Quantcast

Doom Review – The Rippin’ and the Tearin’

Editor’s Note: This is our first review coupled with a video review. You can watch the video review above, or read a transcript of the video below.

Hello, everybody, my name is Tyler Valle, and this is Doom. Now before I get into this review, I want to give a shoutout to my man Christian at Gamestop who hooked me up with a Doom poster even though I think it was a pre-order bonus.

You know when Doom was first announced to be in development I was already writing it off to be bad if not terrible. I mean, if you were to look at all the players involved in the creation of the game, it seemed like an almost certain disaster. You got ID Software, or what’s left of them, who let’s admit it, haven’t been really relevant in the game development scene for a while now.

Their last big release was RAGE, and that game fell horribly flat with bugs and budget cuts that kept it from being a new power franchise that ID wanted, and with Wolfenstein being shipped around to almost any developer to work on it, it seemed that ID was going to close up shop. Especially with John Carmack now gone to work in the emerging VR Field.

doom 05-16-16-3

Not to mention the fact that the publisher of the game was Bethesda/Zenimax, who couldn’t release a finished game to save their lives. It certainly felt like this game was going to be a bust. But color me surprised that this game turned out the way it did. It’s good, in fact, it’s really good.

Doom, a game I thought was going to be the Duke Nukem Forever of the franchise, turned out far less Duke Nukem Forever and much more Wolfenstein the New Order. It’s a return to the classic formula of fast paced action that Doom was known for. You will be spending dozens of hours running and gunning your way through waves of demons, leaving your enemies lying in a pool of their own blood and guts, that’s if there’s anything left after you’re done with them.

Doom is a sequel to Doom 2, making it clear that much like most Doom fans, ID has decided to forget that Doom 3 existed. You play as a guy, the guy. Doomguy, a literal one-man apocalypse, able to run at speeds that break the sound barrier and has the strength to punch demons into paste.

This time, you’re not just a UAC Marine on Mars who was in the right place at the right time. Now, you’re the ultimate demon slayer, encased in a tomb held in the depths of Hell. You have been religiously prophesized as the man who will bring about the end times in hell. As I said, a one man apocalypse.

doom 05-16-16-6

During one of the many times that mankind has delved into hell, they discover your tomb and bring it back to Mars. Shortly after that happens, a religious cult releases the demons onto the Mars base and decides that to further the evolution of mankind, they need to aid the demons in their conquest of Earth. This is when your tomb is opened, and you are freed to do what you do best: rip and tear.

After that very quick intro to the setting, you immediately start dispatching any and all demons in your way. Whether it’s with a handgun, shotgun, or your trusty chainsaw, you’re on your way.

From there you travel all across Mars and hell in search of a way to stop the religious cult from opening a permanent portal between our dimension and hell. That’s it, that’s the story. It’s light, as it should be. Much like the original Doom games that gave you the story bits in one-panel dialogue boxes, the new Doom understands we are not there to hear the story, we’re there to kick ass.

Trust me when I say there is an awful lot of ass to kick. One of the best parts of this game is that the environments look like your average, modern first person shooter, but are filled with bright glowing pieces of armor and health kits. This is not to mention the old school power-ups like invisibility and berserk.

doom 05-16-16-5

A great new feature added to Doom is the ability to upgrade your weapons and armor. You can gather weapon upgrades by accomplishing certain tasks that are given to you every level, and you can find UAC marines and take a data chip off them to upgrade your armor. These coupled with the runes you can find around each level allow you to power up Doomguy to make him even more extreme.

As for the game’s actual graphics, they look good. Nothing to write home about sure but the new Doom runs well, plays well, and looks good while doing it. The monsters in particular look fantastic, their models are immediately recognizable from the older games. However, if I had any complaints about the graphics, it’s that the environments are all very dark, making it hard sometimes for me to see what I’m doing.

It’s worth mentioning this only happened maybe one or two times, it was still frustrating at the time and is what is partly to blame for many people’s worry about the game. What we saw didn’t seem like the Doom that we wanted and felt like it was another brown and bloom first person shooter to toss into the pile. However, I’m happy to say I was wrong, we were wrong, we were all so very wrong.

doom 05-16-16-10

Oh yeah, Doom also has multiplayer…

What? What do you want me to say? No one cares about this game’s multiplayer and you know it. I will say that after spending 4 hours playing it that I had a lot of fun, but I can’t shake the feeling that the game’s online community will be dead within the year. Doom might as well have shipped as a single player only experience.

