Quantcast

Dead or Alive Xtreme 3 Review: Grinding Endlessly in the Sun

dead or alive xtreme 3 05-21-16-1

While a western release of the third release of Koei Tecmo’s beach volleyball Dead or Alive Xtreme 3 was one that stood on shaky ground to begin with, it came as a shock to hear that the game wouldn’t be coming to the west due to fears of criticism of its sexual content. Having now gotten my hands on it after many weeks of waiting, it got me wondering what exactly this game had to offer and whether or not refusing to bring it over here was really the right call?

Let’s start off by talking about the story in one sentence: You are given the task to run Zach’s island and to make sure all of the girls are enjoying themselves. Simple as that, and honestly that’s all it needs since everyone who’s playing this game doesn’t really care why they’re doing what they’re doing. All of you are in it for the girls, and the game knows it.

The only real complaint I have with this is that the girls lack any defining characteristics to make them really stand out and mostly stick to their one recognizable trait. So unless you’re really familiar with the Dead or Alive series, you’ll mainly be gravitating towards the design you find most appealing.

dead or alive xtreme 3 11-19-15-4

The game’s biggest strength is the design and models of the girls, and I have to say they really knocked it out of the park with this one. The girls look absolutely fantastic, with the developers having a really good eye for detail on their swimsuits, tan lines, sweat, wetness, and the game’s biggest selling point: the body physics.

They are much less clown-y and all over the place than in Dead or Alive Xtreme 2, so they become less distracting in a humorous way and more distracting in a titillating way.  The game also sports a nice variety of swimsuits from more conservative and classic designs to some that are downright outlandish and skimpy. You’ll most definitely find your favorite from the bunch.

The problem with the swimsuits, however, is that they’re all locked to their respective character, meaning you simply can’t buy any swimsuit for any character from the get go. There is a way to get your favourite swimsuit on your favourite character, but we’ll touch on that in a moment. The PlayStation 4 version also touts an exclusive feature in the form of tan lines and wardrobe malfunctions. The latter is mostly reserved to certain activities which involve making your opponent fall into the pool. While a nice little touch, it doesn’t work for every kind of swimsuit, so you might end up not seeing it a whole lot depending on what your girl wears.

dead or alive xtreme 3 03-20-16-14
A look at the PS Vita visuals

With all these things going for it, it unfortunately falls flat on its ass once we get to some of the larger core mechanics. Before we get into the nitty gritty, let’s start with the positives. For a game that’s centered on beach volleyball, it does get this aspect right for the most part. The AI can get a little wonky at times, when it happened my teammate would simply lob the ball on the other side rather then set it up, but outside of that she’ll do her job as intended.

Beach volleyball isn’t the only thing you’ll be doing, as there are other activities you can around the island. Sadly they’re mostly pretty boring and relatively easy. You can either play tug of war, wall climbing, flag race, pool hopping, or butt battles. These games are relegated to either one button or control stick or in the case of pool hopping, simply pressing the correct buttons. They also give you very little money compared to beach volleyball, so if you need to grind money to buy more swimsuits, you’re best off to just sticking to volleyball.

It’s disappointing that the wave surfing seen in Dead or Alive Xtreme 2 wasn’t included, and while it was far from great in that game, they could have brought it back and tweaked it to make it much more enjoyable. Gambling also makes a return, minus the slot machines.  You have roulette, poker or black jack. These are by far the most boring aspect of the game and you’ll want to largely skip out on. The only real value I can find is that black jack and poker have cards that feature the girls in various poses and swimsuits, with both games using different sets.

dead or alive xtreme 3 11-19-15-7

With the money you’ll earn through the various activities, you’ll mostly be spending it on various swimsuits. You can either buy some for yourself or gift a swimsuit to someone who wouldn’t be able to access it. On the one hand it is nice that you have the ability to mix and match different girls with different swimsuits, essentially giving a ton of customization options. On the other hand, they make it so that it’s incredibly annoying to do so.

One of the newer features they added to the game are challenges. These essentially add as both a guiding tool and incentive so that you have a better idea of what to do with your day. By completing both Owner Mode (which I’ll discuss soon enough) and Girl Mode challenges, you’ll eventually get character specific challenges.

By successfully completing all 7 of them you’re supposed to get a reward in the form of a strip tease by the girl you chose, by the end of the vacation. I say supposed since I actually never completed them since they come seemingly at random, and with a 14 day time period per vacation session, they challenges will shuffle again until you get to the one you didn’t complete.

dead or alive xtreme 3 02-18-16-10

Now we get to what I can safely say are the worst elements of the game: Owner Mode, coupled with the sheer amount of grinding. Owner mode is essentially a way to satisfy all the girls during a vacation, as well as give various girls exclusive swimsuits. What makes this mode so terrible is how you earn money. Earning money in girl mode is quite easy; you simply complete activities, with beach volleyball being the most profitable one by a huge margin. In Owner Mode it’s completely different, as the currency you earn in Girl Mode is not shared.

In theory this doesn’t sound too bad, as it should allow you to buy twice as many swimsuits, but earning money in Owner Mode is laughably tiring. The only way to earn money in said mode is to either complete Owner Mode specific challenges or to watch girls do various activities. The amount of money you earn you in both of these is depressing, and the sheer amount of grinding you’ll need to do before you can buy that 1 million Zach Dollar swimsuit is mind boggling.

What makes it even worse is that you’re capped to how much money you can earn at any given time at 1.5 million, so even if you want to grind as much as you want and hoard a huge amount of cash, the game will not let you. I believe the game is aware of this fact, as there is a cash shop in the game that allows you to buy tickets with real world money in order to bypass the grinding.

dead or alive xtreme 3 03-10-16-4

Despite all of its flaws, there is some enjoyment to be had. The girls are wonderful to look at and the various swimsuits you can put them in are just an added bonus. On top of this, the beach volleyball is actually fun to play.

