. The gaming community has become such a joke. For 20$ its a good game and obvious ode to classic mega man, fills a void that needed it. Deff much worse games releasing availabe for 20$+ that doesn’t receive nearly as much [unprofessional] criticism. This game suffers from Inafunes reputation and the kickstarter drama.

    Which allow me to say, he didn’t steal anyones $, people gave it to him xD. And the bricking wii U is just ppls console FREEZING not bricking. Big diff, thought such a pro as urself would know. Not uncommon w crappy wii u hardware.

  138. Hayate D. Nimbus
    Hayate D. Nimbus
    June 24, 2016 at 7:15 pm

    That was so well said, prett much everything i felt when reading it but I responded emotionally, not as logically as yourself. Thanks for that read xD

  139. Hayate D. Nimbus
    Hayate D. Nimbus
    June 24, 2016 at 7:21 pm

    Wow, the entitlement that comes with putting a few dollars into a childs game on kickstarter, jeez

  140. Extrange
    Extrange
    June 24, 2016 at 7:30 pm

    Your ranting, which is ignoring all the criticism points Tyler mentioned, is badly written and aiming at a strawman.

    But hey, it’s better than nothing.

  141. AT-LOW
    AT-LOW
    June 24, 2016 at 7:51 pm

    I must disagree with the review. The game is flawed an busted, but the reviewer picks all the wrong reasons and doesn’t justify himself at all. He doesn’t show instances of poor design, bad VA and music, repetitive boss fights, etc. There is footage of the pyro level playing out, but it isn’t commented on at all.

    I feel like he got his criticism half right. The VA is good. I liked the voices of both doctors, beck and call and some of the other robots, I felt they were very well done, and it almost gave the game a ‘Saturday morning cartoon’ feel. That being said, a lot of characters also got a shitty VA (pewpewpew!).

    There’s more but whatever. This was more of a rant than a review, and it wouldn’t sway anyone’s purchase decision either way if they had a brain.

  142. Hayate D. Nimbus
    Hayate D. Nimbus
    June 24, 2016 at 7:58 pm

    You’re a good pawn, see you did it at the end there! Gj!

    Im not acting like an entitled pledger, a phony professional, or someone desperately trying to cash in on a trending phrase, practically begging for attention and looking for conflict xD

  143. TheManWithPants
    TheManWithPants
    June 24, 2016 at 9:00 pm

    Agreed. While not all the bosses have instant kill attacks, the majority of them do, and it’s very frustrating when it literally happens randomly out of the blue, and can easily catch you off guard because the bosses immediately change their pattern after you get their health to about half way.

  144. Extrange
    Extrange
    June 24, 2016 at 11:30 pm

    Shoo, Inafune. Go fail kickstart Red Ash again :3

  145. Robert
    Robert
    June 25, 2016 at 8:24 am

    “Entitled” god forbid people who spent their money on something expected a good product. Try the “Entitled” argument with any other industry and you can see how ridiculous it is.

    Customer: “I bought this toaster but it takes 30min to heat up”

    You: “Stop being so entitled”

  146. Robert
    Robert
    June 25, 2016 at 8:26 am

    No it’s not that bad, but where x4 is so bad it’s good mn9 is just bland.

  147. Hayate D. Nimbus
    Hayate D. Nimbus
    June 25, 2016 at 8:54 am

    Yea but they weren’t in a store, it wasn’t a simple physical transaction. I’m sure its easier on u to make these simple comparisons but c’mon. Buying a toaster at the store and pledging $ to a videogame kickstarter aren’t the same and don’t merit the same respect or entitlement

  148. Robert
    Robert
    June 25, 2016 at 9:30 am

    I just don’t view it that way, if you give someone money and they promise the sky it’s on them to deliver you the sky. I think the person who gave them the money has every right to be upset if they don’t get what was promised.

  149. Hayate D. Nimbus
    Hayate D. Nimbus
    June 25, 2016 at 9:33 am

    And you don’t see the point where ur just a fool asking for the sky and ofc someone is pocketing ur $ all the while. That is nothing like ur toaster example. Just because u have $ and give it away doesn’t entitle u to anything

  150. Robert
    Robert
    June 25, 2016 at 9:47 am

    I am personally not involved in any of this since I didn’t back the game, I chose to wait for the game to be released to see if it was good or not.

    I’m arguing from my principles more than anything else. So to me if you pay for something you are not just entitled to it you are owed it.

  151. Robert
    Robert
    June 25, 2016 at 10:17 am

    I am personally not involved in any of this since I didn’t back the game, I chose to wait for the game to be released to see if it was good or not.

    I’m arguing from my principles more than anything else. So to me if you pay for something you are not just entitled to it you are owed it.

  152. Hayate D. Nimbus
    Hayate D. Nimbus
    June 25, 2016 at 10:40 am

    Well im sorry it’s just not as simple as u make it out to be, but i guess enjoy arguing ur principles?

  153. InkBrush
    InkBrush
    June 25, 2016 at 1:06 pm

    Still haven’t gotten an answer about if Inafune was the one that was behind the DLC shit.

    I’m trying to gather up more dirt on that fucking rat.

  154. Nagato
    Nagato
    June 25, 2016 at 1:31 pm

    I’m having trouble finding stuff on it as well now, although Inafune definitely would’ve been the one calling those shots back in the day.

    That being said, the practice also did continue after his departure it seems :/

  155. InkBrush
    InkBrush
    June 25, 2016 at 2:18 pm

    Well shit, if that is indeed 100% true then holly fuck.

  156. Dawn Blast
    Dawn Blast
    June 25, 2016 at 3:08 pm

    *Hugs Gunvolt*

  157. chaoguy
    chaoguy
    June 25, 2016 at 9:16 pm

    Havn’t KS been shut down/refunded before because people have taken legal action?

    With how BAD this has been, surely it’s worth pushing for that (even though it takes a LONG time. One of the battlefield games was broken on release, and they got sued 5 years later).

  158. KenAyagami
    KenAyagami
    June 26, 2016 at 8:45 am

    Your comparing capcom, square with The god of bad decision (Konami)?

  159. DigiGuineaPig
    DigiGuineaPig
    June 26, 2016 at 4:07 pm

    I actually don’t mind Mighty No. 9. It is a good solid game. I feel this review

    is pretty bad.

  160. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    June 26, 2016 at 7:02 pm

    I wouldn’t know since I am not a lawyer and have only backed two projects on Kickstarter. I can definitely see there being a case here though if it comes to that. It really depends how determined the person is willing to pursue this.

  161. PixelBuff
    PixelBuff
    June 27, 2016 at 11:25 am

    Never supported anything on Scamstarter master race reporting in.

  162. Mighty No. 56008
    Mighty No. 56008
    June 28, 2016 at 1:24 am

    Not that they don’t mention about it being a Kickstarter project and how rough the project has been, but the reviews I’ve read have been pretty objective and focus on the game.

  163. chaoguy
    chaoguy
    June 28, 2016 at 3:45 pm

    If nything, backers could double down to justify their purchases- becomeing fan boys

  164. John Smith.
    John Smith.
    July 1, 2016 at 2:40 am

    Are you surprised that Comcept would break its promises?

  165. Richard Miller
    Richard Miller
    October 6, 2016 at 7:26 am

    You sure?