Honestly, I could probably continue to gush about this game for several more hours, but to save you time and me oxygen, let me just say that I haven’t been this pleasantly surprised by how good a game is since I first picked up Wolfenstein the New Order. ID knew to change just enough to modernize the franchise but made sure not to touch anything that made the first two Doom games work.

If you’re like me, you’ll be spending hours grabbing all the collectibles and finding every secret well after you finish the game, and with the multiplayer alive for at least the moment, there is also a good way to take breaks in between breaking Hell Knight spines. ID has won me back over as a fan of their work after nearly a decade of complete obscurity, and it’s great to be home.

doom 05-16-16-1

Doom, Doom 2016, Doom 4, whatever you’d like to call it get’s a 9 out of 10. There is a wealth of content here for the singleplayer gamer such as myself, and while the multiplayer is fun, I can’t help but feel it will be dead within the year.

Had Bethesda marketed it better the multiplayer could have been a real contender for the market especially with the interest in games like Call of Duty at an all time low. I suppose there’s always next time.

Anyway, my name is Tyler Valle and make sure to check out Niche Gamer for all your gaming news. I’ll see you next time.

Doom was reviewed on PlayStation 4 using a retail copy purchased by Niche Gamer. You can find additional information about Niche Gamer’s review/ethics policy here.

The Verdict: 9

The Good:

  • Fun Gameplay revitalizes a style that’s been dead since the early 2000’s
  • The Story is interesting but doesn’t weigh your adventure down and instead is used as a light guide around the battlefields
  • The enemies look great with their new models, You instantly recognize almost every enemy you see.

The Bad:

  • While many of the environments looked good, it was hard to tell due to how dark the game is
  • The soundtrack was pretty bland and in no way can compete with the original OST
  • The multiplayer feels as though it will be dead not longer after release, and ID knew that.
,
Tyler Valle

About

A video maker, history buff, and college student. Lover of JRPG's and musou games. He's currently enrolled in university and working on becoming an English teacher.



80 comments
  1. Thanatos2k
    Thanatos2k
    May 16, 2016 at 10:56 pm

    Finally a shooter that feels….honest.

  2. Anon_Amous
    Anon_Amous
    May 16, 2016 at 11:00 pm

    Can’t wait to try it out. I had grim expectations when I saw the debut trailer but I keep hearing it’s pretty decent in terms of the campaign.

    I still think the originals can’t be matched. The aesthetic of them is so great, colorful while being badass. I will check this out when it gets a bit cheaper for sure.

  3. Heavily Augmented
    Heavily Augmented
    May 16, 2016 at 11:02 pm

    That rift on Polygon at the intro of the review video was great. Good to see the positive reception of the new Doom after how slow the game looked in earlier demos.

  4. deadeye
    deadeye
    May 16, 2016 at 11:05 pm

    It’s weird how the trailers made the game look kinda bland. Then I saw some actual people playing the game, and amazingly, it looked like a Doom game.

    Serious Sam 3 tried to bring back the classic style of shooters, but it kinda failed in that regard. This game looks much better, and hopefully it makes some waves in the gaming community.

    I also can’t wait to get my PC together to play it. I’m definitely not getting this on a console.

  5. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    May 16, 2016 at 11:05 pm

    this game has denuvo drm v2 on it for the pc version so just letting people know.

  6. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    May 16, 2016 at 11:12 pm

    please, please don’t bleep out your cuss words on future video review when your audience are grown adults who are mostly against censorship. I am pretty sure people are tired of hearing bleeps and bloops whenever someone says a naughty word once BY NOW.

  7. Brandon Orselli
    Brandon Orselli
    May 16, 2016 at 11:18 pm

    Noted. I meant to ask Tyler to remove this

  8. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    May 16, 2016 at 11:19 pm

    I mean, I’m not telling you guys what to do but I’m just saying that we’re all adults here.