Sadly, it’s hurt by a bunch of boring and mostly pointless side activities and an ungodly amount of grinding, which does bring the whole experience down in my opinion. However, it did get me thinking on why this game in particularly didn’t get a western release.

Though Dead or Alive Xtreme 3 is flawed it is a functional game with no real outstanding bugs, and the mature content is quite downplayed all things considering.

dead or alive xtreme 3 11-19-15-13

As it stands, unless you’re a die-hard fan of the Dead or Alive Xtreme series, I suggest skipping this entirely unless it happens to be on sale. Until then, play something like Senran Kagura: Estival Versus instead.

Dead or Alive Xtreme 3 was reviewed on PlayStation 4 using a retail copy purchased by Niche Gamer. You can find additional information about Niche Gamer’s review/ethics policy here.

The Verdict: 4

The Good:

  • Loads of swimsuits
  • Girls look absolutely fantastic
  • Beach volleyball is fun

The Bad:

  • Every other activity is either boring or too easy
  • Owner Mode is terrible and only serves to make the player spend real money
  • The amount of grinding to get in game currency is ludicrous and is capped
, ,

About

Writer at Niche Gamer. Passionate for video game journalism, and more than glad to be a part of it. I also write DOTA 2 stuff.



123 comments
  1. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    May 21, 2016 at 4:37 pm

    OUCH….

  2. Brandon Orselli
    Brandon Orselli
    May 21, 2016 at 4:45 pm

    FWIW we talked a lot about how to score this game internally.

    Everyone who has played the game mostly agreed it’s fun in bits, but has major issues with grinding and throwaway material. It’s basically a game built around visual eye-candy, and that’s fine, but there’s just not enough substance to it.

    I still don’t own it myself but am still going to buy a copy purely for the visual fidelity on PS4. The girls look gorgeous.

  3. Shigeru031
    Shigeru031
    May 21, 2016 at 4:47 pm

    My target was Lv. 80 because of the time stop. Stuck at Lv. 47 and haven’t played in a while. It stopped being fun 20 levels ago. They should just sell exp as DLC or the time stop itself. I just want to take gravure shots easily.

  4. deadeye
    deadeye
    May 21, 2016 at 4:49 pm

    Nothing surprising here. The game is bad. Save your money and just watch videos of it on youtube.

  5. Madbrainbox
    Madbrainbox
    May 21, 2016 at 4:50 pm

    This makes me sad.

  6. MaxonTreik
    MaxonTreik
    May 21, 2016 at 4:55 pm

    I didn’t expect any depth to the minigames, but the amount of grinding
    is insane. You have to find ways to cheat in order to make any
    meaningful money. Also, the RNG on everything is ridiculous. You can
    give a girl her most favourite item and have her happiness at a high
    level and there’s a chance she still won’t accept it. This is even worse
    for saving up for the tickets to get a girl to agree to do a pole
    dance. Oh, and the pole dances are the same as DOAX2.

    I gave up on trying to take the game seriously and just play it to relax and look at cute girls in swimsuits.

  7. GamesGoodMeGood
    GamesGoodMeGood
    May 21, 2016 at 4:55 pm

    I know it’s a video game, but the main draw/objective of it has always been the fan-service, you know to admire the cute/sexy girls.

    It would be unfair to judge it mainly on the gameplay and mechanics.

    So for the objective it definitely scores highly.

    Nyotengu though… <3

  8. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    May 21, 2016 at 4:57 pm

    I mostly agree with the review. It is a fun game that has way too much grinding. The beach volleyball is the best activity and the easiest way to make money, but the money cap is rather annoying.

    That being said I bought the game from PlayAsia to make a statement that there is a market for these types of games in the West. Also for the glorious mouse pads:

    http://s32.postimg.org/6asjpiw5h/IMG_6908.jpg

  9. Fear Me I Am Free
    Fear Me I Am Free
    May 21, 2016 at 4:58 pm

    I’d have scored it at least a 6. But the review is objective and you don’t let your own petty problems get in the way. I know a bunch of people who had fun with it, but it was very bare bones. I still stand behind pushing for it’s release because it should be people’s choice to buy it or not, not because some assholes in the media are trying to gatekeep what is and isn’t acceptable. I will defend games no matter how bad in the end because there’s going to be someone who likes them and they deserve to have that choice to buy them. Now there will be some who try to use this as a gotcha moment against the people who defend this game and that frankly isn’t it. It still wasn’t brought over here because of the climate of fear being created against games like this.

  10. Fear Me I Am Free
    Fear Me I Am Free
    May 21, 2016 at 4:59 pm

    Many people I’ve seen who have it have said the same. It’s pretty and fun, but very bare bones in terms of content.

  11. Fear Me I Am Free
    Fear Me I Am Free
    May 21, 2016 at 5:06 pm

    Why? They are looking at it objectively. The game does have problems, but that doesn’t mean you still can’t enjoy it.

  12. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    May 21, 2016 at 5:13 pm

    I don’t think so, prior DOAX games as far as I hear weren’t as grindy, didn’t have microtransactions tacked on and had some features which doesn’t.

    It also has some healthy competition from the Dead or Alive series or Senran Kagura series, the latter has a depiction of Ayane and plenty of options.

    If they make a mode or function in this game, they should focus on making it enjoyable or not having it at all.

  13. Madbrainbox
    Madbrainbox
    May 21, 2016 at 5:14 pm

    I guess I was expecting a little more from it.To be focused on fun instead of it being a grindfest.

  14. Dewey Defeats Truman
    Dewey Defeats Truman
    May 21, 2016 at 5:38 pm

    I feel like games like this are only really worth looking up screenshots/videos online if you’re interested in them and not actually playing. Like people can rag on Senran Kagura for being not that great but those games are fun and have a lot more going on from a gameplay standpoint than the DoAX series ever have.

    I feel like a title like this is pretty similar to the Neptunia series, in that it has no real redeeming qualities beyond hot anime babes and I mean, that’s just not enough.

  15. Eldhin Hellknight
    Eldhin Hellknight
    May 21, 2016 at 6:17 pm

    does the PS vita version worth?

  16. GonzoLewd
    GonzoLewd
    May 21, 2016 at 6:27 pm

    That would be the case if you didn’t have to grind so fucking much to get the pole dance scenes which are so hard to do because it’s all based on luck if you get the girls happy enough.

    You might as well just watch them on Youtube in HD.

  17. sanic
    sanic
    May 21, 2016 at 6:30 pm

    at a 4 its still better than godhand.

  18. Offendatron_5000
    Offendatron_5000
    May 21, 2016 at 6:38 pm

    No, you guys nailed it. For the first couple weeks, I was all in at like a 7 or 8 score. But after even 3-4 weeks, playing the same things and all the grinding, ESPECIALLY in owners mode (not to mention the high failure rate on owner gifting)… It becomes far too tedious for its own good. I’m not even playing it anymore and when I do try to pick it up, I get frustrated in under 30 minutes and play something else.

    The game fails with what is likely a low bar of expectations, even by the given audience. Too much time spent figuring out how to screw the gamer and not enough real reward.

  19. DizzyGear
    DizzyGear
    May 21, 2016 at 6:41 pm

    Actually the casino is where you will spend the most time in owner mode as save scumming with roulette is the only fast way to make money in owner mode.
    I believe the money cap is there to keep you from stockpiling money to buy the monthly swimsuits when their released in the hopes you buy the tickets.

    But yeah the review is spot on. The grinding is one thing but the fucking RNG in this game is what makes it just too damn tedious to be enjoyable without save scumming. Because even you grinded that 1 million Zach dollar for that swimsuit, if the girl rejects it (and she will) you have to spend 50% of the swimsuits price to rewrap it before you can retry gifting it again hoping the RNG gods will make her accept it the next time.

  20. DizzyGear
    DizzyGear
    May 21, 2016 at 6:45 pm

    Same. After Play Asia trolled the ever living shit out the SJW’s I just had to have this game to own a piece of future gaming history.
    Hell I even platinumed it.

  21. DizzyGear
    DizzyGear
    May 21, 2016 at 6:47 pm

    DOAX2 had microtransactions as in that you could buy the swimsuits with Microsoft spacebucks.

  22. DizzyGear
    DizzyGear
    May 21, 2016 at 6:51 pm

    The one who manages their twitter surely deserved a bonus that month.

  23. scemar
    scemar
    May 21, 2016 at 6:54 pm

    Yeah but back then the balance tipped towards in game grinding more than real money transactions.
    Buying stuff wasn’t as convenient or integrated, it seemed more experimental or optional as getting stuff through playtime was less of a grind whereas now the microtransactions seem to be there because they expect us to end buying stuff to compensate for the higher grind.

  24. scemar
    scemar
    May 21, 2016 at 6:55 pm

    DOAX3 has easily the best looking videogame polygon girls out there.
    Period.
    Their level of detail and quality are just 9/10. (-1 for hair clipping issues)

  25. DizzyGear
    DizzyGear
    May 21, 2016 at 6:55 pm

    Neptunia is more like the Iron Maiden of videogames.
    Its not bad, its not good and if you listened to one album you listen to them all but all in all you should at least try one album.

    This game is just bad though.

  26. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    May 21, 2016 at 7:05 pm

    Yep, he tripled their followers in nearly a day.

  27. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    May 21, 2016 at 7:08 pm

    Yeah, but IGN is shit.

  28. Minuteworld92
    Minuteworld92
    May 21, 2016 at 7:08 pm

    haha that’s fucking hilarious

  29. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    May 21, 2016 at 7:10 pm

    It doesn’t have the visual fidelity, but there are touch screen controls and I think the minigames are easier played on the go, especially considering all the grinding.

  30. DizzyGear
    DizzyGear
    May 21, 2016 at 7:19 pm

    Who said shitposting is not productive?

  31. Generi-Kun-Senpai-Nenmãe
    Generi-Kun-Senpai-Nenmãe
    May 21, 2016 at 7:29 pm

    This game was a huge dissapointing for me. I was hyped for this at first but then they announced that wouldn’t release it in America, then they limited the number of girls (excluding Lisa. who was my favorite girl. that alone killed all my hype). and now, seeing that they put so little effort in everything other than the visuals and pretty much made the worst entry in the series. I can’t help but shake my head.

  32. Etherblaze
    Etherblaze
    May 21, 2016 at 7:33 pm

    4 seems like a fair deal.

    I would grind with Nyotengu and Honoka under the sun.

  33. sanic
    sanic
    May 21, 2016 at 7:42 pm

    Yeah IGN is a .5 since I don’t give zeros in reviews.

  34. Infasis
    Infasis
    May 21, 2016 at 8:00 pm

    I haven’t put that much time into it, but it seems like best way to play is either grabbing the Vita version and actually playing it on vacation, during your downtime or buying the PS4 version and just kinda letting the game idle a lot, picking the controller up occasionally and having some nice eye candy when you’re not playing. It’s really relaxing but most people are probably gonna find it boring as hell after the initial appeal wears off.

  35. DizzyGear
    DizzyGear
    May 21, 2016 at 8:10 pm

    Character models look amazing and push the portable’s hardware to the limit. …Sadly KT completely dropped the fucking ball when it comes to shadows.
    Heres a picture of Honaka I took in the Vita version to demonstrate.

  36. Mr0303
    Mr0303
    May 21, 2016 at 8:16 pm

    7.8 – too much journalism.