  9. Captain Vidya
    Captain Vidya
    May 16, 2016 at 11:26 pm

    Definitely going to pick this up when I get off my ass and upgrade my PC. Also when the game drops in price or when there’s a sale. I don’t have much of an interest in the multiplayer, so $60 for a single-player FPS is a bit steep for me.

  10. Elkhazel
    Elkhazel
    May 16, 2016 at 11:50 pm

    very positive review, I aim to nab this, but so many games atm

  11. NuclearKangaroo
    NuclearKangaroo
    May 17, 2016 at 12:02 am

    hopefully shadow warrior 2 later this year will be just as good

  12. sanic
    sanic
    May 17, 2016 at 12:25 am

    Thought the multiplayer beta sucked balls, so good to know the single player is still sick.

  13. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    May 17, 2016 at 12:37 am

    persistent fucking bitch aren’t ya?

  14. Siveon
    Siveon
    May 17, 2016 at 1:19 am

    SS3 is more of a “classic style” shooter than DOOM is at least. But hell, it’s a start.

  15. dogmentation
    dogmentation
    May 17, 2016 at 1:46 am

    That’s a lot of Cons for a “9 out of 10.”

  16. Kaz Yanicko
    Kaz Yanicko
    May 17, 2016 at 1:49 am

    You can make the levels brighter by adjusting the gamma. All I did was go to the video setting and increase the gamma. I didn’t have any problems with the levels being dark after that, but when I first started playing the game on the default settings it was really dark. It was hard to discern enemy’s from the dark back round but as I mentioned before I just adjusted the gamma settings. Anyway I agree with this guy I give this game a 9 out off 10 also. The game is some what addicting. I beat Doom on hurt me plenty, but I rushed through it. I’m playing it again but this time on ultra violence. It’s a rarity for me to want even want to replay a game but in this cause after playing it 6 hours a day for two days almost none stop I need more. Might I add I’m a huge fan off the original Doom game series and wasn’t very impressed by Doom 3. This reboot is what Doom 3 should have been. It’s way better. I forgot to mention that I’m strictly talking about the games campaign.

  17. Smug
    Smug
    May 17, 2016 at 2:42 am

    Seems like only shit/disappointing games use that DRM protection.

  18. Tyrannikos
    Tyrannikos
    May 17, 2016 at 3:14 am

    Yo, is that Tyler-fucking-Valle I see on staff? He’s the one guy whose content I loved over on GamesNosh. Honestly, he was the only reason I went there after a while.

    Welcome to NG, Valle. I’m excited you’re here. Thanks for this review. I’ve been hearing lots of great things, which honestly surprises me. I’m buying this on payday.

  19. Softclocks
    Softclocks
    May 17, 2016 at 3:42 am

    This.

  20. Nani Sore
    Nani Sore
    May 17, 2016 at 4:31 am

    I honestly think it is the best single player campaign I have played in a modern shooter …that being said im not huuge shooter guy so take some salt.

  21. Bob Smith
    Bob Smith
    May 17, 2016 at 4:50 am

    Average soundtrack and multiplayer? Who gives a fuuuuuck.

    Yeah, game’s a solid 9/10. Maybe 8.5.

  22. scemar
    scemar
    May 17, 2016 at 5:02 am

    the single player goes old school without going outdated, the story embraces its mythology and simplicity and the gameplay goes for the classic
    glad they nailed the single player right

    now if only someone could make a good arena shooter mod for multiplayer and do the same for it

  23. scemar
    scemar
    May 17, 2016 at 5:06 am

    Minor observations, what could have been better, not true problems with the game.

  24. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    May 17, 2016 at 5:35 am

    The game is absolutely great. The speed, upgrade system, weapon/enemy variety and level design are all superb. Going back and looking for secrets is past levels is very enjoyable especially given that the enemy difficulty scales to your character’s progress.

    The only minor issue I have of with the game is that the first person platforming can be a bit clunky. I haven’t played the MP yet.

  25. NuclearKangaroo
    NuclearKangaroo
    May 17, 2016 at 6:04 am

    “i-i didnt w-want to play it anyways! t-those grapes look sour!”