  37. Alexis Nascimento-Lajoie
    Alexis Nascimento-Lajoie
    May 21, 2016 at 8:26 pm

    Hey lads just did a quick little edit changing two numbers from 100k and 150k to 1 million and 1.5 million. No one seemed to have noticed anyway but I only just noticed that. The points I made do not change.

  38. Neojames82
    Neojames82
    May 21, 2016 at 8:29 pm

    I figured this is how it would be scored. The previous games were not exactly that deep either. We all know what these games were about from the get go. That being said, the other two were released over here with not much to-do. But now we live in an era where any sort of digital titillation is frowned upon and must be shunned.

    Of course the idiotic purists of this oh so great crusade only caused this game to sell like fucking hotcakes in the process, probably selling better than both DOAX1 and 2 combined. And I’m certain this game wasn’t that much of an expense for KT, hell they could have released this as DLC for $30 to $40 but they released this as a $70 and sold over 200k copies!!!

    So I know this game wasn’t going to be that great, as we all did, but I am thinking getting this game is more of a symbolic protest to say “Fuck You” to the overly PC police force is trying to dictate what games should or should not be allowed for us to buy.

  39. thatguyEZ
    thatguyEZ
    May 21, 2016 at 8:40 pm

    I’m surprised this got such a bad review and people seem to have not liked it. Though I play this game in short bursts and really haven’t been playing it as hard as something like Etrian Odyssey. I also really like the gambling and found it to be one of my favorite aspects of the game, along with volleyball and the of course the girls. I am planning to platinum the game so it may get less enjoyable by that point.

    I would have really liked to see slot machines and wave riding make a return, and it wouldn’t surprise me to see those as DLC.

  40. thatguyEZ
    thatguyEZ
    May 21, 2016 at 8:42 pm

    Indeed, I bought the PS4 version and play it in short bursts. I’ve found that’s the best way to do it as I’m still really liking it and it hasn’t really gotten old for me. I also really like the gambling so that stuff really doesn’t get on my nerves.

  41. Infasis
    Infasis
    May 21, 2016 at 8:56 pm

    I was kind of disappointed with the gambling, because I went into it thinking that there was gonna be CG models of the girls actually sitting at the table for some reason. It was a pretty big bummer to find out that wasn’t the case.

  42. thatguyEZ
    thatguyEZ
    May 21, 2016 at 9:09 pm

    Yeah, I thought the same thing and was disappointed as well. Initially I figured it would have been pretty boring as well because all gambling games are. But after I starting playing with it I ended up really enjoying it.

  43. ScarredBushido
    ScarredBushido
    May 21, 2016 at 9:48 pm

    also that was the only way to earn a few Achievements.

  44. ScarredBushido
    ScarredBushido
    May 21, 2016 at 9:50 pm

    the whole time i was playing this game i didn’t find it that grindy maybe because the game is so relaxing and visual appeasing.

  45. Random Dude
    Random Dude
    May 21, 2016 at 10:01 pm

    You’re FAR too generous.

  46. Zanard Bell
    Zanard Bell
    May 21, 2016 at 10:42 pm

    Par for the course. I’m pretty sure this is how gaming sites scored Leisure Suit Larry: Magna Cum Laude in the past, too. People are in it for the titillation.

  47. Michael Richardson
    Michael Richardson
    May 22, 2016 at 12:13 am

    Yeah, I didn’t bother with this one. These games are terrible. Fanservice can only get a game so far.

  48. Alaka'i Lester
    Alaka'i Lester
    May 22, 2016 at 12:31 am

    2 months ago I wouldn’t have agreed with some of the points in this review. But now with the limited swimsuits changing every 2 weeks, it made an otherwise chill game into a frustrating experience.

  49. Eldhin Hellknight
    Eldhin Hellknight
    May 22, 2016 at 3:19 am

    well, many PS Vita games have the same quality on shadows. But indeed, it looks pretty cool

  50. Elkhazel
    Elkhazel
    May 22, 2016 at 3:43 am

    damn, some of those outfits lmao

  51. Mr_SP
    Mr_SP
    May 22, 2016 at 4:28 am

    This type of game, sure. But there isn’t much of a market for *this* game. I played the free version, and the girls really are the only really strong positive this game has.

    They could at least bundle it with some decent gameplay, like Senran Kagura. Having it as a bonus in the mainstream DoA games seems at least a little interesting.

  52. scemar
    scemar
    May 22, 2016 at 4:28 am

    those mousepads are some prime example of the justice vs equality meme

  53. Ruggarell
    Ruggarell
    May 22, 2016 at 7:00 am

    The power of the PS4 is at hand with this game. Get the lotion ready.

  54. EinMugenTenshin
    EinMugenTenshin
    May 22, 2016 at 8:11 am

    I agree, personally I’d say 6 as well.

    However, the game should be in a 4-6 range if one are objective about it (and since I like DoA in general, I would be somewhat biased). It delivers on what it promises, so no buyer should feel cheated, but at the same time mechanically it is nothing more than a party game. Just like one could have fun with buzz or mario golf, the share simplicity of the gameplay makes it mediocre. Even if the visuals are stunning, where you get eye candy in bundles, that alone is what differentiate between it and an indie game.

  55. psycho_bandaid
    psycho_bandaid
    May 22, 2016 at 8:58 am

    “By successfully completing all 7 of [the missions] you’re supposed to get a reward in the form of a strip tease by the girl you chose, by the end of the vacation. I say supposed since I actually never completed them since they come seemingly at random, and with a 14 day time period per vacation session, they challenges will shuffle again until you get to the one you didn’t complete.”

    The Strip Tease is a scene that is unlocked with tickets (Secret, Tempting, Dangerous, and Forbidden) which are available for purchase in the Owner Shop after playing a lot in the casino in Owner Mode. After that you must give them as gifts to the girl you want to do the dance (with a ridiculously low acceptance rate, so have fun grinding money to re-wrap them or abuse the cloud save system to get unlimited tries). There are 2 dances, with each ticket unlocking a half.

    Its really annoying, you should probably just watch the clips on Youtube and save some time. KT designed a free-to-play game, and decided to put a premium price on it.

  56. DariusQ
    DariusQ
    May 22, 2016 at 9:17 am

    Pretty much on par with my own opinion. DOAX has always been little more than a time waster but I was hoping this time KT would come out with more entertaining mini-games or at least tweak the volleyball part. Instead we get another game just cashing in on Itagaki’s legacy. As a collector though I don’t regret the purchase.

  57. ProxyDoug
    ProxyDoug
    May 22, 2016 at 9:34 am

    Hmm, no Lei-Fang?

  58. Humbert Humbert
    Humbert Humbert
    May 22, 2016 at 10:06 am

    without marie rose: 4/10
    with marie rose: 8/10

  59. Saskia
    Saskia
    May 22, 2016 at 10:23 am

    It’s honestly the best volleyball game out there.

  60. Lex
    Lex
    May 22, 2016 at 11:52 am

    A fair review.

  61. Guin
    Guin
    May 22, 2016 at 12:23 pm

    I bet the SJW’s are having themselves a hollow victory party by reading this review.

  62. Wolfy
    Wolfy
    May 22, 2016 at 1:54 pm

    The girls faces all look so lifeless and empty…. like plastic.

  63. TsukuyomiMagi99
    TsukuyomiMagi99
    May 22, 2016 at 2:22 pm

    I agree mostly with this review it’s biggest flaw being its lack of content compared to it’s predecessor. If anything they should’ve added more mini games not less I mean it’s not that hard there’s tons of other fun activities you can do at a beach like surfing or sandcastle building. Also as to why they took out the majority of accessories or the music sound track is beyond me it gave the game a bit more personality in my opinion. The money grinding wouldn’t be a big deal if you earned more money than usual. This game is definitely a step down from DOAX2 and is only slightly better than DOA Paradise for the PSP.

    The only contention I have with the review is making the subjective claim that outside of volleyball all the other mini games are boring as an objective negative strike against it. For me I actually enjoyed the casino games (albeit slot machines missing) since I play blackjack and poker alot in real life. Otherwise solid review! This game is easily a 4.5 or 5 out of 10.

  64. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    May 22, 2016 at 2:49 pm

    The microtransactions in these games are not forced on you in any way.

  65. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    May 22, 2016 at 5:18 pm

    So… The game that the internet got upset and said the SJWs were trying to keep from us… Ended up not very good? Could it be, that maybe then, Koei Temco rea

  66. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    May 22, 2016 at 5:46 pm

    I only consider that to be true for games which have next to no microtransactions (or none), are free to play and/or happen to have reasonable alternatives.

    The DOAX series was already notorious for being grindy. This one removed some fun elements, is one of the more expensive games to pick up and aims to prey on your goal to get things quick.

    If I’m critical of Bravely Default (microtransactions) and Fire Emblem (gold and XP DLC), I’m going to be at least the same got DOAX3.

  67. Luka ?( ▀ ͜͞ʖ▀?)
    Luka ?( ▀ ͜͞ʖ▀?)
    May 22, 2016 at 6:20 pm

    “visual fidelity”

  68. Fear Me I Am Free
    Fear Me I Am Free
    May 22, 2016 at 7:01 pm

    Yep, though like I said, I would back it again because I’m tired of people trying to push this idea that games like this shouldn’t be released.

  69. Kirigirim
    Kirigirim
    May 22, 2016 at 7:25 pm

    So,this guy from dtoid had the exact same complaints and people got really assblasted, but a guy from niche gamer gets a pass.

    Wew

  70. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    May 22, 2016 at 7:32 pm

    I don’t think you get it. While it’s grindy, it’s still not necessary for you to use any type of real life money to acquire any costume or whatever.

    The money limit is really high too, proving my point even further, that means you can buy costumes with in-game money since they don’t ever get near the money limit (in such a way that it would be a concern either).

    So these microtransactions are not forced on you, nor are they necessary, so crying about them is pretty retarded in every case.

  71. Immahnoob
    Immahnoob
    May 22, 2016 at 8:30 pm

    I didn’t see any “This game is sexist pedo-crap” anywhere around here… You also probably missed people saying the scoring should be higher.

  72. Mr_SP
    Mr_SP
    May 22, 2016 at 9:25 pm

    “Really had a good point thinking it wouldn’t be profitable”? Yeah, maybe. Frankly, everyone had a good idea what they were going to get, and anyone who didn’t hasn’t even the least familiarity with Dead or Alive. With all the recent hubbub, it just fit into that one perfect storm that Play-asia took advantage of with some quality memes.

  73. Derek
    Derek
    May 22, 2016 at 9:27 pm

    I agree with you for once, we don’t give a shit if you give a bad review. But using a review as a soapbox like Whittaker did is going to piss people on Niche and KIA off.

  74. Derek
    Derek
    May 22, 2016 at 9:29 pm

    To be fair, with review scores deciding if your company stays in business or get with layoffs/closures. KT America did not want a bad review avberage to get themselves fired. No company gives a shit from SJWs unless they are the ones writing the professional reviews.

  75. RetroGamer
    RetroGamer
    May 22, 2016 at 9:34 pm

    Sounds fair enough. The game has great visuals, but the actual gameplay is extremely lacking. For me, this was pretty much a novelty purchase.

  76. Grass Gremlin
    Grass Gremlin
    May 22, 2016 at 10:43 pm

    And nothing of value was lost.
    Dtoid reviews the game and everyone loses their mind.
    Niche Gamer delivers roughly the same opinion of the game and everyone is completely okay with it.

  77. AR7777
    AR7777
    May 23, 2016 at 3:05 am

    I’ll paste a few lines from that review for you and explain why some people may have thought it was shit.