  26. Dammage
    Dammage
    May 17, 2016 at 6:13 am

    Man the marketing was so shit for this game. I only saw good looking gameplay for this like 2 weeks before it came out when NVIDIA demo’d their new cards, Glad it’s actually good though

  27. Shiggy Diggy Doo
    Shiggy Diggy Doo
    May 17, 2016 at 6:35 am

    >Soundtrack
    >Who gives a fuck

    I give a fuck, ripping and tearing in the OG Doom wouldn’t have been the same if it weren’t for that iconic fucking music, holy shit.

  28. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    May 17, 2016 at 6:43 am

    How did Polygon fuck up this time?

  29. Uncle Ocelot
    Uncle Ocelot
    May 17, 2016 at 6:44 am

    I’m surprised it’s actually a sequel, thought it was a reboot. Why didn’t they just call it Doom 3 (or III, to differentiate from the other Doom 3)? It’s not like people don’t know what Doom is.

    Glad to see it’s actually decent.

  30. Uncle Ocelot
    Uncle Ocelot
    May 17, 2016 at 6:45 am

    Music mods when

  31. Sevuz
    Sevuz
    May 17, 2016 at 6:57 am

    I’m okay with the soundtrack and the MP. While nothing wild it’s fun. At least for me.

  32. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    May 17, 2016 at 7:01 am

    Aw heeell no! I ain’t watching a 30 minutes Polygon video.

    By the few things that I saw while skimming it seemed they hired a storm trooper to play the game.

  33. Max
    Max
    May 17, 2016 at 7:13 am

    Shadow warrior (2013) might be a game you’d want to check out.

  34. Smug
    Smug
    May 17, 2016 at 7:14 am

    Maybe MGSV, but even then I know this is an unfinished game (hence the “disappointing” part). Might be worth a pirate but the rest isnt even worth my bandwidth.

  35. Master Bating
    Master Bating
    May 17, 2016 at 7:32 am

    Nah, lotta of modern design options bring this game down, the only thing it has going for it is that its AAA and not another Call of Duty or Battlefield.

  36. Captain Vidya
    Captain Vidya
    May 17, 2016 at 9:13 am

    I still can’t believe that the first thing we see after the Polygon splash screen is the guy standing there and missing his 2 shots per second. It’s like one of those satirical “>games journalists” videos.

    Only it actually happened.

  37. Annie T. Mood
    Annie T. Mood
    May 17, 2016 at 9:49 am

    Someone make a classic Doom OST mod.

  38. Jackald
    Jackald
    May 17, 2016 at 10:48 am

    Heheheh, silly polygon.

  39. Robert
    Robert
    May 17, 2016 at 10:52 am

    It look’s like they got my mother to play this.

    PS Polygon you can move and shoot at the same time.

  40. Matthew Hage
    Matthew Hage
    May 17, 2016 at 11:12 am

    “It look’s like they got my mother to play this.”

    Worse – it’s Arthur Gies.

  41. PixelBuff
    PixelBuff
    May 17, 2016 at 11:23 am

    “It look’s like they got my mother to play this.”

    Well, these ARE the people who just published a “I don’t know how to turn on my PS4” article.

  42. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    May 17, 2016 at 11:29 am

    It takes some special skills to be able to miss with a shotgun when the enemy is right next to you.

  43. ashikenshin
    ashikenshin
    May 17, 2016 at 11:58 am

    I don’t know how it can be a sequel to Doom 2. Doom 2 was on earth and had you destroy basically all of hell. To me this is more of a reboot since it has you back on mars where it all started.

  44. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    May 17, 2016 at 1:08 pm

    I kinda wanted to play/pirate mad max, doom, batman (if someone made a mod to replace the shitty realistic models with the ones om Arkham city), lords of the fallen, just cause 3 and mgs5 (not for the unfinished, shitty story that I hear retcons alot of stuff but just for dicking around)

    so I’m still waiting for this shit to get cracked…

    I heard creative assembly and sega are using denuvo for the new warhammer. I hope to christ that sega doesn’t plan on actually adopting denuvo into their games.

  45. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    May 17, 2016 at 1:10 pm

    we ign now

  46. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    May 17, 2016 at 1:11 pm

    when denuvo anti tamper an be tampered with.