    – “…one cast member that doesn’t look quite legal — but maybe you’re into that?”
    Whining about a character’s apparent age.

    – “Multi-cultural characters? MIA.”
    Trying to impose personal political opinions in a fan service beach volley game.

    – “Oh, that’s right, nothing in this game is realistic.”
    Just taking a piss here

    – “…the 18-year-old-who-looks-14-at-most, performing a strip tease.”
    Whining about a character’s apparent age again.

    – “…as the girls look fantastic. Let’s be honest, this is all that matters to most of you”
    Patronizing the fanbase

    – “I don’t know why Koei Tecmo don’t just release this version of the game on PSN for English-speaking countries, the people who will be offended by the game aren’t going to buy it regardless, and it is easy to deal with criticism when you can plug your ears with cash money.”
    Being sarcastic and supporting censorship by implying whining about hot female characters in games is criticism.

    – Veredict: 1.5
    From the website that rated Gone Home 9/10

    The author wanted to review this game just to piss on it and score some SJW brownie points, and he succeeded because he then went on a twitter meltdown crying about GG and how the game was shit.
    http://i.imgur.com/3OxxfuP.png

    That’s basically the difference between that review and this review.

  78. DizzyGear
    DizzyGear
    May 23, 2016 at 5:41 am

    With the first batch of online swimsuits, half of them could only be bought with tickets.

    After Japanese gamers got really pissed off the next batches all of them could be bought with in game money. But of course KT priced them something between 800k and 1 million zack dollars and many of the online swimsuits are disliked or hated by most of the girls so there is a high change of rejection so you have to spend even more in game money rewrapping them over and over if you don’t “cheat” by abusing cloud saves.

  79. Galbador
    Galbador
    May 23, 2016 at 7:09 am

    I think, it is more about the thought what this game caused than the game itself; to fight the nowadays unnecessary censorship in video games, because let’s face it, we are (mostly) old enough (and not in a mindset of a 4 year-old) to make a difference between fiction and reality. But some people (3G feminists/SJWs) think we can’t and want a black/white world for us.

  80. Galbador
    Galbador
    May 23, 2016 at 7:12 am

    I agree. This game is a good 5 and heck, the last time I saw a good volleyball game was on the NES called Super Spike V`Ball.

  81. Galbador
    Galbador
    May 23, 2016 at 7:16 am

    To be honest, Magna Cum Laude was compare to the earlier LLSL games a horrible joke. Just compare the first three old games with the new one and you will see the difference.

  82. Galbador
    Galbador
    May 23, 2016 at 7:18 am

    Who gave Godhand less than 4?

  83. Galbador
    Galbador
    May 23, 2016 at 7:20 am

    Eh, could be worse. Remember the first graphics on the PS1? Compare that to this… we went a long way since then.

  84. Brimfyre
    Brimfyre
    May 23, 2016 at 10:50 am

    Played the demo and it was better than I expected, but all they needed was to bring back the Jet Skiing. That would have turned it into something worth purchasing. It’s just a complete half-assed budget title game as it stands right now.

    Originally they promiced this game to work with PSVR but with the presentation with it’s fixed camera and limited interaction and being mostly menu based navigation, I can’t see how they could do this at all and make it feel VR.

    Perhaps this game is a stop gap to get some quick cash to make an actual DOAXVR game.

    Hahah, yeah right. Team Ninja is garbage now.

  85. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    May 23, 2016 at 1:37 pm

    My problem with microtransactions runs so deep that it doesn’t matter if there is a free method to get everything in a fully priced game. It goes even further if the game places an artificial cap on the money you can raise aside from DizzyGear mentioning that the game was worse at launch.

    I have some interest in the universe, but when Senran Kagura Burst has no DLC and Senran Kagura 2 has great value DLC, I can’t excuse things which are worse or hurt the flow of the game in comparison to prior installments. >_>

    Forced on us? Probably less than some or even a lot of games. Still unnecessary at best.

  86. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    May 23, 2016 at 2:14 pm

    Let’s not kid ourselves, the fight isn’t over unnecessary censorship as much as it is about T&A. If it was actually about censorship, there would be a lot more talk about the toning down of violence in many European and Japanese releases, among other issues. And there would be talk of boycotting a lot more companies than one’s censor sexy costumes. But there really isn’t.

    Both sides of this little “debate” have zero integrity, IMO. One wants to enforce their worldview on everyone else, claiming “social justice” (which is ironic, given the industry is pretty much capitalistic by nature and prior to the rise of “SJW”, capitalism was considered a hindrance to social justice) while the other just wants their cleavage and when they can’t get it, pretend they care about “censorship”.

    Personally, I can’t wait for the day when the SJWs realize that they really have no impact on gaming and developers are just giving lip service to them while doing what they want to in the first place and the anti crowd realize that porn is an easier way to get off. Or maybe, both sides get laid, forget about video games and leave it to people who care about the real issues in the industry.

  87. Galbador
    Galbador
    May 23, 2016 at 4:10 pm

    How about no?

  88. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    May 23, 2016 at 4:21 pm

    Stick to the points, not the scores. NicheGamer’s John Sabin gave Gone Home a 10: http://nichegamer.com/reviews/gone-home-review-a-true-adult-game/

    (Similarly, IGN’s review of God Hand may be a riot but means little if it isn’t the same writer)

    That aside, you are pretty spot on about why at least some people don’t appreciate Jed’s writing in general. He comes across as a condescending jerk, regularly mocks his own viewer base on Twitter over addressing them and so on.

    The race thing goes deeper. You could propose the case that a Japanese cast (not the same as white right?) with a character from Sweden and France here is quite multi-cultural. Or that multiple people under the same nationality may have notably different experiences (Ainu – not that I believe it counts here).