  47. Smug
    Smug
    May 17, 2016 at 1:47 pm

    You know Denuvo DRM only prevented day-1 pirate?
    It’s been already cracked for months now

  48. fnd
    fnd
    May 17, 2016 at 2:01 pm

    Funny thing i liked Duke Nukem Forever more than Wolfenstein: The new order.

  49. NuclearKangaroo
    NuclearKangaroo
    May 17, 2016 at 2:22 pm

    well i enjoyed MGS5 plenty and D44M looks good tough

    of course im not going to be a fag and say “muh piracy is killing the industry!”, but at the same time i dont blame companies if they want to protect their IP

    i say piracy does account for SOME lost sales (tough definitively far from “1 pirated copy = 1 lost sale”), but no game can truly blame its failure to piracy, if a game fails to break even, it either is a bad game, was badly marketed or went overbudget

    if companies think the price of a denuvo license is less than the amount of revenue lost, i can understand its usage, if they think its going to make their blunder profitable, they are beyond delusional

  50. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    May 17, 2016 at 2:26 pm

    I thought that was true for only 2 games

  51. nine_ball
    nine_ball
    May 17, 2016 at 2:43 pm

    Remember what the ESRB says; Horrific, Deplorable violence is okay, as long as people don’t say any naughty words! That’s what vidya is all about!

  52. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    May 17, 2016 at 2:51 pm

    there are other ways to protect your ip than locking down your product that uses it.

  53. nine_ball
    nine_ball
    May 17, 2016 at 2:55 pm

    Music helps get the mood right, dude. What do you think helps make gameplay feel so grand and spectacular? Imagine fighting the Shagohod with regular sneaking music playing, or if nothing were playing in the background while you’re fighting a colossus in Shadow of the Colossus.

  54. NuclearKangaroo
    NuclearKangaroo
    May 17, 2016 at 3:03 pm

    sure, but as far as DRM goes, i must say denuvo is one of the most lenient, you are not limited to a max number of installations such as with secuROM and you dont have to be always online for it to work

    probably only steamworks is more lenient and that one is the equivalent of putting a “do not pirate please” sticker on top of your product as far as copy protection goes

    ive never really opposed DRM on principle, only on a case by case basis, depending on the effects on the final customer

  55. NuclearKangaroo
    NuclearKangaroo
    May 17, 2016 at 3:05 pm

    not really a crack, not like a workout, the current avaliable cracks for some denuvo games do not crack the DRM itself, but rather bypass it, however i think that was patched in the never versions of the software

    this is why many of those cracks are often unreliable or unstable

  56. NuclearKangaroo
    NuclearKangaroo
    May 17, 2016 at 3:06 pm

    to be fair, while the OG Doom music was great, a lot of it was plagiarized from popular metal songs, that way anyone can have a badass soundtrack

  57. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    May 17, 2016 at 3:15 pm

    I’m oppressed to drm because there is no reason to do it. people can still pirate your product and people can just remove the drm so at the end of the day, it’s just pointless to do. the only thing drm does is drive away consumers.

    now from what you said, denuvo doesn’t sound all that BAD per say but what if I want to do what other people said in the thread and replace the music files with that of the original doom? you can’t do that because the company were to big of dicks to not allow you to do what pc gaming is known for for that specific product.

  58. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    May 17, 2016 at 3:18 pm

    also, add that to the fact that the rumors of denuvo fucking up your ssds and cause’s performance issues is somewhat true, denuvo and any company that uses it can go fuck itself.

  59. Robert
    Robert
    May 17, 2016 at 3:23 pm

    So I just found the article, thanks of the headache.

  60. Smug
    Smug
    May 17, 2016 at 4:15 pm

    Whoops. My bad then

  61. deadeye
    deadeye
    May 17, 2016 at 4:24 pm

    Well it’s classic style, but it has a lot of problems.

    Namely the first few levels being very boring (Don’t give me that shit about it being a joke about modern shooters, it goes on way too long before the game opens up)

    And too many hitscan enemies that require you to take cover, which goes against the games own philosophy.

  62. Saskia
    Saskia
    May 17, 2016 at 4:42 pm

    this game is way too violent for me

    (and I really don’t mean this in an SJW Censor kinda way, just too violent for me personally)

  63. Bob Smith
    Bob Smith
    May 17, 2016 at 5:08 pm

    Damn, looks like you might want to re-evaluate your name.