    We shouldn’t need characters to be visibly brown or black for them to count. >_>

  89. Smug
    Smug
    May 23, 2016 at 4:38 pm

    “Both sides of this little “debate” have zero integrity”
    >both sides are stupid except ME

    “while the other side just wants their cleavage and when they can’t get it, pretend they care about “censorship””
    “and the anti crowd realize that porn is an easier way to get off”
    >lol stupid nerds just get laid xD

    ” I can’t wait for the day when the SJWs realize that they really have no impact on gaming”
    I like how delusional this sentence is considering political-correctness and feminism has spread everywhere

    Couldnt be more of a faggot huh?

  90. AR7777
    AR7777
    May 23, 2016 at 4:46 pm

    wew, a point well made on that solid 10 from nichegamer.
    Not only that the author refuses to change the rating from the “perfect” game.
    I refuse to support a site that enables sjw faggotry. Been crawling and posting with different accounts since at lest late 2014, I’m outta here.
    Thanks again for the eye opener mate.

  91. Kirigirim
    Kirigirim
    May 23, 2016 at 4:51 pm

    Oh man i sure got told

  92. Phantom Gamer #TeamRazer
    Phantom Gamer #TeamRazer
    May 23, 2016 at 5:09 pm

    Hands up if you don’t know what the [email protected];k is going on….
    I see alot of hands……
    Well I don’t so, yeah….

  93. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    May 23, 2016 at 6:04 pm

    No problem, I just like people having all the facts.

    Well, I’d rather reviewers don’t budge on their scores personally, most people will only see the review/score once and Metacritic are the same (you can’t update a score). They could be super wrong, but ideally represents a full playthrough’s understanding of the game plus some thoughts based on the reviewer’s bias at that point.

    (It also encourages a trend of scores being even more of a focus as people demand changes)

    See you around maybe, I don’t think you should be dropping out over a single review but it is up to you. I could see more of a case if there was a trend (not of reviewers but the writers pushing in that direction and against the userbase), but yeah. Most sites probably have one major review which runs in a notably different direction to your mindset.

  94. Brandon Orselli
    Brandon Orselli
    May 23, 2016 at 6:48 pm

    That was his opinion, and despite him being long gone, the review and score still stand. I gave him the game and he reviewed it/scored it as such. I can’t tell a reviewer how to score a game, despite my wanting to never touch that game, and not agreeing with it being considered a “game” at all.

    I hope you can understand that. For what it’s worth, we are very much on the opposite end of the spectrum as a collective staff, when it comes to that. I don’t let that sort of nonsensical politics come into our site, at all.

  95. Brandon Orselli
    Brandon Orselli
    May 23, 2016 at 6:49 pm

    This is exactly how I see it, honestly. we gave it a fair shake without being stupid puritan losers like Jed and crew.

  96. Brandon Orselli
    Brandon Orselli
    May 23, 2016 at 6:56 pm

    Well of course I want to see bouncing titties and asses

  97. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    May 23, 2016 at 7:19 pm

    Hey, now.

    I never meant to imply that that stupid nerds are the only ones that need to get laid. It’s pretty obvious that the SJW need to as well. Maybe y’all can help each other out and and get the fuck away from folks that just want to play games and not deal with everyone making it a lot more political than it fucking needs to be.

    I’m also fairly confused as to what people think “feminism” and “political correctness” is anything new in games. Maybe if you only played consoles, until last generation, sure. But I can think of a quite a few games with “progressive” elements on PC, long before this whole bullshit culture war thing started. So that sort of shit is nothing new for me and since I’m not a reactionary twit, I’m not offended by everything.

    And Marxist propaganda? That’s some bizarro world bullshit, since more than any medium, gaming is the most unashamedly capitalist. Unless you’re one of those folks that like the seig heil, where everything left of your neo-fascist bullshit is Marxist. But I’ll give you the benefit of the doubt there.

  98. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    May 23, 2016 at 7:24 pm

    I haven’t seen any proof that anything I said is wrong, on forums. I didn’t really hear too much of noise about the changes to the European version of The Last of Us and until having some fun on the Fallout wiki, I didn’t even know they changed the name of the Fat Man in Fallout 3 to the Nuka Launcher in the Japanese release, nor did I know that the German version removed the gore.

    But I sure as shit know that in Bravely Default, some of the costumes received minor edits. Forgive me for being cynical, but it just comes off as being about T&A. Which is fine, if you’re honest about it. But its really, really hard to believe that the majority of people complaining actually give a shit about censorship. Since the reaction, when violence or other questionable content is cut, is but a whisper when something sexy removed.

  99. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    May 23, 2016 at 8:27 pm

    Perhaps, you should interact with more Europeans then. We aren’t the majority on the net by any means and I was as loud about The Last of Us as I could be even if I didn’t contribute to these articles or comments:

    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/2013-08-05-naughty-dog-confirms-european-version-of-the-last-of-us-censored

    http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=856207

    Some people claimed they will only buy Sony games used, some people imported the US version. Me? It killed my interest in the TLOU to the point I wouldn’t even pick up a second hand copy. >_>

    Sorry that press and as a result, the response to edits which aren’t as well documented get less notice. It is harder to prove and share whether story elements or characterisation is revised than say “A new hair do and less of a midriff for a male character” (Gunvolt) too.

  100. AR7777
    AR7777
    May 23, 2016 at 9:01 pm

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on that, I was being unfair by judging the staff based on a review made by a preGG no longer employed dude.

  101. GonzoLewd
    GonzoLewd
    May 23, 2016 at 10:35 pm

    They’ll hit it big with Nioh.

  102. Galbador
    Galbador
    May 24, 2016 at 6:35 am

    To be honest, it doesn’t matter what is removed, but it still is a form of censorship, because it is accessible in the original country, and I’m sure, no one would said a word but maybe the rating would have gone one step up. It is just depressing to see how low devs sunk for this kund of action.

  103. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    May 24, 2016 at 1:03 pm

    Maybe. But if it was really about censorship, I’d like to see more Americans standing in solidarity , rather than only care about censorship when it personally hurts them. And I’m still not convinced that the majority of these “anti-censorship” people aren’t just reactionaries.

    I didn’t see them back when the Western version of Xenosaga had some content edited out to secure a T-rating. I’m sure they existed, but if they did, they weren’t vocal. And if they were, they didn’t act like current “anti-censorship” crowd does. There was a lot less hate and a lot

  104. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    May 24, 2016 at 1:13 pm

    It’s nothing new. Publishers have always edited content of games, since at the end of the day, this video games aren’t about artistic statements. They are products, to be sold to consumers. It isn’t a pleasant truth, but its the reality of the industry.

    And while I would agree, in theory, it shouldn’t matter what was cut I see a lot of dishonesty when it comes to the anti-censorship crowd. It just seems more reactionary than anything else. Censorship threads aren’t filled with people defending the original artistic presentation (Note: I’m not saying that there aren’t people that do, mind you, but they often come off as a minority). They are filled with people rambling on about SJWs, calling people who disagree with them faggots, and genuinely acting as obnoxious as they can.

    Maybe, what I’m saying, if the majority of folks acted like you, I could think this is really about censorship. I could get behind the cause. But as it is, I don’t see people upset about censorship. I see people fighting a silly little culture war that has no place in gaming in the first place.

  105. Galbador
    Galbador
    May 24, 2016 at 4:00 pm

    I know. A long time, german law censored mercs and ninjas and nowadays, we have Mortal Kombat and Doom uncensored. To be honest, it is quite a weird time and I really hope it will end one day.

  106. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    May 24, 2016 at 5:04 pm

    Maybe. At the end of the day, the bottom line is what matters. When publishers/developers start losing money from censorship, they’ll take notice. The problem, at least with niche games, the sales aren’t usually large enough that a handful of people not buying the game isn’t going to hurt the company since sales expectations are low. I mean, do you /really/ think Nintendo expects that Toyoko Hashtag Whatever to sell well, stateside.

  107. British_Otaku
    British_Otaku
    May 25, 2016 at 7:04 am

    Again, it is rather hard for someone to know about edits within at least 4 versions of a game before we count Germany or Australia. It takes the subject actually being reported or a strong video on YouTube demonstrating it.

    Xenosaga had that exact problem. Only one of the games was localised in Europe (the worst one – 2) so the audience was even smaller then it predates YouTube/Twitter etc to some degree.

    A lot more hate and hostility now? That’s what you get a mass on the Internet, talk to individuals (I’m rarely a jerk) to get more rational answers. It is the same for anything. I haven’t seen people who are picky about censorship personally.

  108. Galbador
    Galbador
    May 25, 2016 at 7:45 am

    This threason why I said I quit supporting Nintendo as long as this goes on.

  109. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    May 25, 2016 at 2:12 pm

    I remember Xenosaga, but I don’t remember a lot of hate. I remember some people saying “man, I wish I could get the uncensored version” but it usually followed with “but I like the story so I’m going to keep buying it”. At least on the forums I went to at the time. I suppose you could argue they were more blind consumers, but I’d argue that cared more about the overall presentation than superficial elements.

    And yes, the internet turns a lot of people into assholes, it seems. And I suppose things were different in the pre-YouTube/Twitter/4chan era, too. The internet always had trolls, it just seems like lately the bile gets worse.

    I don’t know. Maybe I’m just a getting to be an old grump. “Back in my day, we played censored games! And we didn’t even know it! But when we found out, we didn’t care! Because the game was good! All you young whippersnappers with your internet, finding out everything before its released! You don’t know what its like! You’re lucky you’re getting all these Japanese games!”

  110. Sean Sharpe
    Sean Sharpe
    May 25, 2016 at 2:14 pm

    Power to you, man. Seriously, and for your sake, I hope it works.

  111. Josh
    Josh
    May 25, 2016 at 4:14 pm

    I would like it if these games actually had some fun and well-made minigames. There’s no reason they shouldn’t be able to do something on par with Wave Race 64 with the jetskiing game. Sadly that game’s not even in this one.

  112. Galbador
    Galbador
    May 26, 2016 at 5:41 am

    I doubt it, but then again, we’re talking about Nintendo; a company, that only changes slowly and only when one shoves their face into the mud.

  113. george spencer
    george spencer
    May 30, 2016 at 7:45 pm

    no leifang, tina or cristie. no buy from me also

  114. Ero-Sennin
    Ero-Sennin
    June 1, 2016 at 9:20 am

    I don’t regret my purchases.

  115. Ero-Sennin
    Ero-Sennin
    June 1, 2016 at 8:00 pm

    As a person who owns both versions of the game I can understand why KT skipped out on an official english localized release, and it doesn’t have to do solely with the SJW’s this game without a doubt would not have sold well overseas for a multitude of reasons.

  116. Connor
    Connor
    June 15, 2016 at 1:39 am

    >Unfair to judge a game on the gameplay
    This is why I can’t take this site’s userbase seriously.

  117. GamesGoodMeGood
    GamesGoodMeGood
    June 15, 2016 at 4:20 am

    “Unfair to judge a game on the gameplay”

    I cannot and am not going to speak for anyone else on this site, but it’s pretty retarded of you to use that line considering I made it perfectly clear in my post that it only applies for a game like DOAX3.

  118. Connor
    Connor
    June 15, 2016 at 7:16 pm

    How is it retarded? You said yourself it’s still a game. I know exactly what you said- I just think it’s wrong.

  119. GonzoLewd
    GonzoLewd
    August 6, 2016 at 1:12 am

    Uhh, no they’re not. Unless you’re talking about Xtreme 1 and 2 where they looked like actual dolls, 3’s is leagues better.