    Here’s your 1 free (You)

  64. Bob Smith
    Bob Smith
    May 17, 2016 at 5:10 pm

    Sure, but it’s not bad enough to be a negative. It’s, again, just average.

    I don’t need a Persona or Final Fantasy score in every single game for it to be enjoyable.

  65. Siveon
    Siveon
    May 17, 2016 at 5:11 pm

    I agree the beginning is boring. And the devs love hitscan enemies as a cheap “gotcha!” moment. Freaking Scorpion men and whatever the hell shot those green blasts.

    Still, I say SS3 does the style better. Well, that is, as being an arena/horde shooter. Which DOOM 1 & 2 wasn’t, in official levels. I’ve yet to play DOOM 4 myself but it seems to lean more toward SS + DOOM 3 than regular DOOM.

    I only wish people knew the difference.

  66. Siveon
    Siveon
    May 17, 2016 at 5:12 pm

    Implying Persona games have a decent soundtrack :^)

  67. NuclearKangaroo
    NuclearKangaroo
    May 17, 2016 at 7:24 pm

    “there is no reason to do it”

    well technically yes, a company has the right to protect their IP, thats fair i think, what makes it right or wrong is HOW they decide to do it

    “people can still pirate your product and people can just remove the drm so at the end of the day, it’s just pointless to do.”

    except it still hasnt happened with many denuvo protected games, which is what makes it so unusual

    “the only thing drm does is drive away consumers.”

    a couple of customers might be driven away, but is that number lower than the amount of pirates forced to buy the game? if not then its a net gain for the company (assuming denuvo costs less than the revenue gained from non-pirated copies)

    “but what if I want to do what other people said in the thread and replace the music files with that of the original doom? you can’t do that because the company were to big of dicks to not allow you to do what pc gaming is known for for that specific product.”

    denuvo doesnt stop you from executing arbitrary code, in theory it restricts SOME modding, but at the end of the day if devs included proper mod support with their games denuvo would be a non-issue, so the DRM makes you more dependant on official mod support

    i said Denuvo is one of the most lenient DRMs around, not that there werent some restrictions

  68. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    May 17, 2016 at 7:36 pm

    JIMMIES 100% RUSTLED.

  69. Master Bating
    Master Bating
    May 17, 2016 at 7:36 pm

    Where do you think you are son? Theres no (you) here you absolute newfag.

    Did Bethesda pay you too?

  70. Thanatos2k
    Thanatos2k
    May 17, 2016 at 8:19 pm

    This is why you don’t play first person shooters on consoles with controllers

  71. Thanatos2k
    Thanatos2k
    May 17, 2016 at 8:23 pm

    Holy shit, and of course it’s Ben Douchera who is unable to turn on a PS4. Astounding.

  72. AnarKreig
    AnarKreig
    May 17, 2016 at 10:13 pm

    I was dead sure this game was going to suck after I played the multiplayer beta. And it still does, but at least the singleplayer is alright. I’m pleased that the philosophies from the golden age can work today.

  73. AnarKreig
    AnarKreig
    May 17, 2016 at 10:27 pm

    This means there will be no modding right?

  74. TylorW
    TylorW
    May 18, 2016 at 12:37 am

    Seriously, anytime I hear anything mention “RIP AND TEAR”, I immediately flashback to Linkara’s AT4W Episode of the Doom comic. God I loved that review. XD

  75. STARSBarry
    STARSBarry
    May 18, 2016 at 11:32 am

    after playing this game to death, in that I have done everything other than delve into snap map too deeply (not a fan) and finish the game on a single life on the super hard difficulty (a really cool mode where you see the helmets of those that died trying where they failed and what killed them) on the strength of its single player campaign alone 9/10 a very very good game and the best shooter to come out for years, I would put this above and beyond the new wolfenstien you will not regret owning this one in your library.

  76. Stilzkin
    Stilzkin
    May 20, 2016 at 3:37 am

    Even my mother would have played better lmao

  77. Nani Sore
    Nani Sore
    May 23, 2016 at 7:56 am

    I played it and I prefer Doom by quite a bite.
    Not saying Shadow warrior wasn´t great but Doom was on another level for me.